We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bocas Town, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Spectacular time!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Thank you Philip, Sarah, and Alana! My girlfriend and I stayed at Buena Onda and loved every minute! The staff was very attentive, the rooms clean and comfortable, the swimming pool amazing, the surf pumping and the Tonas really cold..I really would not waste any time or money anywhere else. Philip and Sarah have created an oasis on the beach and they have the right attitude to please everyone. I traveled through Central America this summer and never as comfortable I did at Buena Onda..The food was delicious every meal and I cannot wait to return and have some meals out of the new brick pizza oven. Every night there were food specials that were incredible. I went fishing with Philip a few days and we caught Dorado, Sails, and Yellowfin Tuna. We are returning back next year!

Room Tip: Go to cold beer lady before fishing! And have one before 7am if you are really fishing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfrogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    39
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
121
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I spent a week with Buena Onda and I am happy to share an awesome review! I've been to a bunch of surf/beach resorts in Central America and Buena Onda is amazing! The staff was the best part of the resort. They are like family with the owners and you can see it is a happy place to work. The rooms are beautiful and relaxing. Did I mention that the landscaping is amazing. Everwhere you look there are palms, pineapple, bananas and various tropical beauties popping with color.
The surfing is world class and the beach is steps from the resort. Let this review tell it: THE BEACH IS SUPER CLOSE!!! Don't forget the awesome pool, which is as well kept as any pool I've evern seen! Daily cleaning and adjustmnts to make the pool just perfect!
By the end of my stay I felt like I was a part of something. A part of a family made up of owners, staff, guests and friends. I will be back to Buean Onda and I will be spreading the word that there is a place so special to surfers and travlers alike. Never once was I not fully taken care of by the staff and owners.
I was fed so well and dropped into amazing waves on breathtaking beaches. Maximum Respect to Buena Onda and staff!!!!

Room Tip: Group trip= Get a Don Pedro house. It was a home away from home with beautiful design, modern look w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

me and my boyfriend and a friend stayed here. we came back twice as we really enjoyed it, The rooms were lovely with a variety of private or shared ones and reasonable prices. The restaurant was good, there was a great pool and it was very social. Great location near a big variety of beaches and surf breaks with one right outside the hotel.
The owners were helpful and friendly and lead trips either fishing or on the boat to other surf spots. The owners local knowledge of the area and conditions for surfing and fishing was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaMurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days. We should not have left. Phillip and Sarah are wonderful. There staff is the greatest and looked after all our needs The food is fabulous. The grounds are beautiful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theoldman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

this place was pretty average. it's isolated and seemed deserted but with the lack of shade it wasn't surprising. the rooms are simple but have absolutely no air flow or ventilation and it was pretty much impossible to sleep after the sun came up because the wall made of glass blocks made it so hot in the room. there's a nice shaded restaurant area and a small pool. it's super close to a rocky beach but the waves weren't working properly while we were there so we can't comment on the surf. we left after one night and headed back up north.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephhatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buena0nda, Propietario at Buena Onda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you could not entirely enjoy your stay with us. We upgraded you for free in a larger and breezier room. To our defense, April IS the hottest month of the year here and it tends to get hot with little wind blowing at times. We have plenty of rooms with A/C so it might have been an option to get one of those instead. We apologize if this option was not offered to you.

Now the good news: We just completed a major landscaping project with four brand new, large palm thatched, shaded areas and tons of lounging chairs, palm trees and 650 plants! If you decide to come back, we are sure you will find everything to your liking. Kind regards from Playa Santana, Philip & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed at Buena Onda over the Christmas/New years period 2010/11. The surfing at Buena Onda even though it was not peak season was some of the most memorable waves I have ever ridden. The couple of boat trips Phillip and Dennis took me on where epic. Just sitting in the ocean looking back at the jungle listening to the birds, monkeys is something that needs to be experienced. It also helped that it was a solid 5ft swell. Make sure you are surf fit as you will experience muscle fatigue, cramps and wake up the following morning not being able to move…well until you stroll from your bunk to the restaurant to grab a coffee and you hear the sounds of swell hitting Playa Santana , all muscle aches and pains disappear and you are quickly back in the surf. The best piece of advice I can give you is hit the hot springs after a boat trip… relaxing in the springs with an ice cold beer telling war story’s of the mornings surf session. Another important piece of advice is to make sure you pack a leg rope for boat trips, trust me it is a long swim from Lance’s Lefts lineup to the shore especially when the sets start rolling in. The food at Buena Onda is so fresh, perfectly portioned and more importantly very delicious. Make sure to get Phil to whip up some cerviche or some open flame tenderloins. Buena Onda also was a great place to meet travellers and make friends from all over the globe.
I definitely left Buena Onda with a heavy heart, it was like I was moving out of home for the first time and was saying goodbye to my family. Phillip, Sarah and Dennis are the ideal hosts for this type of accommodation. They went above and beyond to assist Me and my partner and provide us with an amazing experience. They have definately become friends for life and I have already booked my next stay at Buena Onda in December
oh yeah Phillip...i need a room Pronto...Make it a Mini Room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PjCrandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We loved this place! The food was great, the pool is amazing, the service is outstanding, the rooms and buildings are innovative and exceptional. Playa Santana is surely the most consistnetly great place to surf anywhere in Nicaragua, and Buena Onda is just the place to stay while you are there.

For best results, stay a full week and get all that fresh delicious food (and seafood) into the engine ready for another heavy day of surfing! The owners here are long time surf and skate enthusiasts, do not kid yourself into thinking that they don't get out there - they are always out in the surf, every single day. And who wouldn't if this was the place you called home?

Although the food is a little on the pricey side for what you can get at locally run places in town and a few down the beach, none of the others prepare food of this quality - plus you get free wireless internet, great uniquely designed lounge to hang out in and use of their pristine pool! Don't cheat yourself, this is the number one surf resort in this area, a must visit.

Room Tip: Get a group of friends to book a whole beach shack
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoundTheBendProject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
15.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
6.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
590 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
374 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
39 reviews
5.6 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Beach Resort

Property: Buena Onda Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santana, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seaside hideaway is just a stones throw from one of Nicaragua's finest beaches, Playa Santana - where our nearest neighbors are grazing cows and howling monkeys. We have superb, consistently breaking, barreling surf right out front. Sunshine, tropical warmth, warm water and off-shore breezes 300+ days a year, comfortable (and affordable!) Accommodation, and most of all, BUENA ONDA (good vibrations) morning, noon and night. Your Swiss hosts, Philip and Sarah, will make sure that you spend your well-deserved holiday hassle free, in style and that you are well looked after during your stay. Come and explore - we'd love to share our little piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Buena Onda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Beach Hotel Tola
Buena Onda Beach Resort Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing