We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Popoyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Surf Popoyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Surf Popoyo
Ranked #2 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Popoyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed in Popoyo for two weeks. We didn't live at Club Surf Popoyo but we ate there pretty much every night. The owners are amazing and the pizzas are really good ! Good food to a good price. Best in Popoyo !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyllkant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
17
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We (me, my husband and friend, who came to visit us) stayed at Club Surf Popoyo for 2 nights to spend time at the beach and do some surfing. The hotel is wonderful - clean, neat, with nice air-conditioned rooms, so that we were enjoying our sleep and didn't bother for the heat. Owners - Filippo and Barbara - are a wonderful couple, very friendly and ready to help, give you any information you need and cook the most tasty pizza in whole Nicaragua (beleive me, I know what I say). When you're at Tola, you forget about the rest of the world, still free wi-fi was very helpful sometimes. We're certainly planning to come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My son (age 17) and myself spent 10 days at Club Surf and had a fantastic time. The rooms were clean, the food great and the proximity to the surf made extra surf sessions possiible.I highly recommend the Surf Club to anyone going to NICA. Barbara and Flippo were the best. Pizza night is a blast. The staff and resident Surfer Gerald were all exceptional friendly and helpful. It is a safe and drug free environment that makes it great for surfing kids. Filippo can plan a lot of extra attractions and knows everyone in the area. Five thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptMDRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed in jan 11. It was one of the nicest places I stayed. The owners and the staff were very nice all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darre418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

If you want local flavor, this is the spot. It's about a 3 hour road trip from the airport at Managua and well worth the trip. Filippo and Barbara, the proprietors of Club Surf Popoyo were fantastic hosts. Their homemade Italian dishes satisfied us every afternoon and evening. They have a wood fired pizza oven and made some fantastic pizza, from cheese or pepperoni, to fresh lobster. There is no shortage of great food here. Breakfast can be light and the coffee is true to Central American Style. The rooms are clean (and air conditioned) and the showers are hot. The surfing is just steps from your room and Filippo can recommend some great surfing instructors if needed. This location is a super get away for groups, singles and couples. I came to Club Surf Popoyo with 5 friends and we had a great time. While we were there, we met locals, single travelers passing through and couples staying for several days. I can definitely recommend this local to any one of my friends or travelers that are looking for a unique, local Central American place to spend a few days and nights.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are less noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricJ0hnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I had such a positive experience at Club Surf Popoyo that I joined tripadvisor so I could post this review.

You can surf right in front of the hotel. The beach is lovely, unspoiled, & undeveloped, with 3 foot swells when I stayed there in mid-November. The rooms were clean & comfortable. The hospitality was welcoming and gracious. And the food (included in the surf packages) was spectacular.

I've visited Costa Rica several times, & Guatemala, but wanted a surfing vacation this time. Initially I looked at San Juan del Sur. But a Nicaraguan friend told me JSDS was touristy, & Popoyo was where the locals surfed.

I found Club Surf Popoyo through tripadvisor, & stayed for one week with 5 friends from Denver, Houston & Austin. Prior to our arrival, the owner, Filippo Biancu, responded to our emails within 24 hours. Filippo met us at the Managua airport, we loaded up his Land Cruiser, & it was a bumpy 3 hours to the Pacific.

Once we arrived, we headed directly to the beach (a 1-minute walk from our rooms), & were delighted to discover we had the beach to ourselves. Not one condo, beach chair, umbrella, or other sign of development. Later during our stay, the locals used a team of oxen to pull driftwood off the beach.

Club Surf Popoyo has modern conveniences like free wi-fi, private bathrooms with hot water, & air conditioning (not to be taken for granted in Central America). Filippo is an environmental engineer from Sardinia who fell in love with Nicaragua. Fortunately for you, he worked in a pizzeria in college, & you will have the best wood-fired pizza of your entire life, while hearing Pacific waves crash in the background. We had lobster, fresh fish, burgers, & perfectly cooked pasta. Filippo's partner Barbara is a delightful hostess as well. We looked forward to seeing her smile every morning at breakfast.

Filippo & Barbara really went out of their way to make my birthday wonderful, & make us feel welcome. We felt like we were visiting friends in Nica. In fact, we have invited them to come stay with us in Texas & Colorado, & I hope they will take us up on it.

Gerald is the resident surfing instructor/tour guide. You can surf right in front of the hotel, or he will take you to other surf breaks via SUV or boat. A special treat was taking a speedboat out to Lance's Left. Other surfers had to paddle out from the rocky shore. It's much easier jumping off the boat directly to the waves! Gerald will also take you to the local hot springs (very relaxing after surfing), or other excursions if you don't feel like surfing all the time. In-room massages are available for $20 an hour. Bring bug spray for mosquitos, & plenty of sun block.

Popoyo is a place for travelers, not tourists. We met surfers from all over the world - France, Australia, Hawaii... but we still felt like we had our own private beach.

Come to Nica, & stay with Filippo & Barbara for a week... You'll fall in love with Club Surf Popoyo, & want to come back!!

Room Tip: Beach-facing rooms are quieter than the ones by the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This place isn't flashy or overly manicured, but it does all the important things perfectly.

Location is excellent (quick walk to Popoyo beach and far enough from the standing water to the north that it avoids the worst of the mosquitoes that plague Hotel Popoyo). Rooms are simple but clean, with reliable A/C. Staff are friendly and diligent (always hanging up my wet clothes in a safe place before i've even turned around!). Surf trips by boat are a daily possibility and affordable at $30 a person.

Saving the best till last... the food! Really special. Good breakfast (although they could learn to serve the tea or coffee before the main meal), excellent and large pasta dishes and brilliant seafood mains. There is also an pizza night once a week with top quality pizza's coming from a traditional Italian pizza oven. (this praise comes from a self confessed food snob as well).

The owner Filippo and his wife are involved and hospitable. If everything is not perfect for you, they will labour to make it so.

Top class all round.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfing_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
2.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
7.6 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Popoyo
Hotel Popoyo
#3 of 5 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.6 mi away
Soma Surf Resort
Soma Surf Resort
#1 of 11 in Popoyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Surf Popoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Surf Popoyo

Property: Club Surf Popoyo
Address: Popoyo Beach, Tola, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club Surf Popoyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Surf Popoyo Hotel Tola
Club Surf Popoyo Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing