We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in Buena Onda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay in Buena Onda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I spent 10 days in July/August 2012 with my wife and son in this hotel and we had fantastic surf vacations ! We rented a very clean bungalow with A/C. We enjoyed very much the quiet place, uncrowded beaches, the nature and the surf spots at walking distance. We surfed au least 4 hours every day and had very good conditions. The staff is very friendly and helpfull and Philip helped us to organize 2 or 3 surfing trips and he also joined us. We also met new friends there from UK, US and Canada. We can really recommend this place and the location.

Room Tip: Take room qith A/C as it can get hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    39
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
119
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The staff, location, atmosphere and food make this one of our regular stops on the pacific coast of nicaragua - need I say more?! The villas are amazing for a group with a nice kitchen and modern feel. The standard rooms are less private but a great value. Nice to have a car if you want to explore as there are few buses and taxis in the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sandj1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I just ran across Buena Onda site while planning another trip and had to shoot a quick review, because this place deserves it. I was there for a surf trip last Christmas - New Years with my wife and 14 year old daughter. I have been traveling in Central America (Nica, CR and Panama) for over 20 years, and this place is a good as it gets. Sarah and Philip are super cool, considerate hosts. The grounds of the place are gorgeous, like you would expect if you were paying 3 times as much. We rented one of there villas (very nice), but I totally would have been just as happy staying in one of their basic rooms. The grounds and pool are so nice, it wouldn't matter. One of the coolest things about it is they have the plush villas all the way down to hostel style dorm bunks for a few dollars per night, which means you get a good mix of travelers to kick it with by the pool in between surf sessions....which makes it for me. If I was to complain about anything, I would say to the surfers that the surf out front isnt an epic spot (Playa Santana is pretty much a punchy close-out beach break) and Popoyo, which is an easy, beautiful walk down the beach, while being one of the most beautiful, cartoon perfect waves in the world...is freekin' packed with agro bodies in all but the most off-seaon times of the year. But I say who cares...the place is so killer its worth it. Go drop in on a Brazo and smile (I did). There are good waves to travel to (with the BO staff) like Lances Left, Rosada, Colorados, etc. Anyway, I got to give this place nothing but high marks. Great value, a paradise for seasoned travelers. - Andy C (Wendy and Ana)

Room Tip: ...its more about choosing a good hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent two very relaxing weeks at Buena Onda in September. Though we came here for the surfing, BO offered much more. I'll describe pros for non-surfers.

-The staff are friendly without ever being intrusive. Connie, Paul, Philip and Sarah, the ladies in the kitchen, everyone was wonderful. They offered us great suggestions on things to do and immediately addressed concerns.
-The food! Fresh and light. The salad with their secret sauce is amazing. Pancakes with fruit for breakfast, fresh seafood plates for lunch, varied dinners: they had a special barbecue one night for all the guests, family style, pizzas and other specialities every night. There are also places to eat nearby--Magnifico Rock is a short walk along the beach as are other places.
-The hammocks! Great to laze in and read to the sound of waves.
-The villa we stayed in was very nicely done up and comfortable. AC if you need it, nice bathrooms, lovely terrace upstairs.
-They will organize taxis for you to go visiting places if you are so inclined.

Good food, nice digs, good company and good waves--what's not to like :) I hope we'll get to go back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTravelbug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here 11/1 - 11/17/2013 while on Vacation with wife and inlaws. We all stayed in one of the villas which offered plenty of space (privacy). The onsite restaurant was great and staff was very freindly. Solid surf for all 7 days. Connie (manager) made reservations for us on the Ferry to Ometepe and a dinner at Rancho Santana. Paul shared information on key spots to surf. The pool was well kept and refreshing. Definitely a must stay for anyone traveling to Nicaragua.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are private and provide 2 seperate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heckmanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Buena Onda in August. The food was good, the pool was nice and the people were friendly. It is only a short walk on the beach to other places to eat and drink. Various options for accommodations (private/shared, AC/no AC etc). If you stay in a room with AC and a fridge and want to have some of your own food, shop before you head to Buena Onda because there isn't really much around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Buena Onda. The hotel and communal areas are gorgeous and are set just slightly back from the beach so that you are sheltered from the sea breeze but you can still hear the waves crashing on the shore. The staff are incredibly friendly (especially Connie) and are very professional. The restaurant provides fantastic food and when we looked at the menu for other places along the beach they are also the cheapest - so don't both eating anywhere else. The main attraction is the surf (consistent off shore winds), but we didn't surf and still managed to entertain ourselves for 4 days here. So the sign that they have hanging behind the bar which says "Welcome to Paradise" - they are telling the truth!

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe room which had our own bathroom, a fan and ac. It had a double and single b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
15.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.9 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
20.1 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
21.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Beach Resort

Property: Buena Onda Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santana, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seaside hideaway is just a stones throw from one of Nicaragua's finest beaches, Playa Santana - where our nearest neighbors are grazing cows and howling monkeys. We have superb, consistently breaking, barreling surf right out front. Sunshine, tropical warmth, warm water and off-shore breezes 300+ days a year, comfortable (and affordable!) Accommodation, and most of all, BUENA ONDA (good vibrations) morning, noon and night. Your Swiss hosts, Philip and Sarah, will make sure that you spend your well-deserved holiday hassle free, in style and that you are well looked after during your stay. Come and explore - we'd love to share our little piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buena Onda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Beach Hotel Tola
Buena Onda Beach Resort Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing