We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lembeh Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lembeh Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just got back from a week at the Lembeh resort. We had dived Lembeh on a day trip, but nothing prepared us for the amazing number of strange and wonderful critters. We were fortunate to be at the resort with one of the world's most amazing underwater photographers, Chris Newbert, and some of his friends. It was one of the best experiences! Of course with great guests and a fantastic resort, it wouldn't be a truly world-class experience without great staff and management and the Lembeh resort has the best. From the first email to Helen to decide whether we would go or not, to the pickup at the airport, meal times, diving, spa, drinking coffee between dives, drinks at the pool, beating Gizmo, the resort manager, at cards, it was all just a great time.

I was there with my11 year old who was recently certified and my 15 year old daughter who is an advanced diver. It is not always easy to go to a diving resort with kids, especially young ones, but everyone was fantastic. Particularly Kari from Critters@Lembeh, who ensured my youngest daugther was comfortable and safe in the water. Even with a limit of 12 meters, we saw a lot of great things such as mimic and wunderpus octopus. There was another family with an 18 month old and it was obvious the resort could cater to their needs as well. If your someone who doesn't like close proximity to young kids, not to worry, plenty of space to do your own thing.

So what other superlative can I come up with. This is just one of the best places we have been and we will definitely be back with the rest of our kids! In the meantime, we will go see them at ADEX! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. We were near the main resort complex, which was great and not noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldJet1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Good Morning from a warm and sunny Lembeh Resort.

We would like to thank you for this review about your experience with Lembeh Resort and also thank you for the very kind comments about all of our personnel ranging from the staff to the management. You are totally correct that great staff and a great atmosphere along with the great diving and guides do make for an excellent holiday and we are thrilled that you felt it was world class.

We are so happy that you had such a good time and felt that we catered your family's needs well and that you feel like we are a family friendly resort. It pleases us to hear that every aspect of the resort experience was a great one from the food to the spa to beating the general manager at cards!

The diving in Lembeh is so special and we are glad that this the diving surpassed your expectations and that regardless of the depth you managed to see many critters! We have four PADI Instructors on site as well as two qualified Divemasters as well as all our guides being rescue trained and so it comes as no surprised that you felt like your daughters were well looked after, we shall ensure that the comments with regards to the care of your younger daughter are passed on to the person mentioned.

Thank you again for this review and we really look forward to welcoming you back to Lembeh Resort with the rest of your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    51
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
282
85
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Having heard over and over again how incredible the macro diving is in Lembeh Strait along with the comforts of Lembeh Resort, my partner and I were delighted to spend almost two weeks there in March, 2012.

The fantastic service from the Indonesian staff was impressive - in all areas of the resort they were friendly and helpful and made our trip great. From the greeters and drivers who picked us up at the airport, to the resort staff, restaurant staff, spa staff, and especially all the dive staff were amazing. Particularly our dive guides Ramley and Iwan. They were amazing at finding us the critters, including using a slate to write down the critter names (in case we didn't know what we were looking at) and they went out of their way to try and show us the creatures on our wish list, even taking us back to a dive site for a second time so we could get the photos we wanted.

The resort is beautiful all around. We loved our very large air conditioned bungalow, especially the outdoor shower and the peaceful verandah that overlooked the strait. The restaurant and bar are very cozy and the food wonderful. We appreciated the variety and never left a meal not feeling like we'd eaten enough for a week (but we couldn't wait for the next meal because it was so good!) We also spent a fair amount of time in the spa and very much enjoyed it.

The diving lived up to the hype - Lembeh Strait has some of the best macro diving in the world. However, that also means a lot of other people are diving there. With many other resorts around there were often dive boats at the same sites we were diving. Often the dive guides and boat drivers would change the site and take us somewhere without other boats, but sometimes not. With up to eight guests on one of Lembeh Resort's boats, 3 dive guides, and possibly a resort or dive shop manager on the boat, we had plenty of divers in the water. When another boat was at the same time, it got very busy. This wasn't always the case though, on some days there were only 3 divers on a boat, it varied throughout the trip. The Indonesian staff were incredibly knowledgeable and took care of our gear, offered to carry our (large) cameras from the boat to land, and we saw them going the extra mile to take care of other guests who needed extra help, such as lifting tanks out of the water, etc. My dive buddy rented gear from Critters@Lembeh and we were very impressed with it's quality and they were quick to change out bad fitting gear as soon as it was mentioned.

We went on the Tangkoko Nature Reserve tour and were lucky enough to have a dry day (after many with rain) and it was very cool. Lembeh Resort staff took care of us throughout the tour including bringing water and bug spray for us and we saw macaques, couscous, and tarsiers. At the end of a sweaty hike through the jungle they had cold towels for us - it was above and beyond what we expected.

I've worked in the scuba diving industry for eight years and as an underwater photographer and I really appreciated the excellent service. We had a great trip - thank you - and you can view photos from the diving here: http://sirenphotography.smugmug.com/Underwater/Lembeh.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3B and loved it. It was not one of the mountain top rooms, and we liked that it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Good Evening from Lembeh Resort.

We would like to thank you for this review of Lembeh Resort.

We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us at Lembeh Resort, your review is testament to our great staff in all areas above and below the water! We will ensure that your kind comments are passed onto all the staff. We are pleased that you liked your cottage and felt like it was well appointed. It is great that you enjoyed the food so much - we need to keep our divers well fed and we think the Indonesian - Western fusion is a good mix. The new bar has helped to create a good cosy atmosphere and that you enjoyed sending time there.

We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the diving and you felt like you have a good guides, so are not surprised that you managed to see so many critters as our team has over 65,000 dives between them in the Lembeh Striat. We feel like 'little things' -such as the slates to remind you what you saw on a dive & looking after all of your equipment - really do go a long way to make a difference. It was quite busy during your stay and sometimes boats did seem a little busy but our guides are very good at making sure underwater it does not feel so busy. Whenever we know that a dive site is going to be busy (ie there is another boat already there) then the Critters@Lembeh guides will change the site so to make sure our guests do not get a sub-standard dive.

The Tangkoko National Park tour is a great way to spend an 'off-gassing' afternoon. Seeing some of the species like the Tarsiers and CusCus that are endemic to this area is pretty special and we are very happy that the weather was good for you! The cool drinks and towels at the end of this walk are real treat in themselves!

Thank you for the compliment with regards to our overall service and we are so pleased that meant you had such a fun and memorable trip.

We hope to welcome you back to Lembeh Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I spent 4 fabulous nights at the resort and are already planning our return visit. The rooms are beautiful (the outdoor shower in 3B was amazing), the dive operation is first class and the staff is always friendly and helpful. I have been an active diver for over 30 years and think I have found "the" dive resort that I will return to again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for writing this review about your stay with Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh.
We are very happy to hear that you such a good time and that you are already planning a return visit!
We are pleased that you thought the rooms were beautiful and that you enjoyed the Balinese Style bathrooms, there is something very nice about having a shower in the open arm.
We feel that Critters@Lembeh is a first class dive operation and it is great that you also feel the same way.
Both Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh realise what great staff we have working with us and it is pleasing to hear that you felt that they are both friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Lembeh Resort in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Helen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

As a solo diver interested in muck diving for "Critter Photography", I thought i had arrived in Nirvana ! Above all, the staff of the Resort and Dive Center are delightful...not to mention well trained and professional.The combined operation is very focused on the guest ...this included an 11pm pick up and transport to the resort accompanied by a staff member ... and assistance in making the first dive the next day.
First the resort ... The setting is idyllic with beautiful gardens . The cottages are arranged so there is no noise from other guests. I had one of the "older" cottages which was lovely with lots of hot water and a good bed. It was their "slow time" so meals were served (versus buffet) and the food was good ...I especially appreciated a selection of Indonesian dishes. Although I didn't have time for much sitting by the pool, those who did said it was a lovely spot. I also noticed that the resort offered several local tours that looked interesting.
Now the Diving ...again the staff was focused and professional ...as a solo diver, I really appreciated their efforts to keep me wet ... even to the extent of waiving some costs so I could do a solo night dive. The Critters are there and the Guides can find them ... surprises on every dive ...including Wonderpus and Mimic !! On a professional level the guides used slates underwater to name the weird and handed me a list of critters seen at the end of the dive ...wow ! The staff assisted with gear and getting in and out of the boat. A Professional Photographer is resident and dove with us and was available for help (Lots needed).
Some considerations: The older cottages are "up hill" from the diving (say equivalent of 3 stories) and the newer accommodations are higher ...personally I enjoyed a little weight bearing exercise but you may want to check if this is a problem. The diving is far from pristine, trash in the water and on the bottom .... GOOD muck. The drive from Manado is around an hour and a half ...although during the day quite interesting. There was some noise as staff arrive by boat early in the AM (Part of this may have been due to construction going on during the slow time).
This resort and dive operation deserves its reputation for good diving and great accommodation ...and you gotta add friendly professional staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbaems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hello,

Good Morning from Lembeh Resort. We would like to thank you for writing this review about your stay with us.

Lembeh Strait is well known as mecca for underwater photographers and so it comes as no surprises that you thought you were in Nirvana. We are happy that you found the Critters@Lembeh team to focused and professional and that you found the service from the assistance with your equipment from the boat crew to the critter information on a slate from your dive guides help to make it all the more better. We are also very pleased that you were able to make use of our resident Photo Pro as well. We are lucky to have a great dive crew.

We also appreciate your comments with regards to the Resort and the Resort staff as well. Whatever time of day or night that one of our guests arrives or leaves we want to make sure that they are well looked after! We feel like we are very lucky to have such a great location and the gardens in and around the resort are carefully maintained by our team of grounds staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food, we like to give our guests a taste of the local Indonesian cuisine.

With regards to the boat noise, it is sometimes possible to hear the fishing boats coming and leaving early in the morning but otherwise we are pretty lucky to have quite a quiet spot on the Island. We hope that you were not inconvenienced by the renovation work which was going on in one of the cottages - as very popular and busy resort we have to fit it in during our 'quieter times. We do ensure that any 'noisy' work is only carried out when our guests are out diving.

Thank you for the extra tips as well! We would like to thank you again for this review and the compliments with regards to deserving the reputation which Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh have established.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Back from a 5 days stay at Lembeh resort where we had a wonderful stay thanks to Helen and Gizmo, the most wonderful hosts you would dream of.

Firstly we were impressed with how we were swiftly replied to all our mails and how the booking step was smoothly processed (just keep in mind that bank transfers from Europe to Indonesian banks may be unreliable). We already felt we were treated like VIPs although with the hindsight I believe it’s the feeling of all guests…
Reading tripadvisor on the day prior to our arrival, we asked for a bungalow located nearby as we preferred to avoid steps and trade magnificent views over Lembeh for a bit of lazyness. Helen immediately handled our request and gave us the closest villa to the restaurant, which was really perfect.
The surroundings are really pretty, all the staff very friendly doing their utmost to satisfy the guests and the management organizes every ten days an open air barbecue with the local kids choir singing and dancing for more than an hour.
If we had to point a thing that could be improved, it would be on the menu/buffet aspects, that could be slightly more varied, although I suspect the management and theirs to be actively working on that side.

Divewise, it would be really hard to fail a dive in Lembeh, most of the dive guides are impressive of marine/bio knowledge, some of them the unusual habit of taking a white slate underwater in order to describe what you may misunderstand or simply miss on animal behaviour, or to write down the unusual suspects in order to help a debrief on the boat. I would like to thank especially Abner, Opo, Fandy and Andi for being such knowledgeable dive guides and for trying to help me tick off all the critters on my wish list (80% of the list fulfilled after 2 dives, good score Opo! I know everything now about the pinkeyed goby, thanks Andi!).
A little complaint about the dive management of critters@Lembeh, I am not sure though the dive planning and the dive management are on the same level as the resort management. I had to raise voice a little for keeping the same guide I was paying for as the management seemed more occupied grooming a certain group or randomly changing boat schedules especially in for the 3rd afternoon dive, than caring for other regular divers. All in all, it gave the impression the dive center is running better without the management.
Again, this shouldn’t decrease the dive guides’ friendliness or the general quality of diving, but comparing to the high level of customer care that is provided at Lembeh Resort, (and the prices of the private guided dives too) I would have expected that all dives were carefully planned and selected. It sometimes gave me the impression that, as there were not enough divers for the 3rd dive, the management would prefer to pack everybody on the same boat and ride to the closest spots (which are not some of the most interesting around).

There are now many option to chose from in Lembeh with the newly open resorts, but we believe GR Helen’s warm spontaneity and GM Gizmo’s professionalism have made this place really so special, at least this is how we felt it was.
I was worried my non diver wife would be bored by the first day, but with the help of a swimming pool, a nice environment and once again, Helen and Gizmo, this never happened (or maybe when it rained the whole day).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukoGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenGomez, Owner at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your review and positive comments about Lembeh Resort and our Management Team. These guys work their heart out and I'm happy you experienced their efforts.

Thank you also for your review of Critters@Lembeh and for providing us with a "teachable moment". The lack of consistency regarding Private Guide, which was rectified the second full day of diving by your choice of guide, was a result of an internal communication glitch. Your private guide request, made during time of reservation, was not properly transmitted within the dive center. We have learned and corrected this situation.

Regarding switching boats - the first full day you dived with 3 other guests on same boat for all dives; day two with 4 other divers on morning dives however, other guests in your boat did not do afternoon dive, so we move you to our largest boat with 6 other divers; day three also, no other divers from your morning boat did the afternoon dive.

We have three categories for dive sites in the Strait - short distance, medium and long distance from the resort. Yes, two of your afternoon dives were short distance - two were medium. Depending on what guests want to see, conditions of dive sites etc, yes, we normally stay closer to the resort on the afternoon dive.

I am actually very pleased to read you feel the dive center operates better without management. My managers try and take a back seat promoting our supervisors and dive guides to handle more responsibility and become more interactive with our guests. When your legitimate concern surfaced in the office, I was on hand that day to hear management and supervisors discuss the solution and appropriate steps to make you happy. Guides do choose dive sites and boat configuration according to discussions with guests and intelligent grouping of like minded divers. Your review reflects the obvious- you were extremely happy with the diving and guides.

We hope you and your wife visit us again - we will certainly take good care of you. Also, our Dive Center Office Supervisor, would like to practice speaking French with you both again!

Thank you,
Danny Charlton
Owner - Critters@Lembeh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

How much do I love this resort? I have returned numerous times already. I am very lucky that I happen to live in Indonesia. I have tons of diving spots at my fingertips, and yet, I keep coming back. Not only is the diving phenomenal, but everything outside the water is terrific too. Let's get started, shall we?

Critters at Lembeh, the dive operator affiliated with Lembeh Resort, is both professional yet laid back. I have never felt rushed nor criticized in any way. The staff is supportive of both new and experienced divers. The dive guides all seem to love their jobs, and more often than not, dive center staff will be out on the boats, doing what we all love to do. Equipment is good, and facilities such as cleaning tanks and the camera room are always clean. The strait itself can at times be dirty, but honestly, that is a problem everywhere (and one that I have seen improve even since 2010) in the area.

As for the resort itself, I have not a bad word to say. I travel by myself a lot, and the staff is so welcoming. As of only my second visit, people were calling me by name, and it felt totally sincere. Smiles abound, and as a rule, I have found that other guests are the same way. I can't tell you how many new friends I have made staying here. The management is very hands on, and always has time for a quick word, even if it's just to say hello. True, this is key for all service industry professionals, but you never feel like the staff doesn't genuinely care about how your trip is going.

The rooms are incredible. The beds and linens are the best I've had in Indonesia. Plus, the little touches, like turn down service with little sachets of Indonesian spices just make it that much better.

The food is also incredible. After months of access to only traditional Indonesian food, European and American options are a welcome treat, and the restaurant never fails me. For new visitors, the Asian choices are spot on. Honestly, access to a bar after months is also a real treat. Nothing quite like relaxing on a hot day after diving with a gin and tonic.

All in all, I love this place. I have stayed at a couple of other places in Lembeh, and there really is no comparison. I will be sad when I return home, and can no longer pop over when I have a little break in my schedule. The resort is awesome, and the people make it even better.

Room Tip: Some rooms have open air showers. Personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganL273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Hello from Lembeh Resort,

We would like to thank you for writing this review about Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh, your comments are greatly appreciated.

The Critters@Lembeh dive centre has been operating at Lembeh Resort for many years and the owners of dive centre have been in the Indonesia dive industry for even longer (and the managers have also been in Indonesia for 5 years) so it comes as no surprise that the operation comes across as both professional and laid back/fun! The dive centre staff do take great pride in their work and also their workplace. We will make sure that we pass on your kind comments to them all.

Both the Management and the Staff want to make sure that the guests feel totally at home and genuinely do want to make sure that everyone has the best dive holiday possible and we are also very happy to hear that you made so many friends during your stays.

We are glad that you found the room to be to your satisfaction - we get many compliments about the beds being very comfortable! We would like to thank you for the comments with regards to the food - the menu has more of Indonesian flavour to it (which many of our guests love to experience) but we also realise some people do like a little taste of home as well so we can try to ensure that we provide something that will keep everyone happy. We really like it that people are enjoying spending time at our Bar, it is a great place to sit back to discuss the day of diving.

Again thank you for this review and we look forward to welcoming you to Lembeh Resort again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I booked last minute and was quite impressed at how everyone at this resort rallied to help to get my last minute booking self to this special place.

I had never been (muck) diving before, it was fantastic and of particular note was the ease of diving with lots of cool stuff to see, knowledgable guides, excellent and brand new equipment including their superb 5mm wetsuts, and oh such very very short but pleasant boat trips from the resort.

In my opinion, the huge plusses for this place are 1) Helen the (co)owner who just lights up the place with her presence and enthusiasm. Her energy exudes from her and she's nice to have around if you are low on air (hee hee) :) 2)The front desk staff were excellent and 3) the accommodations very nice clean and comfortable however missing a little better reading light for those of us solos who are reading and not necking after hours, the food was wonderful and overall a really positive experience and I will be back with my husband.

Other cool things to note that I often don't see on dive trips in the middle of nowhere but available here ; en suite hot water and hot drinks (heaven for those of us who wake up early), good internet connection and in my room (when you see where this place is you will understand why i was so impressed with this feature), I don't know how the lovely man at the front desk smiles all the time but seriously i would do anything to take him away to work here (gold star) and they even have a massage facility onsite.

One thing a little bizarre was this is clearly a couples place (i was the only single at the time) and often felt out of place dining as the gorgeous dining area is set up for mostly twos. Even couples I met during my stay there agreed that it may be more fun to pull tables together for a little bit more ambiance?! I dive all over the world (land & sea accomodations) and often go solo but this was the first place i have ever felt out of place on a dive trip...hence the four vs five rating. I would not recommend this to solo travelers if they like me love to mingle.

If you go, remember folks here are PRETTY DARN SERIOUS DIVERS (or so they think so) you will see lots of h u g e cameras. During my stay I do believe I was the only person without a h u g e camera and owning one of these babies does not necessarily mean they know how to operate them! Finally, it was kinda weird (and perhaps dangerous) that groups were not sorted by ntrox vs. air divers and personally I was a little put off as to how pepole with these cameras totally ruled and the guides, well, just kind-of-forgot about those of us who didn't have one... Suggestions: Check out the possibility, logistics & opinion of other guests re group tables and, please make an effort to separate the big camera nitrox divers from the rest of us.

Overall a really good but could- be-excellent-excellent experience and sure it will be when I come back as a couple next year

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTravelGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about your stay at Lembeh Resort, your comments are greatly appreciated.

We are very happy that you found our Reservation process to be efficient, we do not get many very last minute bookings like yours but we understand the importance of a quick answer and good organisation.

We would like to thank you for the comments about all of our staff and will make sure that it is passed on. (Just for your information Helen is the Guest Relations Manager and manages the resort along with Guillermo but does not co-own it). Thank you for your comments about the room, we are looking at improving the lighting in our Garden View Rooms. We are also very happy that you enjoyed the food - we like to give people a good taste of the local cuisine and also make sure that they keep their strength up for diving! We take your comments on board about making group tables for lunch and dinner - we are going to trial group tables and we also feel with the new bar area this helps facilitate guests socialise together away from the dive boat. We are also very happy to make table arrangements however our guests would like.

We are pleased that you found your first experience of 'Muck Diving' to be a good one. We are lucky to have such a great team knowledgeable guides at Critters@Lembeh who are great at finding the small critters and they also make sure that their equipment is very well maintained and serviced. Lembeh Strait is known as the 'Muck Diving Capital of the World' and does tend to attract many serious divers and in particular photographers. Usually Critters@Lembeh do tend to group Nitrox Divers with Nitrox Divers and Air Divers with Air Divers and we apologise that this was not always the case during your stay. We will ensure that this would not happen when you come to visit us again. Our guides are normally very considerate towards our non-photographer guests as well and we are sorry that you felt sometimes you felt you were not the same.

We look forward to having you come to stay with us again and to provide you with a truly excellent, excellent diving holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitung
1.2 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
5.2 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
24.2 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
1.5 mi away
Cocotinos Lembeh, A Boutique Dive Lodge
32.5 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lembeh Resort

Property: Lembeh Resort
Address: North Lembeh, Bitung 95500, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bitung
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lembeh Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique style resort tucked into a quiet cove on Lembeh Island and the resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Our location means that we are only 5-20 minutes away from the majority of the amazing dive sites in the Lembeh Strait - often known as the Muck Diving Capital of the world! All our guest cottages include 24 hour electricity, en-suite bathroom with hot water, air-conditioning, king-size bed or twin beds, wardrobe, table and chair, dispenser for cold as well as hot drinking water, complimentary tea & coffee, mini-bar and electronic safe. Sitting on your verandah, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets nearly every day over the stunning North Sulawesi scenery. At any time of the day you can relax around our fresh water swimming pool and from the afternoon onwards you can visit out Spa where you can relax after a hard day of diving with a nice massage and also run a variety of land based excursions as well.We have 12 full time dive guides on staff, with more than 65,000 combined dives in Lembeh alone. We have very small group ratios, with a maximum of 4 divers to 1 guide. We have a full time Marine Biologist on staff, who assists our guests in identifying all the weird and wonderful critters of Lembeh Strait. We also have the only full time photo/video pro in the Lembeh Strait who teaches a variety of photo and video courses if you are interested in photography. He also has a large collection of rental gear, including point and shoot systems, DSLR systems, and HD video cameras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lembeh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lembeh Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing