We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Brad and Angelina must have stayed here last week"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bitung
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Brad and Angelina must have stayed here last week"”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

When the owner of Kungkungan asked me "How is your room... good?"
I responded "it would be good for Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie so for us its amazing"

Infact when we first stepped into the beach front cottage suite I lost count of how many times my wife said the words "amazing" and "fantastic".

So we arrive at Manado airport and are greeted by a smiling Kungkungan staff member who takes our bags to a sleek ninja black SUV, equipped with tinted windows and AC. After the two hour scenic drive we arrive at Kungkungan bay resort and already the A and F words (amazing and fantastic) starting pouring out of our mouths.

So into reception we waltz and our greeted by a damp towel and a refreshing juice by yet more smiling staff. There we have a chance to speak with Linda who is probably the most helpful manager on the planet, there is no question she cant answer and no problem she cant fix from sorting out our domestic flights to room upgrades to countless questions over email... she can do it all and... as seems to be a trend in Kungkungan smile at the same time.

Up the stairs to the restaurant and we are met by the owner Mike and yet another manager Ice. Mike is more than happy to share stories of how he started Kungkungan and the first time he observed a mimic octopus posing as a sea horse and he adds a personal touch to the resort... you feel part of a family .

The restaurant offers panoramic views of the house reef and lush green jungle that fringe the black sand beaches. Now being a veteran of liveaboards and dive resorts I must admit that I was a bit confused when I was handed a menu. Though I was comforted to see my wifes face mirrored my confusion. "What is this" I thought no buffet we crowd of hoverin divers. No infact I could actually choose exactly what I wanted to eat, from the first course all the way to dessert.

The food is fantastic and not only that you can have it in your room, room service for all!

"Yes but what about the diving" I hear you cry
So lets clear this up I work as a scuba Instructor and pretty much everything I saw at Lembeh made me feel like an open water student on their first dive in the ocean. Devil stingers, ribbon eels, 5 or 10 nudibranch per dive, anemone fish sharing anemone with porcelen crabs and all sorts of shrimps, mantis shrimp, flamboyant cuttle fish... and la piste de resistance a mimic octopus plus a wunderpus, coconut octopus, longarm octopus, veined octopus OK I will stop there.

I missed so many great things that should be added in here but all in all its a fantastic place great staff and its Lembeh strait its what every diver with a close up lens needs in their life.

Thanks again guys, and special thanks to serra are multi lingual waitress, muchas gracias amiga nos vemos pronto hasta luego

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DividedDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Will,

Thank you very much for writing a review. It was really nice to meet you and Cora. We are glad you love the beach front deluxe villa with the beautiful view of our private bay. It is a beautiful room with big private balcony and a very short walk to the dive center and the restaurant. It is in the perfect location.

Mark, the owner, and our staff are very happy that you feel like part of our big family. You met the right person, the owner himself, to hear the story of Kungkungan Bay Resort from the beginning. This was a paradise dream come true for the owner, and we are committed to make this place a dream come true holiday destination for everyone.

Thank you for noticing every details of our great service, from the pick up to the greeting upon your arrival, the delicious food, and our beautiful over the water restaurant. The dives are just as amazing as our paradise. Every critter is very special and unique, and our dive team making sure that our guests enjoy every one of them.

We gave Serra your message and she was happy to have her name in the review. Please say hi to Cora for us. We hope to see you both again in the near future.

Take care,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
112
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I arrived at KBR for a 5 night stay following a Raja Ampat live aboard, intending to relax and read our books. As fans of blue water, coral reefs, currents, pelagic action and liveaboards we anticipated that land based muck diving was not for us. We were wrong and were totally hooked after our first dive! Muck diving is fascinating, the critters are stunning and bizarre and on every dive we were seeing things we had never seen before.

The dive operation at KBR has thought of everything a diver could want. Breakfast was served if you wished on your large veranda to save time walking the short distance to the restaurant. Boat transfers ranged between 2 and 8 minutes, towels water and fresh fruit on the boat, hot showers at the dive centre and all equipment including cameras taken care of for you. There was even tea/ coffee and biscuits after the first dive where they then took your order for lunch. We did 3 boat dives a day, night dives and house reef diving was also available.

The room was beautifully furnished clean and spacious, about 50 meters from the dive centre and on the waterfront. The bed was very comfy, the water hot and wi fi never failed. Room service was prompt.

All of the staff from the owner Mark to the guys tending to the gardens were welcoming inclusive and friendly. Their service and attentiveness could not be faulted. The food was very good and substantial. The restaurant was temporarily located in the bar area due to refurbishment of the ground floor restaurant, but this did not detract from the ambiance or the quality of the service and the food.

On our second evening we discovered the Spa... The massages were wonderful and very reasonably priced. We both went every evening for a massage before dinner.

So in the event we did rest, relax and read our books but we also had memorable and interesting diving, with all the diving convenience of a liveaboard and with the benefit of a large comfortable room in a picturesque personable resort. We will definitely return to KBR.
Angela and Jonathan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelathomas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Angela and Jonathan,

Thank you for writing this review about your experience with us. We are very happy that you found our room was beautiful and food was very good. We are glad to know that you had memorable and interesting diving with us. We are lucky to have such a good location in Lembeh strait, especially "the muck diving “ so you can see the unique and unusual fishes.
We also appreciated your comments about all of our staff and Owner being friendly. We want to make sure that you are well looked after.

Thank you again for this review and we really look forward to welcoming you back to KBR.

Best Regards,
Beary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

For the first time that we visited Kungkungan Bay Resort was in 2002.
We heard about the great diving in the Lembeh Street.
We were not only surprised by the beautiful creatures under water but also by the hospitality of
the people at the resort.
And because of that we ‘ve been visiting Kungkungan every year, sometimes twice a year.
This year will be our 12th time that we come to Kungkungan.
And that is because of many reasons:
1. Service is very good – rooms are made up twice a day and there is enough coffee, tea and water in the room
2. Food is good. Besides the a la carte dishes, the cook will make you Manadonese specialities on request, if possible. And sometimes we had barbecue’s with excellent food too.
3. The diveguides are very good, some very experienced. Mostly they can find the underwater creatures you ask for, even the very small ones.
4. Because of the bungalows and cottages are situated in a flat area you don’t need to climb uphill or many stairs to get to your room. That makes it very comfortable.
5. The cottages are very spacious with all the comfort you need with two queen-sized beds and large bathroom
6. The broad jetty with the warm water shower invites to take part to every dive event, as the floatable end of the jetty makes it easy to get on and off the boat
7. Because of the central location at the strait most of the dive sites are reachable within some minutes, which means that you return after every dive to the resort to enjoy refreshments and lunch or have fun at the pool or spa or take some rest

But last but not least : the friendly people give us a warm feeling everytime we come to Kungkungan. It feels like coming home.
After ten years of diving in the Lembeh Strait it’s still full of excitement. Every time we find new creatures that we’ve never seen before.
These are some of the reasons why we want to recommend Kungkungan Bay Resort to everyone who wants to know the local people and to enjoy the great diving in the Lembeh Strait.
For us this is one of the best and comfortable resorts we’ve ever been and for sure we will return to this place, just like they use to sing the KBR-goodbye song : Kembalilah sayangku !.( come back to the place you love )

Room Tip: every room is spacious as mentioned in the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
267 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

great resort with fantastic service and a great location right on the waterfront on Lembeh Straight. No hills to climb (with the possible exception of the one "hillside villa") all others are watefront unlike many resorts here, some of which require a car/van ride before getting to the dive boat, others are all cliff / hill side

great critter muck diving with a fantastic array of the bizarre and unusual. highlghts this trip -

blue ring octopus, hairy octopus, mimic, ambon scorpionfish, tiger shimp - hairy,painted,giant,randalls,warty frogfish etc....plus @no 1 watching a flamboyant cuttlefish hatch....spectacular

good private house reef right off the resort with resident pygmy seahorse amongst other sites

good spa,pool,restaurant & bar for deco time..

Room Tip: all good - hillside villa is up hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at KBR for 13 nights Jan/Feb 2012 and had a great time. The dive set-up is one of the best I have come across around the world and the dive staff, from guides to boat captains were absolutely brilliant, couldn't do enough to help and were outstanding at finding all the small critters I wanted to see. The bedrooms were gorgeous and the only part of the resort that needed a facelift were the public areas (reception, dining room, bar) but Mark the owner told us he will be upgrading these facilities to a similar standard to the rest of the resort this year. The food in the restaurant was lovely, with a choice of both western and local cuisine - no buffet food which is one of my pet hates - and all the waiting staff were fantastic. My husband did suffer from a small bout of food poisoning but the staff were very apologetic and concerned for his well-being and it didn't spoil our holiday at all. If you are looking for somewhere to stay whilst diving the Lembeh Strait I can't recommend the staff and hotel enough - they go out of the way to ensure you enjoy your stay :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellybean7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We visited KBR in Dec 2011 /Jan 2012, we stayed for 9 nights on our trip and the staff were fantastic, they were always smiling and nothing was a problem. The restuarant was amazing with a huge menu choice for every meal - not a buffet!!!. We were at the resort for New Year's Eve and they had a fantastic gala evening, organised by Berry, the manager, with the staff putting on the entertainment which was really special and also a fireworks display. The resort was charming, made special by the management and staff. The Diving was out of this world, I was amazed by the dazzling marine life and the dive centre staff were the best ever. I have dived all over the world and the KBR dive centre was by far the best dive centre I have dived with. Kye and Barbs were very helpful , very professional , as were the boat crews and dive guides. Who would never give up on looking for critters. We loved 'neo' the swimming cat. We would recommend to anybody looking for a special holiday to stay at KBR even if you do not dive its a very relaxing and very safe place to stay with a excellent spa to help you chill

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
498 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great diving experience - Beautiful secluded resort with comfortable ocean front villas. Food was great diving was excellent. Did not think much of muck diving at first but after catching on to the dive teams enthusiasm it is fascinating.
We had a drink order taken on the bus which was waiting for us - sat right down to do our sign in and C card checks - ordered lunch and were served in a seamless welcome.
Restaurant and bar very good - staff is wonderful and put on a great traditional bbq and entertainment that was the highlight. Traditional local and Chinese food some Japanese and Mexican as well as western - extra charge for Australian steak. The staff Nur Serra Sari and Ias are all our new facebook friends. Ewan from the bar came over to Manado with the bus to pick us up from Tasik Ria where we spent our first week diving and was very helpful - took a drink order to have it waiting as it is very warm. We never handled our luggage and dive gear was transferred direct from first resort to dive jetty all packaged ready to hit the boat - pretty sweet. Dan Green at Tasik had phoned ahead to his contact at KBR and had them filled in on our preferences.
Diving is easy and quick boat rides with all shore intervals at resort - order your lunch before second dive and it is ready when you get back. Dive guides very good at finding critters and corals are wonderful - actually the house reef was our favorite dive though check with them about currents. Kaj the operator was attentive and gave us the best times to dive the house reef whcih we had virtually to ourselves. He was very helpful in borrowing my wife a mask to try that he thought would work better than the one she had and she bought one like it which she loves. He showed us some videos he had done which are world class and went on one of our dives to film seeing something he had never seen before. He has a super relaxed style but knew who every diver was which boat they were suppossed to be on and ran a top shelf smooth operation.
The owner had just arrived for a stay and was interesting engaging and informative.

Rooms nice bedroom is air conditioned not the bath or sitting room so must leave doors to both closed to keep it cool. Unlimited cold bottled water is a home run bar prices good all inclusive simple and spa is super - get the couples massage! Local beer ice cold is wonderful.
Pool is nice has a swim up bar though not in use while we were there low season I guess. One draw back was cruise ship day trippers came on our last offgas day and there was no room available at the pool for us which was odd. One girl "saved" four lounge chairs for friends out snorkeling which we we have been on several cruises and this seems like a typical territorial thing about chairs. Did not expect to be on the short end of it while resident guests at the resort but having cruised before understnd how it works.
We asked about a cab or car to take us about for a few hours for hire but were told we had to use an excursion instead. I am hoping this was a miscommunication. We elected to go for a walk and went 5 miles in to town - a challenge in mid day heat but folks were unbelievably friendly and helped us along even showing us where to get a cold drink even though we did not speak language and bar we stopped in no one spok English. Many wished to have us take pictures with them which are our best souvenirs. We were told this was perfectly safe in the day time but not to do it at night which I can understand. The road would be dangerous with the darkness twisting road and driving style. I am sure there are other obvious risks as well. We got back at dusk to a breathtaking view of resort with the lights on in twilight - worth the walk up the hill to see. Actually this day walk and back interacting with the culture was the other highlight of our stay.
We had some friends that were there 2 weeks earlier that left us a personal note and post card and the staff was very excited about giving it to us as they live just an hour away at home. We would defintely stay again. Thanks!

Room Tip: All rooms looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJennyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitung
0.9 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
1.3 mi away
Cocotinos Lembeh, A Boutique Dive Lodge
31.6 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kungkungan Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kungkungan Bay Resort

Property: Kungkungan Bay Resort
Address: Tandurusa, Bitung, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kungkungan Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kungkungan Bay Resort (KBR to its friends and soon to be friends) is proud to be the resort that introduced Lembeh Strait to the world. Being the first resort in Lembeh means we got first choice on locations. Our resort is located in its own private bay which the resort is named after. KBR is the only Sea Level Luxury resort in Lembeh. KBR is a full service resort which includes The only 24hrs full menu service Restaurant in Lembeh, Capt. Billy's Bar serving American Bar Food and Great Drinks, our full service Tepi Laut Spa (Seaside Spa) does Massages, Beauty Treatments, Manicures and Pedicures, and of course our PADI Dive Center with Equipment and Camera Rentals and 32% NITROX. Come join us and we will put the Dream into you next Dive Vacation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kungkungan Bay Hotel Bitung
Kungkungan Bay Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing