We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent two very relaxing weeks at Buena Onda in September. Though we came here for the surfing, BO offered much more. I'll describe pros for non-surfers.

-The staff are friendly without ever being intrusive. Connie, Paul, Philip and Sarah, the ladies in the kitchen, everyone was wonderful. They offered us great suggestions on things to do and immediately addressed concerns.
-The food! Fresh and light. The salad with their secret sauce is amazing. Pancakes with fruit for breakfast, fresh seafood plates for lunch, varied dinners: they had a special barbecue one night for all the guests, family style, pizzas and other specialities every night. There are also places to eat nearby--Magnifico Rock is a short walk along the beach as are other places.
-The hammocks! Great to laze in and read to the sound of waves.
-The villa we stayed in was very nicely done up and comfortable. AC if you need it, nice bathrooms, lovely terrace upstairs.
-They will organize taxis for you to go visiting places if you are so inclined.

Good food, nice digs, good company and good waves--what's not to like :) I hope we'll get to go back!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NewYorkTravelbug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here 11/1 - 11/17/2013 while on Vacation with wife and inlaws. We all stayed in one of the villas which offered plenty of space (privacy). The onsite restaurant was great and staff was very freindly. Solid surf for all 7 days. Connie (manager) made reservations for us on the Ferry to Ometepe and a dinner at Rancho Santana. Paul shared information on key spots to surf. The pool was well kept and refreshing. Definitely a must stay for anyone traveling to Nicaragua.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are private and provide 2 seperate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heckmanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Buena Onda in August. The food was good, the pool was nice and the people were friendly. It is only a short walk on the beach to other places to eat and drink. Various options for accommodations (private/shared, AC/no AC etc). If you stay in a room with AC and a fridge and want to have some of your own food, shop before you head to Buena Onda because there isn't really much around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Buena Onda. The hotel and communal areas are gorgeous and are set just slightly back from the beach so that you are sheltered from the sea breeze but you can still hear the waves crashing on the shore. The staff are incredibly friendly (especially Connie) and are very professional. The restaurant provides fantastic food and when we looked at the menu for other places along the beach they are also the cheapest - so don't both eating anywhere else. The main attraction is the surf (consistent off shore winds), but we didn't surf and still managed to entertain ourselves for 4 days here. So the sign that they have hanging behind the bar which says "Welcome to Paradise" - they are telling the truth!

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe room which had our own bathroom, a fan and ac. It had a double and single b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Traveled with 5 longtime surfing buddies to Buena Onda for 10 days in July. We stayed in one of the Villa's "Casa Don Pedro" which was perfect for our size of group. I can't say enough good things about this place. Location is excellent for surfing, hiking, exploring, etc. Food was great with specials every night. Service was great, Connie and Paul handled everything for us which made our travel to and from a breeze. Paul who is in charge of the surf tours is super knowledgeable on the surrounding surf, tides, and conditions and very respectful of not overcrowding the surf line ups. The staff is very super friendly and it was great to see a business that puts so much into it's staff and back into the local community! Bravo Sarah and Phillip... We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had a great time here. Rooms and grounds are sublime. Hammocks and the nice pool are very comfortable. Food is great, my girlfriend is a vegitarian and every night the dinner special was adjusted for her needs. We never had a similar experience. If surf is up be ready, beachie holds great shape on all tides. All in all really good experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Even though the road to Buena Onda from Tola is gradually being paved, it's still quite a hike! Having said that when you arrive you will enjoy excellent accommodation with a range of prices to suit most pockets. There is also a great restaurant on site that serves up a good breakfast and a tatsy range of meals.The beach is just a stone's throw away and the surf is superb, which is why so many people make the journey!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickStClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
2.9 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
40 reviews
15.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
6.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
385 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
5.6 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#2 of 3 in Tola
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Beach Resort

Address: Playa Santana, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range: £67 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seaside hideaway is just a stones throw from one of Nicaragua's finest beaches, Playa Santana - where our nearest neighbors are grazing cows and howling monkeys. We have superb, consistently breaking, barreling surf right out front. Sunshine, tropical warmth, warm water and off-shore breezes 300+ days a year, comfortable (and affordable!) Accommodation, and most of all, BUENA ONDA (good vibrations) morning, noon and night. Your Swiss hosts, Philip and Sarah, will make sure that you spend your well-deserved holiday hassle free, in style and that you are well looked after during your stay. Come and explore - we'd love to share our little piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buena Onda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Beach Hotel Tola
Buena Onda Beach Resort Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing