We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing return visit - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lembeh Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lembeh Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An amazing return visit - highly recommended”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our 2012 experience of this resort was so good that, after much deliberation over a new dive destination, my husband and I decided to rather return to Lembeh Resort. I did a review in 2012 and though most comments there still apply, there are some additions below.
MANAGEMENT AND EMPLOYEES
Despite slight concerns over changes to both resort and dive centre management, these were quickly dispelled with positive exposure to the new management of Miguel and Ana, Lauren, Sascha and Lilian and still many unchanged faces of other folk such as Dimpy, Julia, Deky, Chris, Helen and Aprilia. Ana and Miguel are a warm and delightful couple who quietly ensure the comfort of all guests and at meals either invite guests to join a larger table where they may also be sitting or intuitively allow guests the privacy of eating alone. Lauren and Sascha from the dive centre also provide pleasant company at meal times and (as do Ana and Miguel who are also knowledgeable and keen divers), often accompany guests on dives - they all very obviously keep their "finger on the pulse". In our opinion, the recommendation that tips are given to the resort and dive teams rather than individuals is also reflective of the great teamwork that exists both in the resort and the dive centre, as well as excellent liaison that exists between the two. The lovely, happy staff ensure quiet efficiency with excellent food and housekeeping, well kept gardens, a great dive experience and ongoing comfort and personal attention provided to guests. We remain in awe as to how they all amazingly remember and constantly greet guests by name.

REVAMP/UPDATED FACILITIES
The resort has been revamped since we were last there, with a great extension to the pool area which makes it a much more inviting place to relax and enjoy the great views (specially sunrise and sunset if one is looking for the romance!) and also offers a little bar with snacks, drinks and hot drinks depending on one's need between or after dives. The dining area has also been opened up which has made a massive difference as it now not only boasts the views but is more interactive. The food is excellent (with a welcome addition of freshly percolated coffee now offered not just at the dive coffee bar) and varied between a la carte and buffet. There are new garden rooms, and our friend stayed in one of these, although we were again in a lovely sea view room (3a) close to the dining area. The areas both inside and outside our sea view room allowed for great and private sunset relaxation. It may be of value to comment that the attached "lounge" in these sea view rooms could be used as another bedroom if shared by a friend or children, as it allows separate access to the indoor and outdoor showers and toilet area. There were some new additions to the sea view room too, such as a minibar. Our friend's comment about the garden view room was that it unfortunately lacked the Indonesian "atmosphere" of our room, but had all the amenities and was still very comfortable and, for a single person, less costly. In addition, the dive centre has been extended and is definitely the most organised dive (and photographic dive) centre we have experienced. The spa has also moved and though we did not choose to enjoy the spa this time, our friend who booked a massage said it was wonderful.
DIVING AND GUIDES
The diving was again superb with incredible dive guides during the week (Iwan on the Mandarin dive and particularly Sandro and Abner who looked after us during the week, went out of their way and amazingly found all the critters we were keen to see).
ECO AWARENESS
We were also impressed to see the eco awareness as well as constant and daily collections of the endless trash that is found in the surrounding waters.

THANKS
Our sincere thanks to all at Lembeh Resort. Top marks again for everything and to everyone involved, including those who ensured our safe welcome and return to Manado airport and those who so efficiently provided the final accounts (a seemingly minor issue but one that can spoil the holiday experience!). It is an experience that, from booking to checking out (even reminding us of the rupiah tax required at the airport and offering to provide this and add to the account) makes this one of our favourite dive and holiday resorts and is definitely on our list for another visit in the future.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give great views, but are quite a walk. We have stayed in 3a and 4a and enjoyed both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about Lembeh Resort, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear that second time around you enjoyed your stay and that you are thinking about coming back to stay for a third time as well. It pleases us immensely that you were happy with the management of resort and dive centre Critters@Lembeh and that you liked to see the familiar faces of so many of our staff. We will pass your review around internally as all our staff enjoys knowing their hard work and dedication is appreciated.
We are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed the updated facilities, we have invested in many areas of the resort and dive centre and its good to know that you liked the new areas even better than before. We will keep your friends suggestions in mind next time we work on the garden view rooms.
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the dives and our dive team and that you notice our efforts to protect the environment in spite of all the challenges.
Again, we are so happy you had such a good experience from the moment we greeted you to the moment we took you back to the airport. We look forward to welcome you back to Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    51
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
281
85
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

You've probably gathered from all the other rave reviews that this is a wonderful resort, and I can confirm it.
The location is stunning, nestled in a bay, surrounded by jungle, with stunning sunset views over the two volcanoes opposite.
The facilities excellent, the whole place kept in excellent order, clean and tidy.
Rooms are very comfortable (we stayed in the slightly more expensive rooms higher up), with aircon, fridge, cold water on demand, safe, desk. Bed v comfortable. Lovely balcony with a great views down over the water. Our room was very quiet and we slept like logs throughout the trip.
The resort has a lovely wooden dining area, with a combination of small tables for couples, or a larger table where the staff eat, and you can join if you fancy more company or to discuss the various amazing things you've seen diving that day. There is a lovely pool, surrounded by comfortable sun chairs and constantly changed towels. There is gentle music in the background and a small bar by the pool. They also have a spa, where we had the hot stone massage, which was wonderful and very good value.
The service is truly exceptional. I can't think of anywhere else I've ever been to around the world (incl. luxury hotels) with better (i.e. sincere, attentive, tireless) service. The staff are outstanding.
They offer several kinds of local trips to nearby villages or the national park. We didn't try these as we were there to relax as much as to dive, but these seemed worth a look.
Which leaves the diving, which of course is exceptional. Like many other reviewers, we were astonished to see everything on our wish list (apart from the elusive bobbit worm - but they look pretty terrifying, so not much missed there!) One of the great advantages of the dive sites is that everything is less than 20mins boat ride away, with most sites taking 2-5mins to get to. There is very little current and not a wave in sight. So doing 3-4 dives per day is a relaxing joy, rather than an exhausting adventure.
The wildlife is stunning beyond your imagination. We saw flamboyant cuttlefish on three occasions (is there any creature more bizarre?), we saw blue ringed octopus several times, the most colourful, strangest shaped nudibranchs, pygmy cuttlefish, pygmy sea horses, a star gazer (terrifying teeth!), plenty of mantis shrimps, and then tiny creature after tiny creature (candy crab, anyone? or how about an 'obscure shrimp', or even minute critters that our guide had never seen before), most so small you really have to look hard to see them. The guides are, as others mention, excellent, not only in finding the minutest, best camouflaged stuff, but in getting the creatures to come out without disturbing them (e.g. the mimic octopus, which took a lot of experienced work to coax out of the sand). The dive crew take care of all your equipment, setting it up, transporting onto the boat etc., which is a joy.
Visibility isn't great, and there is some rubbish on the sea floor, but even this provides an opportunity - we saw an octopus inside a sprite bottle! There are some sites with lovely soft corals, including a fantastic wall.
Prices are not cheap but for what you get I think it's really excellent value for money. We'll be back like a shot when we next get the chance.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Greetings from Lembeh, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the stunning location and views and that you consider the facilities excellent and tidy. We are also happy you liked the rooms, the food and off course the amazing critter dives Lembeh has to offer. Most of all it pleases us immensely to hear you consider our staff outstanding and our service exceptional. We are very fortunate to have such an excellent, friendly and professional team, they definitely help make Lembeh Resort the place that it is, everyone wants to make sure you have the best possible vacation.
Again we are happy that Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh provided you with such a positive diving vacation and we look forward to do it again in your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Does a resort with no not even average rating need another positive one?

Probably not, but resort and dive center are very special because of the fact that they are managed. Actively and professionaly managed. Guest relation, attention etc. are not just buzzwords but part of a philosophy and attitude that makes you feel home and very, very well taken care of from the minute you arrive until the minute you leave.

In between you enjoy your dives guided by superb critter spotters, the dive preparation area is one of the best we ever came across.

Rooms are fine, food is great, nothing else matters.

Thanks to Ana, Miguel and Lauren and all the staff for a wonderful week - you are setting benchmarks in your business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear you consider both resort and dive centre to be well managed. We are extremely pleased to know that you felt at home and enjoyed the rooms and the food.
We recently invested in the new dive centre preparation area and its good to hear you appreciated that. And, off course we are happy you enjoy the diving and our amazing critter spotters.
We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards from Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat Light, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just finished a one week stay at Lembeh Resort and couldn't be happier with our choice. Both the resort and the dive operation met all of our expectations with personalized attention to anything we needed. Everyone there was extremely friendly and helpful, and we especially enjoyed having meals with Ana and Miguel who manage the resort and Lauren and Sasha who run the dive operation. Getting to know them was an added personal touch which made us feel very comfortable at the resort. If you enjoy muck diving and want to go to Lembeh, I highly recommend Lembeh Resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny C, Owner at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your nice review. Ana, (& Miguel) are on holiday now in Raja Ampat so I'm filling in for Ana. It's gratifying to know all our managers enjoy what they do and do it well. This too is reflected in how our staff take pride in looking after details of each guest.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Lembeh Resort. It had just been renovated, and everything was so beautiful! The rooms are spacious and have great views. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower is enclosed and private with an open roof. The food was delicious and nicely presented and there was plenty of choice and variety.We lucked out with great weather, and the muck diving is by far the best I've ever seen. Our guide could find critters that I could barely see! The visibility, as with any muck diving, is usually limited, but that was not a problem. I saw more weird, rare creatures than I expected to. If you give your guide a "wish list" of what you hope to see, it will be taken very seriously! The dive sites are not far from the resort, so you get to return to the resort between dives.The dive center is organized and efficient. The dive center takes care of your gear and you don't have to carry it anywhere.This place is a photographer's dream, and the camera room was clean and spacious and well organized.
Everyone here was friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed meeting and sharing meals with Ana and Miguel (the managers). Their hospitality and professionalism really makes this place stand out from others. It was my birthday on the day we left, and they surprised me with a birthday cake the staff sang Happy Birthday. I have great memories of our stay here and I'd recommend it to divers. If you love underwater photography too... you'll hate to leave! One more thing- buy the BluRay from the dive shop. (One Strait Year). It's excellent!
Sherrie and Gord Lewis
Calgary Alberta Canada

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review about your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to know you had such a great experience. We are happy you enjoyed the facilities, the food and off course the diving with Critters@Lembeh.
We are glad you enjoy the management company as much as we enjoy spending time with guests, sharing experiences. Most of all we are happy to hear you have great memories from your stay and specially from your birthday, its always a pleasure for the staff to be part of a special day and as you probably noticed everyone here does enjoy singing. We look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards from the entire team at Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Me and my wife stayed for a week in the resort and we enjoyed every bit of it. As PADI Pro's that have been diving in over 40 different countries, we have quite a bit of experience in comparing dive resorts, and Lembeh resort ranks in our top 3 so far!!
The facilities of the resort are great, as well as the location in the middle of the best dive sites in the area. Food is the best quality we have had in Indonesia, bothg the western style as well as the local style dishes. The Critters dive center is top!! Well organised, good facilities, great service and fantastic dive guides (Thanks Andris!!) and boatsmen (Thanks Ferry!!)
Apart from all the great facilties at the resort and divecenter, it is above all the people that make this resort such a great place!! They understand what customers needs and potential problems are already solved before they appear. They really work as a team to make sure that the guests are happy in all aspects of their stay and they succeed in that with a big smile!! (Thanks Helen!!).
Having stayed in several other resorts at the Lembeh Strait, I can very much recommend this resort as it is in my experience, by far, the best resort on the Lembeh Strait that will not only meet, but exceed their guests expectations!!
Marcel and Marielle

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you very much for writing this review. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a good experience with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the facilities, the food and off course the dive centre Critters@Lembeh.
We agree that more than anything it is our great team that makes us special. We will share your review with the staff as they enjoy knowing that their dedication is appreciated. Thank you for recommending us, its a pleasure to hear you consider us the best in Lembeh Strait. We look forward to welcome you both back. Kind regards from everyone at Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed at Lembeh Resort for a week in March and was extremely impressed with the resort and its associated dive centre, Critters@Lembeh. The diving is excellent, obviously focussed on the speciality of the Lembeh Strait - diving for strange benthic animals on a variety of unglamorous environments - sand, rubble, seagrass and patch reef. While this doesn't offer the straightforward beauty of a blue-water coral reef, a day at Lembeh will yield more small animal encounters than a week of trad coral reef diving. The dive centre helps you explore this complex little world with minimum effort and maximum comfort, with comfortable boats that are ideally suited to the task and guides who will help you pinpoint elusive critters such as the mimic octopus and the flambuoyant cuttlefish. Between dives you return to the resort, which is no bad thing as it is a treat for the senses. The rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished in local wood; everything is in great condition and works and the food is of a very high quality. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, always willing to lend a helping hand and the management are extremely hospitable. The guests walk around the place smiling blissfully at each other in the knowledge they booked the right place. The dive centre is run by a separate company, but you'd never really know because they work together so well. I was impressed by the well organised locker ststem and the dedicated photo centre. They have pro-quality charging stations and an on-site photo-pro equipped with a laser printer who can create lens gears and dioptres on demand. Photography isn't easy in this black sand environment, so I would advise any newbie photographers (or Lembeh first-timers) to take a few lessons with Sascha the on-site photo guru. Criticisms? The guests are so well looked after I really find it hard to come up with anything relevant other than very minor quibbles that would look ridiculous here. The setting is gorgeous, the diving is world class, the food is delicious and the staff are of the highest quality. That's really all you need to know.

Room Tip: The rooms are built onto a hillside and some are quite high up. You should stipulate if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simondouglasrogerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny C, Owner at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Wow, thank you so much for your glowing review. If we keep getting reviews such as yours we may become complacent! All reviews are passed around internally as our staff enjoys knowing their hard work and dedication is appreciated. Perhaps this review will be framed!
Thank you again and we hope your next visit again exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitung
5.2 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
1.6 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
1.5 mi away
Cocotinos Lembeh, A Boutique Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
32.5 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
164 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tangkoko Ranger Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lembeh Resort

Property: Lembeh Resort
Address: North Lembeh, Bitung 95500, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
#1 Spa Hotel in Bitung
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lembeh Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique style resort tucked into a quiet cove on Lembeh Island and the resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Our location means that we are only 5-20 minutes away from the majority of the amazing dive sites in the Lembeh Strait - often known as the Muck Diving Capital of the world! All our guest cottages include 24 hour electricity, en-suite bathroom with hot water, air-conditioning, king-size bed or twin beds, wardrobe, table and chair, dispenser for cold as well as hot drinking water, complimentary tea & coffee, mini-bar and electronic safe. Sitting on your verandah, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets nearly every day over the stunning North Sulawesi scenery. At any time of the day you can relax around our fresh water swimming pool and from the afternoon onwards you can visit out Spa where you can relax after a hard day of diving with a nice massage and also run a variety of land based excursions as well.We have 12 full time dive guides on staff, with more than 65,000 combined dives in Lembeh alone. We have very small group ratios, with a maximum of 4 divers to 1 guide. We have a full time Marine Biologist on staff, who assists our guests in identifying all the weird and wonderful critters of Lembeh Strait. We also have the only full time photo/video pro in the Lembeh Strait who teaches a variety of photo and video courses if you are interested in photography. He also has a large collection of rental gear, including point and shoot systems, DSLR systems, and HD video cameras. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lembeh Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing