We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wanted to move in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We wanted to move in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing four night stay in villa Don Pedro. The villa was gorgeous, spacious, cool and clean. Great cooking facilities, flat screen TV and huge balcony. The perfect place for a family or couple (as in our case). The restaurant was lovely and we had the 'specials' on two evenings which were delicious but we were also grateful that we had the taxi driver (arranged by Jenny and Brandon) stop at a supermarket so that we could eat in for some meals. The pool was a plus because it was incredibly hot but my highlight was the horse riding, again arranged by Jenny, with Fabio, a local cowboy who let us gallop his perfectly behaved horses around the beaches and salt flats. Located within 10 minutes walk of several class surfing spots, I didn't see too much of my boyfriend! It is managed by a lovely couple who seemed to know everyone's names and made us feel really welcome. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgieJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    39
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
119
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very good set up including a great pool, sun loungers, hammocks, restaurant, mini ramp etc...almost perfect.

Could have better breakfast options and coffee. Also, they were filming a promo video whilst we were there and trying to get everyone involved which is understandable but a little annoying if you're just trying to chill out rather than feeling obligated to participate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in the villa with 6 friends for 8 nights. The owners and managers are all great people. The food was good, the rooms were clean, the waves were consistent, and it was all insanely cheap. Perfect location to get high tide waves as Santana, low tide waves at Popoyo, happy hour at Rancho Santana, and whatever you want at Mag Rock. For those in a rush or just lazy having a car is a plus as there can be some hot midday walks. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpjsandford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived late at night to Managua and stayed in a hotel close to the airport out first night. We scheduled a ride with Buena Onda to pick us up from our hotel in Managua at 8am the next morning. Alec was on time, funny, and so polite - great first experience right there! he took us to Pali! to grab groceries for the 8 days we would be at Buena Onda. He waited outside by the truck with our bags and surfboards!

My first thought when pulling up was "oh my gosh it really does exist!!" We planned or trip months in advance and just kept looking through the pictures.. day dreaming at work another words. Brenden and Jenny met us with a welcome beer and told us how everything works on the resort and told us the surf is real good if we wanted to just chat about it later and go ahead in the water. Awesome people!

It was 4 of us (2 couples) and we stayed in Casa Don Ernesto Villa! It's perfect. It had everything we needed from cookware, coffee, creamer, sugar, silverware, dishes, towels, linens... everything! No complaints from our group.

They were also willing to set up any activities and rides we needed. From horse back riding, to massages, to surf trips... anything you want - the crew at Buena Onda will do their absolute best to get you the best! I highly highly recommend this place!! it was completely safe, honest and couldn't of felt more like a home away from home in Nicaragua.

Thank you Jenny and Brenden!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

overall pretty awesome place. NIce and spread out, a pool, a few other guest and nice waves all around. Was recomended this place by my teacher and co worker, each said it was fair and nice. Exactly what I got. Good people running and working here, cant beat the prices for the dorms.definitly recomend this place!!!

Room Tip: dorms were soooo hot at night. I slept outside instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Haven, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at Buena Onda over Semana Santa (Eater week) in April, 2013 with my family –my wife, her Aunt and our 3 young children ages 4 to 9. It was one of the greatest trips we’ve taken. Here are some details:
Our flight landed in Managua in the evening, so we stayed at the Best Western directly across the street from the airport – clean and comfortable. Philip arranged transport from Managua to Buena Onda the next morning. We could tell right away this was a unique and special trip. The friendliness of the Nicaraguan people, the rough and tumble drive to Buena Onda, even stopping for groceries on the way was especially interesting and really fun.

Philip and Sarah welcomed us with open arms and we immediately felt the warmth of Buena Onda. We rented one of the 2 bedroom villas. There was plenty of room, it was clean, welcoming and had amazing views from the second floor deck. Right across from the house is the restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. The food is great and there was never an issue finding something delicious for the parents or the kids. We ate most of our meals there – the daily specials were a hit every time. There is also a small breakfast and lunch place on the beach where you can have eggs while overlooking paradise. Rancho Santana with a full restaurant and bar is a walk down the beach.

The beach is sensational – rugged, natural, beautiful with of course tremendous surf. The surf can get pretty rough, but there the break is usually further out so there is room to wade out into the shallow whitewater before you get to the big waves. We had to keep a very close eye on the kids, but that would be true no matter what ocean beach you are visiting. There were very few people on the beach as everyone is in the water surfing.

We were in the minority traveling to Buena Onda with children, but it was never an issue. The kids were welcomed and had the time of their lives. Our boys spent a good part of everyday skateboarding on the halfpipe, watching the surfers, collecting shells and swimming in the pool. Philip and Paul took us out fishing one day and when we came back they prepared our catch. My oldest says it is ‘the best meal of his life’. Our little girl made fast friends with Philip and Sarah’s daughter. They were able to meet locals and see a life that is far different than what they know or have seen in their travels.

Since the resort is small and a bit off the beaten track, it attracts ‘travelers’ as opposed to ‘tourists’. That along with how Philip, Sarah, Connie, Paul and the staff manage the resort gives the place this really cool sense of community that you only see at truly special places.
We take a big trip every spring and this year we are going BACK to Buena Onda. This is the first time we’ve ever gone to same pace twice – Buena Onda is worth it!

Room Tip: Families should defintiely rent a villa; stop for groceries on the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kstraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The pricing, service & location can't be beat. It's a great beautiful and relatively private beach with great amenities inside the compound (clean pool, plenty of chairs, shade & sun). I wish we would've known just how remote it was so that we would've brought more food (and beer) with us. However, the pricing at the on-site restaurant, and how they just add up your tab throughout your stay, made eating and drinking very easy. We didn't have to worry about a thing at Buena Onda. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you're ok without AC (which, in Feb & Mar, we were fine), the standard rooms are just fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sguid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
15.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.9 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
20.1 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
21.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Beach Resort

Property: Buena Onda Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santana, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seaside hideaway is just a stones throw from one of Nicaragua's finest beaches, Playa Santana - where our nearest neighbors are grazing cows and howling monkeys. We have superb, consistently breaking, barreling surf right out front. Sunshine, tropical warmth, warm water and off-shore breezes 300+ days a year, comfortable (and affordable!) Accommodation, and most of all, BUENA ONDA (good vibrations) morning, noon and night. Your Swiss hosts, Philip and Sarah, will make sure that you spend your well-deserved holiday hassle free, in style and that you are well looked after during your stay. Come and explore - we'd love to share our little piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buena Onda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Beach Hotel Tola
Buena Onda Beach Resort Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing