We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dive Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I and two grown children just spent four days at KBR. It was an amazing experience.
We had the family suite which was very spacious and well appointed, also close to the dive centre and the restaurant. The room had great views across the Lembeh Strait.
We absolutely enjoyed the restaurant, the menu choices were so fantastic we always needed much deliberation and discussion, everything was appealing. The restaurant staff were attentive and very friendly. On a bbq night the hotel staff provided wonderful entertainment, they seemed to be genuinely enjoying themselves.
We enjoyed massages at the spa, great massage, atmosphere and value.
Now to our main purpose- the diving.
The diving was very special, the famous Lembeh critters didn't disappoint, we photographed everything that was on our wish list. The way the dive guides found critters was awesome.
The operation is really 5 star. Equipment is all carried, washed and cared for, cameras treated with huge respect. Help is always there when gearing up and getting on boats. Fruit and water is handed out on boats and drinks and snacks between dives at jetty. We were given a guide, Unglee, for our family of four who we really enjoyed diving with, his care and knowledge was brilliant. Stefan, the dive director was also great value.
The total experience was really enjoyable, we were looked after incredibly well. We will be returning sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nzdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Greeting from Kungkungan Bay Resort.

It was very nice having four of you with us.

Thank you for the nice review about the room, the beach front owner suite is a perfect choice for a family. It does make it better with the amazing view from the room.

We are pleased that you found the menu and the meals were fantastic. We do prepare our meals fresh, at the same time keeping the high standard and maintain good quality.
Our managers and staff enjoy entertaining our guests with traditional dances and songs, having all of you enjoyed the party just as much as we did truly was a great compliment.

We are very happy that you saw everything in your wish list. Our dive guides keep making us proud with all their amazing ability to spot critters, and the dedication to make every dive with them very special.

We all look forward to see you again in the future for another great diving, and wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Dive specialists, catering to your every need from accommodation to dive setup. Great service, friendly staff, lovely welcome. Dive crew know their stuff and cater to photographers or divers who want a new and exciting experience. All staff are friendly and polite and just lovely. You will enjoy the atmosphere of KBR, the pool is great.

Room Tip: All rooms have waterfront views. Restaurant very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bettydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write.
We are happy that you enjoy our service, and our dive crew did an amazing job to make your stay a special one. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards from all KBR team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

KBR offered us what it promised: Professionally organised and guided diving for weird critters in Lembeh Strait. Diving logistics are smooth and pleasant (snacks between dives, towels and drinks on the boat, camera room, ...). The guides are excellent - we photographed many new species - despite years of diving experience and many hundreds of dives. A very productive stay. We would, however, recommend that the water on board is not provided in disposable plastic cups (widespread in Indonesia) but in reusable bottles, as we have experienced in other resorts in Indonesia. Reducing plastic waste should be one of the highest and most urgent environmental priorities for Lembeh. KBR should have an interest in playing an exemplary model role in that.

The rooms of the hotel are very nice, stylish and comfortable (the bathroom a bit dark). The restaurant is really good and has an extended menu. Many items are (unexpectedly) american-inspired, e.g. burger, tex-mex style dishes, pancakes with maple sirup for breakfast, etc. We recommend to go for the indonesian dishes: Very good, fresh and tasty. The personnel is extremely friendly and very helpful. Due to intense boat traffic through the strait, the noise level can be a bit elevated at night - but we never travel without earplugs - so that was not a big issue.
We liked our stay and would go back anytime !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for the nice review.

We are glad that you find the rooms are nice, stylish and comfortable. Our chef is very happy that you loved the Indonesian dishes, and glad that our staff did a wonderful job taking good care of you during your staff.

Being the pioneer dive resort in Lembeh strait, we do take proud of our amazing dive guides who without a doubt from those many years of experience have been making every diver’s experience an amazing one. We thank you for the suggestion on the plastic cups, we certainly will take a look at other option for our water supply.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back at KBR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed one week in KBR, and it was a wonderful vacation. The resort is very nice, the rooms very comfortable and quiet, and the food is excellent. The resort staff is very friendly, the service they provide is second to none.
The diving is some of the best I ever did, and the dive guides are incredibly good at finding the smallest and weirdest critters. The whole dive operation is very well run and you basically don't have anything to do apart from showing up on the boat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Florent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you very much for choosing our resort to dive in Lembeh, thank you for taking the time to write the review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staffs have done a wonderful job to provide you with the best service during your visit.

With long years experience diving in Lembeh strait, our dive guides are the best critter finders, and are very dedicated to make sure you are well taken care of under water, and enjoy showing the wonderful critters.

We really hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at KBR for 2 weeks in April 2013 to meet our friends Michelle and Michel from Canada. There is not much to add to their reports, except that we also visited the SPA several times and it was just lovely.

We have been to many places allover the world. But we have never been to a place like KBR, where everybody is so unbelievably friendly, always helpful, cordial and likable.
They are like a big family and they just make you feel at home from the moment you get there.
And this makes KBR one of the most wonderful places we've ever visited.

Thank you all for making us feel like staying with friends
Bettina and Martin

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Makaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write.

The spa has been a great addition to our service, and we are glad you enjoyed all the treatment.

It was very nice to get to know you. We are very fortunate to have all these wonderful team of staff who does everything they can to make your stay a special one. We love to know that you feel like you find families here at KBR. You are now part of KBR family.

All of us here enjoy having four of you here, and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My family and I spent 14 nights at KBR in May 2013. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the resort and its staff. The staff truly treat everyone like family, and they could not have been kinder to my children (ages 8 and 5).

Only my husband went diving, and only two dives, so most of our time was spent swimming in the pool, snorkeling, enjoying the wonderful meals and the terrific Billy's Bar. The swimming pool is wonderful to play in for all ages, and the staff will deliver drinks and snacks to the poolside bar.
The snorkeling off the house reef is amazing and wonderful for young snorkelers. Three mornings we rented a boat to take us to different snorkeling sites. The snorkeling was amazing at every site.
The massages are quite good, and the price is reasonable. The food is excellent with great selections and the staff are always willing to accommodate different tastes.
My only complaint is the 21% service charge that they tack onto everything. On the other hand, there is no tipping, which is a relief.
I will miss the lovely breakfasts overlooking the house reef teeming with fish.

Room Tip: We had a lovely two bedroom close to the restaurant. It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you so much for the good review. We are glad you and the children enjoyed the stay, you had been a part of our family from the first day you arrived. Such a wonderful family like yours has made our job very easy.

We are glad you are happy with the food, our well trained chefs and the kitchen team are willing to cater to the culinary needs.

Our private house reef is a great site for snorkeler and very easy to spot the wonderful critters.
Further on the service charge, just to explain, we only charge a 10% service charge and the rest is government Sales Tax.

Thank you for choosiing KBR, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at the resort in early May 2013. The muck diving was fascinating and really well organised. We were delighted with the dive guides and the dive manager, Stefan, was highly professional and most attentive. The staff at the resort were friendy and helpful at all times. The rooms were marvellous (right on the water) and the meals were OK. The drinks in the bar were pricey; that's probably why the bar was deserted most of the time we were there. If you plan to visit the resort we suggest you bring your own gin. The Wi-Fi was erratic and frustrating; it could easily be fixed. Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynandMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitung hotels
1.0 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
12.5 mi away
Kalinaun Resort - Lembeh & Bangka
1.7 mi away
K2 Dive Resort
K2 Dive Resort
#3 of 5 in Pulau Lembeh
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kungkungan Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kungkungan Bay Resort

Address: Tandurusa, Bitung, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
Price Range: £111 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kungkungan Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kungkungan Bay Resort (KBR to its friends and soon to be friends) is proud to be the resort that introduced Lembeh Strait to the world. Being the first resort in Lembeh means we got first choice on locations. Our resort is located in its own private bay which the resort is named after. KBR is the only Sea Level Luxury resort in Lembeh. KBR is a full service resort which includes The only 24hrs full menu service Restaurant in Lembeh, Capt. Billy's Bar serving American Bar Food and Great Drinks, our full service Tepi Laut Spa (Seaside Spa) does Massages, Beauty Treatments, Manicures and Pedicures, and of course our PADI Dive Center with Equipment and Camera Rentals and 32% NITROX. Come join us and we will put the Dream into you next Dive Vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kungkungan Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kungkungan Bay Hotel Bitung
Kungkungan Bay Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing