We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idealic Surf Getaway”
Review of Club Surf Popoyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Surf Popoyo
Ranked #2 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idealic Surf Getaway”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A group of 10 of us spent a relaxing (albeit all too short) 3 nights here. The rooms were clean and comfortable...minutes from waves and stunning sunsets. The food was amazing, especially the crepes in the morning, and the lobster pizza in the evenings.
Most of us were surf novices, but it was easy enough to rent equipment and book lessons.
We were also able to tour many sights between Tola and Managua (Including Granada, Ometepe, and Masaya) on our shuttle to and from the Managua airport.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copihue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
18
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Bed are very comfortable which makes a great difference after a surfing day. Food is good and cheap. Saturday is oven pizza night! Guests from all over the world hang out for good beers and also wifi, a rarity in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scaramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Club surf is a great place to base yourself in Las Salinas area, with plenty of surf breaks to choose from and a famous reef break 10 minute walk from the hotel. The place is run by an Italian couple Filippo and Barbara from Sardinia.
Fillipo speaks fluent english and is a great source of info. He was very happy to pick us up from Managua and showed us around Las Salinas area. He's the owner of a nice farm where they make their own cheese and serve it with your breakfast, delicious. We went on a little trip to his farm which was great, walking trough the rainforest with lots of monkeys around and plenty to see.
We have eaten in Fillipos restaurant pretty much all the time, food was fresh and perfectly prepared, he is overlooking the kitchen staff all the time so everything is made to very good standard. I can't forget about his pizza evenings, where people from all around gather there for a dinner, tasty!!!
Rooms are a good size with AC and private bathrooms. They could do with a few extra shelves to put your stuff into though. Beach is in front of the place and stretches miles both ways, it was pretty quiet when we were there, so you can have the beach to yourselves. Over all it was a great place to start our trip around Nicaragua.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPB florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Rooms - small but comfortable, no TV, good WIFI, clean, good but surprisingly unnecessary a/c, hot water. There are racks for surfboards inside the room, and a convenient countertop, but no desk. The hotel has an exterior shower, lots of hammocks, really good food and a TV in the restaurant, and everything soooo inexpensive, reasonable is really not the correct word. It's not directly on the beach, you have to walk about 80 feet. In my wanderings of the area, I did not see anything comparable, everything else appeared run down or primitive.

The owner Filipe is a super hospitable, partially insane Italian (i.e. a typical Italian?), and his wife Barbara is a doll. Everyone working there was very nice and made me feel at home.
(Actually everyone I met in Nicaragua was nice, even the Federales who tried to shake me down for some cash). There is a surf shop across the street with about 20 run-of-the-mil short boards in mediocre condition available for rent, cash only but only $10.00 a day.

The surf was disappointing, but I did not expect much since this was not a good time of year. The main reef break at Popoyo was good, but always too many people and the locals are selfish wave hogs. (I suppose I was the same in younger days) It is a one-peak spot breaking both ways. You have to walk about 15 minutes and cross a small river, but it is very pleasant. The beach break was a small hopeless closeout, offering no makeable sections whatsoever. Perhaps during the better seasons it gets some better shape, as I've seen a lot in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronbonbfhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

There are very few places I would rate five stars, and an even smaller number of places which are reasonably priced; Club Surf Popoyo falls in that category.

I spend a month at the hotel this past summer, and heavily explored the area. Hotel Club Surf is definitely the place to call your temporary Popoyo home.

Consider this list as to why you want to stay here rather than the other places:

-The hotel is just about as close as you can stay near the Popoyo reef break (ten minute walk). The grounds of the hotel are well kept and there are plenty of comfortable hammocks strewn about to lay in when your paddled out.

-The food is good. In fact, people staying at other hotels and local shop owners come to the hotel to eat because the food is not only good but is also reasonably priced. The owner, Flippo, is Italian and had a custom wood fired oven built so he could make pizza a few times a week. The pizza is very good since he used to work at a pizzeria.

-The hotel is right across the street from the premier surfboard rental and ding repair shop.

-The staff is very friendly, they are quick to take your food order, get you a beer, or do your laundry. The premise and the rooms are also kept very clean.

-The AC units, which each room have, work very well.

-The owners are very accommodating and will help you plan whatever you might want to do at a reasonable price, such as a boat surf trip, 4x4 surf trip, adventure to Ometepe Island or tour of the cigar production facilities in the northern Nicaraguan region.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great place to stay if you're going on a surfin' vacation to Nicaragua. Great location next to Popoyo's point, so you have a great wave within a 2 minute walk. Also, they arrange boat trips and 4x4 trips so that you can surf the various different spots that Nica has to offer. The surf guide (Jerald) is great and knows well the waves so he knows when and where to take you. The hotel have the best food in town, the people working there are great and the rooms are pretty good (hot water shower, A/C). Definitely will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VadimKowalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustis, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Fillipo, Yarrard and staff did a great job. If you want to be first in surf (and on the right spot), whether by truck or boat, there on it. Everything was thought of from airport transfer, a mix of 4x4 and boat trips, good food, early morning dawn patrols, tide position, wind conditions, swell direction, food, water, and sports drinks on the boat. The accomodations were great and very clean. Fantastic experience and good people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
8.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
592 reviews
17.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
4 reviews
2.0 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
5.6 mi away
Hacienda Iguana
Hacienda Iguana
#4 of 10 in Tola
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Surf Popoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Surf Popoyo

Property: Club Surf Popoyo
Address: Popoyo Beach, Tola, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Club Surf Popoyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Surf Popoyo Hotel Tola
Club Surf Popoyo Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing