We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Popoyo”
Review of Hotel Popoyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Popoyo
Ranked #5 of 11 Tola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Place could not have been better. The customer service was excellent. From the communication 6 months prior to the arrival of our group of 8 people to the services we received by the entire staff once we were there. They were able to help with everything from arranging surf boards to boat trips. Price is very reasonable and the drinks/food were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Popoyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

Such a cute hidden gem. Booked this last minute and my only regret was not being able stay more nights. The price was very reasonable for what we were getting ($80). I just recently had the pleasure of staying at a Motel 6 in Baltimore out of desperation for the same price and let me tell you...in comparison Hotel Popoyo was the 4 Seasons in comparison. This is coming from an American. The room was basic and worked just fine. The only downside is that I am 5'11" and I couldn't stretch out on the bed on my back. Not really a big deal.
The location is remote. The beach is beautiful. Aside from a few food stands, hostels and a pizza place this was the only food option close by. 2 hour drive down dirt roads from San Juan Del Sur, 1 1/2 hours from Granada. If you are looking to wind down, read, get some sun, surf and get back to the basics, this place is your gem. As a reference point, I stayed at Pelican Eyes in SJDS, and I would gladly pick the service, pleasant accomodating staff, and good food at Hotel Popoyo.
One last note, we only had time to eat breakfast. Eggs Ranchero was pretty darn amazing.
Please go here, patron these lovely people!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hcoops7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Great hotel, perfectly prepared for surf lovers, and the most suitable in the area for couples and families. Service specially nica and proffesional. Restaurante el Toro is always a good option, staying here or rest of accomodations in Popoyo

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tury Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed here with some other surfers in June 2012. Everything about here was great, the food, the distance to the beach (1 minutes walk), the pool area with hammocks, the lovely clean rooms. The price is pretty good, $18 a night if you are sharing and $40 for a single room. A special mention for Bexy (spelling?), and the rest of the staff who are friendly, informal and helped us with loads of things like organising a boat trip and a local guy to accompany the guys back to the airport in their rental car (getting to and from Popoyo is pretty difficult). There isnt a huge selection of places to stay in Popoyo but this is probably the nicest place. I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arantimeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed 4 nights at Hotel Popoyo. Great experience all around. Had the Deluxe room with choice of any breakfast breakast included in Price. Staff all very nice and helpfull. (they even refrained from laughing at my attempts at spanish) Great food, great drinks. Great bang for the buck. The Grounds, Hotel and Pool are all well taken care of, and attended to daily.
The Manager Maximo, set up a day of Fishing for me with Captain Jeff, and i had a great day on the ocean. Jeff had to work hard as it was low season for fishing. Can hardly wait to come back during high fishing season. Highly recommend Hotel Popoyo to anyone. Just do not tell to many people. See you all again soon.....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryO56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Besides the rough mattresses this place is OFF THE CHAIN!!!! awesome place to stay awesome price awesome food and they pick you up from the airport. first time out of the country for me and i stayed here with some friends. Had the most amazing experience ever!!! if you guys want to go on a surf adventure talk to a guy named Jeff he took us out on a boat ride to the reef break at play grounds and he also offers fishing boat charters. the restaurant also takes credit cards as well just in case you run out of cash like i did. the staff is really nice and friendly. make sure your bring lots of sunblock and a fine piece of mind. deff would recommend this place to anyone who wants to go to popoyo even if your ballin on a budget. well worth the time and money. totaly exceeded my expectations, best bang for your buck fo sho!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Popoyo, Propietario at Hotel Popoyo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you very much for your coment!! We apreciate your suport.
We are glad that you had a great time in our Hotel Popoyo and want to share it with the rest of the people.

It´s good to know that our clients are satisfied after staying in the Hotel. Specially when they happy to recomend it to other travellers... as you said: "deff would recommend this place to anyone who wants to go to popoyo even if your ballin on a budget. well worth the time and money. totaly exceeded my expectations, best bang for your buck fo sho!!!"

Hope to have you with us again soon,
Best regards,
Diego Blatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We loved staying at the hotel popoyo. the best part was how friendly and helpful everyone that works there is. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a clean friendly place with VERY good food ;O)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbi779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Popoyo, Owner at Hotel Popoyo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

We appreciate your comment, specially the staff friendliness recognition.
Our mission is to improve our strengths and work on our waeknesses, so we´ll take note of your words.
Hope to have you here soon and thank you very much!
Diego Blatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
0.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
0.0 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#3 of 3 in Tola
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Popoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Popoyo

Address: Calle del Toro 29 | Playa Guasacate, Tola, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range: £35 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Popoyo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Popoyo is the ideal place to enjoy your surf vacations in Nicaragua, with friends, your loved one, or family. We are a small beach resort, where the guest experience is the most important thing. Enjoy a peaceful vacation while having access to the best waves and sunsets that Nicaragua has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Popoyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Popoyo Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing