We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but impressive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandovan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laleh Kandovan International Rocky Hotel
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The setting for this hotel is singular enough: yards round the corner from the extraordinary, though now slightly tourist-oriented, troglodite village of Kandovan. Taking a cue from the village there has been an extraordinary project to dig into the rocky cliff to make guest accommodation and provide all the facilities of a modern hotel. One consequence is that we found we had to ascend 150 stone steps to reach our room, then descend half of these to cross a terrace to ascend as many again to reach the restaurant: and back again afterwards. The porters carrying bags up and down and providing room service earned our respect. The interior walls are done out in mortar, so there is no contact with the rock inside: the furnishing was comfortable and pleasant, and the rooms had windows, underfloor heating, wifi, telephone and running water - and a kettle to make tea. There was an improvised and unfinished air to some of the facilities, and some works seemed to be ongoing. We were told that some rooms had a slightly damp smell, but ours was fine. First impressions were of a rather tacky establishment: the reception is in a portakabin in the carpark at the base of the cliff, and the rails along the edge of the rocky terraces were of painted cement shaped to look like a loose web of tree branches. However, we were comfortable there, we had a lovely view, the food was good, coffee was obtainable, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the taxi they arranged for our 3am trip to the airport did the job.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulietB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in suite it was enough room for 5 person good room we really get exited when we see the room in that place we do not expected to see that much luxury in the middle of those caves breakfast was very good they build that in the caves and good food for lunch and dinner .in the village we bought so many things which was made by the people in village.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabnamTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel is a unique , special experience . We had an imperial suite that had to climb almost 160 stairs to get to our room which was interesting but not suitable for people with bad knee or are old .
Our room had the capacity of 5 to 8 people with three rooms and just ONE bathroom !!!!!! That was the only problem with the room . The staffs were really nice and helpful .

Room Tip: Big rooms with high capacity have just one bathroom !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nimlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed 1 night in this hotel to experience, how it is to live in the mountain. It was early spring March, 2013.
The room was very spacious. They have in-floor heat, it was warm. In fact it was too warm, that we had to keep the window open through the night.
We had jacuzzi in our suite, however we did not use it.
Very high climb to get to the rooms, so may not be appropriate for elderly.
Restaurant was fine. Some of the foods were not so good, some were excellent.
The breakfast was plenty, typical Iranian style.
Staff was friendly. Room service for restaurant was available and fast enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, some are higher up the mountain, some lower, however there are no rooms at g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ievuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

There are probably few hotels in the world that are comparable to this. The hotels consists of few little hills, that contain each a hotel room! The rooms are well equipped, we had a jacouzzi in the room! the restaurant is very good. If you are in the area of Tabriz, you have to go there

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raphael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

in the Iranian countryside. Hewn out of a rockface this hotel offers comfortable upmarket accommodation in an idyllic setting. The restaurant is good & the view from our bedroom window across to the opposite hillside was fascinating. Our room was 110. Unfortunately we needed to keep our windows closed as the local dogs howled all night but aircon was sufficient.

Room Tip: Depends how good you are at climbing up steepish stairs - top must have really good views but halfwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I was surprised when came in to my suit. this hotel is amazing when you think about all rooms Carved by hand. the rooms are cold at middle of summer naturally. The restaurant of hotel has very delicious "Kebab" and the natural of Kandovan country is beautiful. the price of hotel is very good.
I think this hotel shall be very romantic in the winter too. I will test it very soon and will announce it :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahil63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Laleh Kandovan International Rocky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laleh Kandovan International Rocky Hotel

Address: off Tabriz-Urmia Road, Kandovan, Iran
Region: Iran > East Azerbaijan Province > Kandovan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kandovan
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing