We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Club Surf Popoyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Surf Popoyo
Ranked #2 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place is incredible - great rooms that are cleaned daily, air con and fan, hot water, fabulous restaurant with to die for food and the owner is friendly, hospitable and laid back. It feels like a five star resort, without the price tag and without the arrogance. Highlights on the menu: lobster pasta and make sure you come for pizza night! The owner is Italian - you won't get pizza that good anywhere else in Central America.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaitilinPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
18
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

a buddy and i stayed at club surf popoyo for two weeks. fillipo, the owner has mastered the chilled out running of this lovely little place. rooms very clean, which got thoroughly and regularly cleaned by excellent staff. we had a beach facing room so we could hear the waves crashing at night. food is superb, again, excellent kitchen staff and table waiting staff. we had a couple of power cuts during our stay, which added to the magic of the place, as several of us just held up in the hammocks all night! i can honestly say ive never stayed in such a nice, relaxed, clean, comfortable surf camp. i recommend this place 100%. i shall be back.

Room Tip: the beach facing rooms can be a little quieter, if people in the dining area stay up later than you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brahman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is the best place to stay in Popoyo for different reasons: sweet water, fan and A/C in very room, accurate daily cleaning of the room and surely the best food in the village. Travelers from other locations are coming here either for breakfast, lunch or dinner (especially when Pizzas and tiramisu are on). Filippo and Barbara (co-starred now by little boss Emiliano) have been running the place since day 1 and you can feel it. Great hospitality plus excellent local knowledge and network.The staff (Tamari, Maria, Jenny, Sorimar, Santiago and the other ladies of the kitchen) is very nice and efficient. Filippo will sort out any requirement for you (transports, boat trips, fishing boat trips, short trips in the area and whatever the location could offer). Not sure about leaving, I will come back surely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great place to stay for a few nights, value for money is probably the main highlight there. The rooms a bit dark and its not directly on beachfront (50meters over an empty lot), but its very clean, friendly, and great food at the restaurant. You get a lot for your money.
Filippo is very easy going and friendly and will make your stay fuss free... i have seen other places at the beach, there are a few up the road if you are looking for a party atmosphere and more young people that would be better, otherwise if you want peace and quite (but do enquire if the construction in front of the property has been completed) this hits the spot. Reccomend!

Room Tip: south side rooms look at the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike55959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corolla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My friend Scott & I went on fall surf trip. Went to Popoyo on friends recommendations. Club Surf is an easy place to stay for surfers. The food & service where great. Talk to Flippo, the owner about boat trips. There are some great breaks but you gotta look for them. Try "Lances Left" and "Playgrounds". Plan to stay more then a week. This is the way Costa used to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorollaSurfShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Whether you are a surfer or just a traveler, have a family or just want to cruise on your own, you NEED to go visit Filipo and Barbara (and new baby!). What can I say about my experience here? Honestly it feels like no matter what I say it will not do them the justice they deserve. Define hospitality: Being under the blanket of Italian warmth as they welcome you into their establishment, serving up delicious food (if you don't get the pizza you are blowing it), and surrounding you with great local employees. Everything and I mean EVERYTHING you need is taken care of here. You want to go fishing? No problem, Filipo take care of you. You like to surf? No problem, Filipo take care of you. You want to make a stop on the way to the airport and buy 6 bottles of rum and four hammocks? No problem! Let me put it this way, I am definitely going back to visit the crew there, surf with Gerald and get barreled! I stayed ten days and wish I could have stayed the entire month! The guy ordered a cake from Managua (two hours away) for my buddy Dan's birthday! Yes I have a problem with gratuitous exclamation points, but I want to make sure you are feeling how much I enjoyed myself there. Heck! Writing this makes me want to go back there right now!

Room Tip: We barely spent any time in our room so we split a room with four people in four separate bunk beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTYYeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubSurfPopoyo, Manager at Club Surf Popoyo, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Rock & Roll!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My friend and I stayed at Club Surf for four nights and got the surf package. Filipo and his wife are so hospitable, and the hotel is the perfect place to stay for a great surf adventure. Every meal was cooked for us, and an awesome pointbreak was just a few minutes walk down the beach. Hammocks lined the porch area, and the rooms were clean and air conditioned. I would recommend Club Surf to anyone looking to surf in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
2.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
8.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
584 reviews
7.6 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
56 reviews
2.0 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Wild Waves Surf House
Wild Waves Surf House
#2 of 5 in Popoyo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Surf Popoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Surf Popoyo

Property: Club Surf Popoyo
Address: Popoyo Beach, Tola, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club Surf Popoyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Surf Popoyo Hotel Tola
Club Surf Popoyo Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing