We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buena Onda Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife, my son(9 years old) and I stayed a total of 10 days at Buena Onda and and had an absolute blast! It was a bit of a challenge to find the place in the dark, but once there, we found that we didn't want to leave. The people were amazing, the food was scrumptious, the grounds were pristine, and the proximity to the ocean and waves was unbeatable. With Santana right in front of the resort, Mag Rock, and Popoyo both in walking distance there is plenty of surf to choose from. There is pealing point breaks, barreling sandbars, and Rocky reefs. Would highly recommend this trip to anyone!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    39
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
118
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Traveled with my partner and we both had a fantastic time!!

Location wise it is excellent, especially for surfing. Playa Santana is just a short 2-3mins walk out front, Rosado is a 20-30 min walk across rocks(great views) and Popoyo is a 30-40 min walk. Bit of walking to be done but those of you that know Nicaragua know that having 3 waves in such close proximity and easily accessed is pretty rare.

The rooms are serviced every day and are very very clean. Loads of areas to chill out and relax, either in the pool (cleaned every day, unlike others in the area), on the multiple sun loungers or in the hammocks under the shade.

Food was good, reasonably priced and good selection. The only small thing that was slightly annoying is the price of water. At $2.30 for a 2 liter bottle it seems rather excessive, especially since you could get approx 10 liters in a shop for $4-$5. The daily specials were very good and you receive a massive serving.

The management are great and can organise taxis very easily for trips to nearby Rivas, Ometepe, Granada etc. Also very helpful in relation to surfing, where to go, what to expect etc.

Overall we had an excellent trip, and based on other places we stayed in Nicaragua, Buena Onda is one of the best in the country for the price on offer. Would recommend it to anyone, you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Rooms with just fans are adequate with constant offshore breezes keeping things a little cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed in one of the delux rooms at Buena Onda for 5 nights. Having spent the previous 4 weeks travelling round CostA Rica and Nicaragua I was very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, quality, comfort and standard of the rooms! All bed linens and towels looked to be brand new, the bed was comfortable, the bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean. The rest of the resort was also maintained to the same high standard! The restaurant was very good value, whilst the menu wasn't huge the food that was on offer was great - very tasty and decent sized portions, which was always welcome after a long days surfing! There are plenty of loungers, sunbeds, and cabana's on the grounds for those that want to relax by the pool.

The main buildings are slightly set back from the beach, less than a minutes walk from most of the rooms. The local surf break of Rancho Santana is about a 5-10 minute walk down the beach to the south, whilst a 15-20 minute walk along the beach to the north will get you to Popoyo which is another awesome surf break!

The resort does also offer complete bungalows which would be great value for a larger group or a family.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, gave me some great recommendations of local surf spots and the best times to go to each one!

Whilst Buena Onda makes for a perfect place to stay if you want to go surfing it would also be a great place to stay if you just wanted to relax on the beach or explore the local area.

I think Buena Onda is great value for money and I will certainly be staying there next time I'm in Nicaragua!

Room Tip: If you need air conditioning go for a Delux room or Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We covertly wanted to look into staying at the Buena Onda. So we ordered a beer at the bar to check out the service prior to checking in. The female barista treated us like something she would have scraped of the bottom of her shoe. So, we quickly passed this one up. If the staff treated us like that from the start we could not imagine it getting must better.

We might give this one another try. Management really needs to train their staff with regards to customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelidecovolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua Department, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place is not a resort in my opinion. This place has the worst service you can imagine, i felt ignored the all time, the food is not good, maybe not so expensive but not good. This is not a good deal.

I went with my GF for a weekend. The road to go to this place is terrible!, you need a truck, we went in a Hyundai Accent and we suffer the consequences later, is like 40km of dirty road full of rocks, NOT recommended for a sedan. I had to go 12 miles per hour, a nightmare.

After 4 hour of driving from managua to this "resort", i had to pay 85$ for one night in a normal and simple room, i've paid for better rooms in other places..

Outside of my room, and in the way to the swimming pool, there was a lot of big frogs, i saw like 5, Also in the bottom of swimming pool were 4 crabs,, was not nice for my GF.

The beach is not good, maybe for surfers it is, but not for me.

I can't understand how this place has a lot of positive comments, maybe i have too high standards, or maybe is for the backpackers/surfers in a big group can find a better deal. But for a couple (not surfer), I do not recommend this place, not at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lcj27_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent two incredible weeks at this place. the first as all inclusive surf package with the amazing house between three of us, the second in the dorm rooms. the staff, food, resort and location couldn't have been better. i would recommend this place to anyone even non surfers for an amazing getaway and a place to forget about everything

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Em S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I went with 5 friends to Buena Onda and we had the time of our lives. All of the staff were exceptional. Loved the homemade meals everyday and loved the waves even more. Highly recommend to anyone especially surfers!

Room Tip: The deluxe room was well worth it for the air conditioning and refrigerator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
15.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
20.1 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
5.6 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Beach Resort

Property: Buena Onda Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santana, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seaside hideaway is just a stones throw from one of Nicaragua's finest beaches, Playa Santana - where our nearest neighbors are grazing cows and howling monkeys. We have superb, consistently breaking, barreling surf right out front. Sunshine, tropical warmth, warm water and off-shore breezes 300+ days a year, comfortable (and affordable!) Accommodation, and most of all, BUENA ONDA (good vibrations) morning, noon and night. Your Swiss hosts, Philip and Sarah, will make sure that you spend your well-deserved holiday hassle free, in style and that you are well looked after during your stay. Come and explore - we'd love to share our little piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buena Onda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Beach Hotel Tola
Buena Onda Beach Resort Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing