We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, with excellent service. Very quiet for a relaxing holiday.”
Review of Villa Cefala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Cefala
Ranked #2 of 7 Santa Flavia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great place, with excellent service. Very quiet for a relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

A very nice place close to Palermo. Very good service (grazie Daniela!) with a superb breakfast. The villa has massive grounds with lemon, orange and olive trees. Recommended walk beyond the tunnel!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalenaMLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    42
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
57
51
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel and have to agree with another reviewer who said that there didnt seem to be anyone from the hotel around. It is an old working farm with olive groves, lemon trees, honey, etc. The room that we stayed in was nice but something wasnt right. You walk into the first floor and there is a kitchen and small lviing room. Upstairs is the bedroom. It was clean. The thing that probably me uneasy was the couch. You remember how you threw an old blanket over a crusty couch in college to hide the stains. Well the couch had the same blanket. It wasnt an old couch. Maybe it is an Italian thing. Nonetheless, the room just didnt have a warm feeling to it. So would i recommend this place? Probably not. However.....the first night we ventured out and ate a place that was recommended on Trip Advisor. It was ok. The second night it was raining so we decided to stay in and at the hotel resturant. We didnt expect much. There was only one other couple there. Let me stay this: we were blown away. The lobster pasta unbelievable, the gigantic prawns pasta heavelnly, the lamb outrageous, the home made wine could be sold for $150 in the US. The brought a dish of cheeze and honey Now I am not a huge honey fan but a ate the whole thing like it was a soup. I just couldnt believe honey could taste that good. The dessert was a Cassada. Now my wife and mother in law are self claim dessert experts. It is very hard to fool them. They could not stop raving about the Cassada. It was a baked Cassada and we learned that the waiter made it himself that afternoon (of course he did, we heard from the other waiter, his mom is a pastry chef.)

We found out that the head chef brother's has a famous place in town called La Muciara, but it is temporarily closed due to a labor issue. So the owner of La Muciara, Nello el Greco, hangs out here and brings his clientele to his brother's place.

When we finished the meal, we asked for a glass of port. They didnt have it but they did have Malvasia, that they made themselves. Never had it before. I am a big fan now.

Was it good? It turns out to be the best meal we had in Italy and we had some great ones. I told the chef I want to come back next year and intern in his kitchen. The hotel is ok. But the food is heavenly, heavenly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil_from_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We started our travel in Villa Cefala and this was good start with beautiful surroundings and good staff (value in Sicily). They were able to prepare food out of the restaurant hours, which is not common on the island and valuable when you travel with a small child. Food was excellent there. Great think was also swimming in the pool before breakfast (a bit cold for 2-year daughter, though)
Only backward of this place is the location. It is far from any decent sea access. We ended up travelling to Cefalu to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mima0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

The lemon trees were loaded with fruit during our visit. we walked the grounds and drank in the smell of the lemon blossoms. The rooms were clean and authentic. The 4-course fixed-price meal was delicious and so were the breakfasts.
The only complaint we had is that it seemed difficult to find anyone who worked there. The office seemed to be empty much of the time and we needed help figuring out the train schedule to Palermo.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

We spent the first night of our Sicily holidays at Villa Cefalà. We were impressed by the excellent 4 course dinner (very reasonably priced) and the room, and even more by the hospitality that we encountered. An employee of the Villa showed us the plantation from A to Z, driving us around on the estate. Quite different from other (more commercial) lemon and orange producers, trees are not aligned like army soldiers, but left in (healthy) wilderness, and you may discover very rare and old citrus trees, figue trees, beans (fave) etc. We liked the place so much that we went back for our last pranzo before leaving the island.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernhardZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2008

magnificent place and service,delicious cooking and staff really competent ... one of the best place that I've ever visited!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jamiro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2008

I just returned home from Villa Cefala and can not wait until I return. The beautiful rustic setting and incredibly gracious staff was the hilight of our stay in Italy. If you are looking for an authentic Sicilian experience, this is the place to visit. This renovated farm is truly enchanted.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Newyorktraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Flavia
0.8 mi away
Domina Zagarella Sicily
Domina Zagarella Sicily
#1 of 5 in Santa Flavia
1,386 reviews
10.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
7.9 mi away
Hotel Tonnara Trabia
Hotel Tonnara Trabia
#1 of 2 in Trabia
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Splendid Hotel La Torre
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
425 reviews
26.3 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
0.2 mi away
B&B Case Giannone
B&B Case Giannone
#1 of 7 in Santa Flavia
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cefala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cefala

Property: Villa Cefala
Address: Via S.S. 113, 48, 90017 Santa Flavia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Santa Flavia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Flavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cefala 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Cefala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cefala Santa Flavia, Sicily - Province Of Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing