We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort & diving experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Kungkungan Bay Resort managers Kaj and Barbara and their devoted staff provided our dive group with an awesome Indonesian diving experience. The location of KBR was beautiful and minutes away from Lembeh Strait for the most unique diving my husband and I have ever experienced. The main building which includes the restaurant & bar sits over a reef teeming with colorful fish and coral. The staff knew the names of each of us in our large dive group the first day. The lodging accommodations were spotless and well maintained with hibiscus flowers on our beds greeting us upon arrival. The air conditioned rooms with fans were a welcome relief from the hot & humid days and sleeping was excellent in the comfortable beds. The food was delicious and well presented including Indonesian cuisine and American as well. The dive guides were excellent in locating numerous and unusual underwater flora and fauna that we would have never found on our own. I have some great images thanks to the competent dive guides. The last evening included a sumptuous buffet and musical entertainment by the KBR staff was outstanding. To top off our diving experience at KBR, we enjoyed a fascinating land tour to view the black crested Macaque monkeys and elusive Tarsier monkeys, the world's smallest primate in their protected rainforest environment. Thank you KBR for your hospitality and sharing your beautiful part of the world of North Sulawesi and the Lembeh Strait.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CowgirlDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

I am a dive instructor and travel extensively in South East Asia for diving.
In fact, my job is to recommend, in my opinion, the best places to stay and to dive.
Kungkungan Bay Resort is always high in my list of resorts. This resort with warm friendly staff is smack in the middle of the Lembeh Straits giving easy access to all the dive sites here.
Apart from the easy access, Kungkungan Bay Resort (KBR) always bend over backwards to ensure your stay is as good as possible.
Is KBR highly recommended. That's definitely a YES.

Room Tip: Whichever rooms you choose, you can be ensured that the staff will make it the best in the resort ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chooi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I've stayed in a few resorts near Lembeh, Kungkungan bay proved to be a better resort in an ideal location.

Being fairly central made all dive sites easily accessible with very short transfer times. I knew what to expect from the diving and the guides in Kungkungan bay resort were exceptionally good, the team also seem to be well trained in handling photographic equipment properly. They keep each camera seperate to avoid them getting bumped or knocked in the rinse tanks.

Food was very good, the Indonesian noodle and rice dishes were especially good (Mie Gorang and Nesi Gorang).

The pool is quite small but was clean and a peaceful area to read a book and although I never used the spa, my partner said it was excellent.

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, they turned a great holiday in to an exceptional holiday. We did not want to leave at the end of the trip and will certainly be returning to this resort again.

Room Tip: The deluxe beachfront rooms are very roomy and have a generous porch area for enjoying a sun downer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I was with a dive group of 22 People from primarily Arkansas,USA. Lovely waterfront rooms. Great views. The dive guides were excellent. Every few minutes they would show us something new & exciting. Food was pretty good considering we were a little remote. Spa was wonderful. Great massage. Staff were excellent. Very helpful. Went out of their way to help us in many ways. Equipment repairs, tours , churches. I would highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geniedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This review is a bit over due but I've finally found a bit of spare time.

This was my 3rd time back to KBR and i was always of the view, why go go back to the same place when there are so many places to visit.

KBR is a home from home, when we arrived we were once again greeted like old friends, we stayed in the beach front bungalows and they were clean, spacious.

The food was as good as ever and the post dive treats were looked forward to with deserved anticipation.

The diving was as always exceptional, the dive team work incredibly hard to make sure everything was perfect and it was great to see Kaj again who continues to make the dive operation work well. This time we got to meet Barb who was in Oz on our previous trip. It was great to see the person behind some of the fantastic photos on the website, happy to share her advice and we had some good laughs over a beer in the bar at the end of a good days diving.

The dive guides do switch between guests every few days and this system ensures no one guide is hogged by a guest at the expense of other guests and it gives guests the chance to see more diversity as the different guides have different approaches and some are better at finding specific animals, but they are all excellent and also work together, so if one finds something really interesting and another group is on the same site they will often get the other guides attention so he can share it with his group. Group sizes remain small so you are not climbing over each over.

The housereef is fantastic and a great dive to see pygmy seahorses, i also finally got to see a blue ringed octopus this trip which was something I've always wanted to see.

what makes KBR special aside from the diving, location and resort, is all of the staff, nothing is too much trouble and the staff and Linda always do everything possible to resolve any issue or assist with any request. It is without exception the friendliest place i have ever stayed (3rd time now) and such a genuinely warm personal service.

Would I go back, try and stop me! Already got a trip booked for 2012.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarrenCBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I have stayed at KBR twice now, and intend to make it an annual trip - not only because of the world class muck diving in Lembeh Strait and the opportunity to take photographs of some of the most unusual and interesting marine life I have ever seen, but also because I agree with Kathy G... KBR is a little slice of heaven!

Kaj and Barb did an absolutely fantastic job of making us feel welcome (they even managed to accomodate our special requests to see particular critters!), and were always on hand to help. The dive crew were also extremely helpful and knowledgeable, and above all, absolutely brilliant at seeking out the "small stuff".

The rooms at KBR are very comfortable, clean and spacious and we were very happy sitting on our little balcony having a drink and admiring the gorgeous view over the bay each afternoon. The food at the restaurant is also great and varied. Oh - I almost forgot the spa! I had an Indonesian massage, and would highly recommend it.

I never hesitate recommending KBR to my friends and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We have stayed at KBR 3x and have absolutely loved it each time. We are divers and feel the dive operation is run like a well oiled machine! It is like being on a liveaboard dive boat but on the land. Kaj Maney runs the dive operation and does a fantastic job! He is calm, cool and collected and really caters to all of your whims! He is an excellent videographer and hosts slide shows of all of the wonderful creatures you see in Lembeh. We have felt all of our dive masters have been excellent. I am in love with the SPA at KBR as well. I highly recommend the Teruja coffee scrub among many other treatments! Last time we were there I spent 3 hours one afternoon getting treatments! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Heaven! The workers at KBR are among the sweetest, happiest and helpful people we have ever met in all the places we have been around the world! Ais, Beary, the giggle girls all stand out to name a few! The list goes on and on! Last, but not least, the food is excellent and the rooms are fantastic!
You can not go wrong if you book a trip to KBR! Go and check it out.. you will be glad you did!

Room Tip: Get one of the waterfront bungalows close to the dive ops! Well worth the small upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitung hotels
0.9 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
638 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
12.5 mi away
Kalinaun Resort - Lembeh & Bangka
1.7 mi away
K2 Dive Resort
K2 Dive Resort
#3 of 5 in Pulau Lembeh
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kungkungan Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kungkungan Bay Resort

Address: Tandurusa, Bitung, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
Price Range: £87 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kungkungan Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kungkungan Bay Resort (KBR to its friends and soon to be friends) is proud to be the resort that introduced Lembeh Strait to the world. Being the first resort in Lembeh means we got first choice on locations. Our resort is located in its own private bay which the resort is named after. KBR is the only Sea Level Luxury resort in Lembeh. KBR is a full service resort which includes The only 24hrs full menu service Restaurant in Lembeh, Capt. Billy's Bar serving American Bar Food and Great Drinks, our full service Tepi Laut Spa (Seaside Spa) does Massages, Beauty Treatments, Manicures and Pedicures, and of course our PADI Dive Center with Equipment and Camera Rentals and 32% NITROX. Come join us and we will put the Dream into you next Dive Vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kungkungan Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kungkungan Bay Hotel Bitung
Kungkungan Bay Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing