We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top diving location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kungkungan Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bitung
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top diving location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The dive operation at KBR is entirely geared to maximising the wonderful diving opportunities that the Lembeh Strait has to offer. Designed by divers for divers but it is also a fabulous romantic location that anyone would enjoy. Food good and rooms beautifully furnished with fabulous views over the water. I was unable to dive but enjoyed snorkelling and photographing the house reef in any case.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 3PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. It really means a lot to us that even though you are not diving, you have enjoyed snorkling our house reef. Thank you for the compliment about rooms and food, we hope to see you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    41
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
112
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from KBR and it was a paradise experience. Our Beachfront Cottage was beyond my expectations. Roomy sitting area with couch, table, desk, chair, fridge and huge windows. Bedroom with bed beautifully draped with hanging linens, a lovely bath with good storage and wardrobe closet. The front veranda with the chairs and table was a favorite spot for us throughout the day. Another plus, strong internet connection on veranda and inside room.

The dining hall has a few outdoor tables where you can look right out onto the house reef which is full of life. We ate almost every meal out there and enjoyed the view of the Lembeh Strait and house reef.

Dive sites are so close you come back to resort after each dive for your surface interval. The first dive of the day and afternoon dive you come back to resort and the staff is waiting with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies. Plus complimentary chair massages; if it's lunch time, you just clean up and head to the dining room.

For non-divers, the house reef will keep them happy every day. It's really large and there is a lot to see.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. One thing to be aware of is that they have a Tailor on site that can make you custom garments. There is fabric to choose from in a case in the lobby and a picture menu of garments available. The staff will call the tailor and he will come and take your measurements and have your garment ready in a day or two. My friend drew a picture of palazzo pants and she was very happy with the results.

The Dive staff did a good job of setting up gear and rinsing them at the end of the trip. They also are great at finding all the little critters.

I skipped several dives to just enjoy the resort. It truly is a very quiet, relaxing and beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnKrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for the very nice review. We have enjoyed serving you at Kungkungan Bay Resort. Glad our beach front cottage is comfortable, and you enjoy our dining service. Our taylor is happy that you liked the work. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I just got back from my stay with KBR and the best experience I take away from this resort is Berry (manager) and the staff! They are wonderful! Berry made everything happen and the staff knew your name and took very good care of you. The dive operation was above average in service and the divemasters were friendly and knowledgable about all of the dive sites and critters. The only concern I had was with the dive manager and I later found that he was acting in that capacity. I did not find him as friendly and eager to meet the needs of the dive guests. The rooms were beautiful and well maintained with great views of the water. But, the type of room I stayed in (rms 1-4 A/B) had a front room with mini-bar, desk and couch but was unusable as a living space since there was no air-conditioning, just a fan, and they asked you not to open the windows due to the insects. So, a wasted space. The food was great and served in a timely manner. The restaurant has a wonderful view of the water! The spa is new and very nice, but limited in the number of appointments that were available to guests while I was there. I would have used it more if I could have gotten more than one appointment. The massage was good and the room was nice and comfortable. The BBQ and dancing on the last nite of the stay was memorable in that the food was great and the staff provided the entertainment. You could see on their faces how much they enjoyed sharing their culture with us! All-in-all, a great five days!

Room Tip: Ask for a traditional house when making a resevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaidive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you very much for the good review.

Beary and us had fun serving you and sharing with you our tradition.

We are sorry that the spa was all full when you wanted to book for more treatment.

We take note on the review about our dive manager, and we will look into ways to improve our service.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I have been to the Lembeh Strait before and this time chose KBR as we percieved a great combination of a small luxury hotel, amazing location great house reef and Nearby Critter Diving. We were not disappointed. Restaurant is informal and for an even better view you can choose to have a table outside looking out to the straight. The bar up top has access to a viewing area where you can sit and watch the life in the strait pass by. The food in the restaurant was a set A La Carte Menu and very tasty whether youu went for snacks or big evening dinner. The rooms furnished in a lovely style in keeping for the resort. The bathroom had a walk in shower. Evreything tasteful. Small onsite pool but good for cooling dip and a refreshing beer alongside. My wife used the spa a couple of times was very pleased and thought it was great value. The Dive centre is very professionally run with good briefing pre the boat leaving the dock for short trips to the dive sites. Kit moved for you if you wish so you just walk on and off the boat and check it on boat. Found what we were looking for here would definitely return and the icing on the cake to the resort is the lovely staff who provide excellent service and go the extra mile when they do a local night and provide all the entertainment and local food. thanks KBR look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkdon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the great review, and thank you for choosing Kungkungan Bay Resort for your dive trip. Everyone is happy to know that you enjoy our service, from the beautiful beach front accommodation, to the service at our over the water restaurant, to the spa. Our dive staff are happy that you found what you were looking for, and we all look forward to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This resort has so much going for it, but without any shadow of a doubt its great selling point is the outstandingly charming staff. Everyone seems to have such a natural sunny and warm personality on top of which they have been trained to a good standard in excellent international standards of customer service. I was travelling by myself so I really appreciated the good conversation they all had and the concern for my welfare, although it is slightly disarming, having had the excellent Indonesian massage to be asked by 2 or 3 different people how it was. That was no problem for me, but some may want to be more discrete….

The diving is full on 3- 4 dives a day. Very well organised under the Spanish/Catalan dive master. They are very obliging and try very hard to ensure you get a good variety and to see a all the species and critters you came to see. If I have a niggle, it is the disclaimer (which while legally probably wouldn't hold water) you have to sign before e you start which basically says everything is your fault and nothing is theirs whatever happened. A lot of American places do this so KBR Is not unique - I just feel it could be more balanced and reasonably worded. Also the Mandarin dive is $50 extra (or $100 if it is just you) with no option to trade for another dive from you package - again a bit inflexible. Quality of the diving is good, but it is different to reef diving and can involve some periods on the barren seabed looking for life. But then the lifeforms are very diverse, interesting and often unique. Because of this there is a lot of (obsessive) interest in underwater photography, which if that is not altogether you could be intrusive. If it is you, you will be very happy.

Food in the restaurant was delicious and varied, although there was plant of local food choice there seemed to be a bit too much western food on offer. Their burgers were amazing but overall I would say go with the local good. I was particularly grateful for the mangosteen and rambutan for breakfast.

The room was spacious, clean, well-appointed and comfortable with effective fan and a/c. The views across Lembeh strait were drop-dead gorgeous.

I was talked into going for a massage and subsequently a scrub treatment. No regrets, One of the most relaxing things I have ever done, and reasonably priced. Go for it.

The staff turned out to do a farewell song on departure for the airport which was quite moving. I was very sad o leave and would be very happy to return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaitero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the nice review. The staff enjoyed the chat with you during your stay, and glad you like our local food. Paco, our resident instruction is happy that you had good dives with us. We take your advise on Mandarin dives, and will work on flexibility. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

From the moment you arrive to the time you leave you are totally looked after and spoiled here at kbr. The resort is beautiful. The staff are just happy yo help in what ever way they can .The diving is unbelievable and the dive guides will find whatever it is your looking for. Your dive gear is handled with great care. The food is wonderful and each meal freshly cooked. Can't wait to return thanks kbr

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for the nice review.

We enjoyed spoiling you two and have always enjoy the fun to serve you. Thank you for the nice compliment about our food, our staff, and our dive guides.

We all looking forward to many more visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was our third visit to KBR. The first time we went we were upset to be leaving such a wonderful place, the second time we cried when we got there because we were so happy to be back, and this time we just decided to stay for even longer. The welcoming is amazing, the accommodation is clean, spacious and the resort is beautifully kept. The staff in resort a all smiley and happy and can't do enough for you. The food is all al a carte and freshly cooked at each meal. Diving in the Lembeh Straits is the home of muck diving and is one of the top dive sites in the world. The dive guides never cease to amaze us, they go out of their way to find the little critters that you want to see, and some of the time have to photograph and magnify before you believe that it really is a critter. At KBR they use fast dive boats which means you get up and have a relaxed breakfast, with some of the best views you can get from a breakfast table, do a chilled out dive, return to resort to find tea, coffee and hot chocolate waiting for you along with a menu for you to order your lunch from, you then do the second dive of the day and return for your preordered lunch. After lunch there is time for a nap in the sunshine before donning the wetsuits for a third dive, with the opportunity for a mandarin dive or night dive later on, and if that's not enough you can do unlimited house reef diving.
Kbr truly is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaAndIvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for such a great review.

To welcome you as friends and family was always something us here looking forward to. It warms our heart to know that you have always enjoyed your stay with us, and it such a great pleasure to serve you.

Thank you, and we all looking forward to see you two again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitung
1.1 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
0.9 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 9 in Bitung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.4 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
1.3 mi away
Cocotinos Lembeh, A Boutique Dive Lodge
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kungkungan Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kungkungan Bay Resort

Property: Kungkungan Bay Resort
Address: Tandurusa, Bitung, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kungkungan Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kungkungan Bay Resort (KBR to its friends and soon to be friends) is proud to be the resort that introduced Lembeh Strait to the world. Being the first resort in Lembeh means we got first choice on locations. Our resort is located in its own private bay which the resort is named after. KBR is the only Sea Level Luxury resort in Lembeh. KBR is a full service resort which includes The only 24hrs full menu service Restaurant in Lembeh, Capt. Billy's Bar serving American Bar Food and Great Drinks, our full service Tepi Laut Spa (Seaside Spa) does Massages, Beauty Treatments, Manicures and Pedicures, and of course our PADI Dive Center with Equipment and Camera Rentals and 32% NITROX. Come join us and we will put the Dream into you next Dive Vacation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kungkungan Bay Hotel Bitung
Kungkungan Bay Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing