We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely 8 days spent at KBR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We left KBR this noon after a lovely 8 days of diving and relaxing. The resort did not disappoint despite high expectations. Resort management and staff did not waiver in their professionalism or graciousness even though we were the only ones on site for 6 days. We were upgraded to the ocean-front villa on arrival and can recommend it over the cottages. Meals were freshly made and of sufficient variety to make it through the entire week.

The dive manager and his professional team of dive-masters were attentive to all needs, safe and always obliging. We enjoyed diving with them because they spoilt us! No carrying, set-up or rinsing of equipment all week AND fresh towels after every dive even though we were no more than 8 or 10 minutes away at the furthest site. I chose not to climb up the ladder with my BC and boat crew willingly indulged me. Most of all, the dive guides knew where the creatures hid and for photographers, there were memorable shots available each time we dove.

Congratulations to Stefan Soh and his dive team and to Beary and his resort team! We enjoyed our stay with you very much and see why KBR is a hallmark of service with grace.

Room Tip: The ocean-front villas are definitely worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Springjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

It was great to have you two at Kungkungan Bay Resort. Thank you for the nice review. We are happy that we did not disappoint you.

The beach front deluxe villa does offer a great view from the big veranda to enjoy your morning coffee. We appreciate the food review, we will keep maintaining our standard to deliver freshly prepared food to our guests every meal.

Our dive team glad that you had a great diving with us. The whole team enjoyed spoiling you for the whole week. We will keep improving, and will proudly maintain a hallmark of service with grace.

Take care, and hope to see you next time.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

My son & I spent 5 night in the resort.
We were met at the airport by one of the staff. The trip to the resort was about an hour & a half. The view of the strait when we rounded the last turn on the hill was great. Check in was quick & efficient. We are aquainted with all the facilities in the resort by the friendly manager & had all the dive equipment brought to the room while this was going on.
I must say that the walk to the chalet seemed quite long on the first occasion but we got used to it.
It made sense as we got a chalet quite far from the check-in / dining / kitchen area & the dive centre. It was luxuriously quiet at night with only the waves to accompany us.
Meals were excellent (but in an Indonesia flavour-wise way).
Our only regrets were that we did not stay long enough to sample all that was available on the menu. The dining area overlook the house reef. Crystal clear waters with lots of coral & fish.
We fed the fishes with bread provided by the kitchen staff. Nice touch.

Our primary interest was diving in Lembeh; which we did for 4 days.
The dive centre was well run by the manager, Stefan & his able and knowledgeable staff.
The resort was located right in the Lembeh straits, very close to the dive sites. It took just 2 - 5 minutes on the boat to almost all the sites we visited. Wonderful!
No more sitting in the boat for an hour or more getting to & from the dive sites (as happens in a lot of other places we have dived in). We return to the resort after every dive to have tea, lunch & dinner!
Saw a very good variety of marine life in the dives. The night dives were exceptional as well.
If you want to learn to dive, this is a good place to start. A number of dive sites are just about 20 feet or so. A begineer will feel safe. The water visibility is good - often 30 - 50 feet and the fish, marine life, coral etc are in abundance.
Thoroughly enjoyed the diving.
** Note: as there is a lot of sediments on the sea floor, we had to be extra vigilant about bouyancy control. Fanning the sea floor churns up a lot of particles & the visibility of the waters goes.... :(

Room Tip: The rooms at the far ends, away from the dive centre are good. Quiet & not noisy from the diver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keniclim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband & I spent a week at Kungkungan Bay Resort and we were sad to leave. The diving was amazing, 3 times a day, you never have to touch your gear once you hand it over, and we got quite spoiled not having to lug tanks or wash BCUs. The dive guides were excellent at finding all the little critters and were very nice & friendly. The accommodations were GREAT. We stayed in a deluxe oceanfront cottage, with a large open room (bed, desk, couch, TV), a large bathroom, and best of all was the huge porch overlooking the Lembeh Strait. I loved being woken by the sun streaming into the room at 6:00 am and the sounds of the small boats starting to putt-putt through the Strait. The food was great, and we especially loved eating breakfast outside. Breakfast starts with fresh fruit & coffee, then you have your choice of several large breakfast options. It's impossible to go hungry at KBR. The staff were all amazing - from the restaurant, spa, cleaning crew, dive crew, everyone was helpful, pleasant and friendly. We had a wonderful time and definitely recommend it to anyone diving the Lembeh Strait.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firehouse2Durham_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I really enjoyed the mostly muck diving at KBR. The dive guides were excellent, personal and pointed out very unusual critters such as the hairy frogfish. Stefan, the dive lead, really tried to accommodate me with more dive time. The accommodations were great with beautiful views and short walks to the dive center and restaurant. The restaurant menu was varied and interesting with a panoramic view of Lembeth Straits. There was interesting Indonesian entertainment on two evenings I was there.

Room Tip: I had a room next to the dive center and that was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plandecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for the great review. Our kitchen team is happy that we help you feel better even though it was just a small gesture of cooking you tomato soups and French fries. We are glad it ends with a great time with us.

Stefan and the dive team enjoyed making your wish came true. We are working on new dance now, and good news is, Iwan, your friend at the bar was chosen to be the leader in the war dance, he sure has the story to share about his new house when you come back to visit us again. Beary thanking you for taking the time to write about the performance, it’s our way to make your stay more enjoyable.

Take care, and we all look forward to see you again ….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

perfect getaway, very excluded and serene. Perfect for honeymooners. Loved the super clear beach and lots of fish to see under the ocean by the lobby. Highly recommended for honeymooners. A bit far out from the city, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mingzhu l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Amazing diving! Amazing property! Amazing service! I was there when Kaj was the manager. Kaj's love for critters is remarkable. If you have something that you want to see Kaj knows what is going on in the water. This property has a number of critter and fish ID books. So no need to lug yours to KBR. This property is flat and all the rooms have a view of the water. Many of the properties in Lembeh are on cliffs. If you don't want to climb stairs, this is the property to consider. The spa services were amazing also.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szatanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A bucket list destination for any diver! You must take a camera.

Diving was excellent, guides were good at finding "stuff", doing their best to meet everybody's "wish lists" posted on the notice board. This is five star dive service, no lugging kit and cylinders back and forth, kit is all set up and on the right boat at the right time, cylinders changed between dives whilst you relax with a hot drink. I'm a bit touchy (obsessive) about my rig and personally checking it every dive but these guys never made mistakes it was set up correctly every time. Cameras were handled with great care. Briefings were good. Boats weren't crowded, Dive guide ratios good. A good selection of dive sites, coral, sand, muck but no wrecks. Frog fish, nudibranchs, ghost fish, octopus, boxer crab, shrimps and of course pygmy sea horses - it's all here and you will almost certainly see most of it.
Accommodation - good. Clean, air conditioned, large shower room, veranda with ocean view.
Food - good. Plenty of it, only minor niggle was trivial surcharges for odd items like cheese on burgers or bacon with some breakfast options - really couldn't understand why given cost of full board. I do hope they discontinue this or just take items off menu.
People - great. Friendly, helpful - always smiling and genuinely seemed to want you to have a good time.
Excursions - it's really all about the diving but we took a jungle trip to see Tarsier on final day - a bit of a drive but well worth the money (in fact really cheap for an excursion).
Overall - throrougly recommended. I'm a pretty severe critic and expect to get what I've paid for and if something is billed as five star I exepect five star. KBR is an exceptional venue and well worth a visit.

Criticisms - not really a criticism of KBR but of the Lembeh Strait population - too much non biodegradable rubbish being discarded into the water - if nothing is done about it the world will lose one of its most diverse ecologies and Sulawesi its tourism revenue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DonBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitung hotels
0.9 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
629 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
12.5 mi away
Kalinaun Resort - Lembeh & Bangka
1.7 mi away
K2 Dive Resort
K2 Dive Resort
#3 of 5 in Pulau Lembeh
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kungkungan Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kungkungan Bay Resort

Address: Tandurusa, Bitung, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
Price Range: £108 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kungkungan Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kungkungan Bay Resort (KBR to its friends and soon to be friends) is proud to be the resort that introduced Lembeh Strait to the world. Being the first resort in Lembeh means we got first choice on locations. Our resort is located in its own private bay which the resort is named after. KBR is the only Sea Level Luxury resort in Lembeh. KBR is a full service resort which includes The only 24hrs full menu service Restaurant in Lembeh, Capt. Billy's Bar serving American Bar Food and Great Drinks, our full service Tepi Laut Spa (Seaside Spa) does Massages, Beauty Treatments, Manicures and Pedicures, and of course our PADI Dive Center with Equipment and Camera Rentals and 32% NITROX. Come join us and we will put the Dream into you next Dive Vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kungkungan Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kungkungan Bay Hotel Bitung
Kungkungan Bay Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing