We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Popoyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Popoyo
Ranked #3 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
820 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 868 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent two peaceful days at hotel Popoyo's self-catering apartment on the top floor of the main building. Below I describe what we liked and what could have been better:

Positive aspects:

The hotel is in a peaceful area and one can walk around on the beach and surrounding areas feeling safe.

We got a discounted rate of $80/night for the self-catering apartment, which was very spacious and well-equipped. The breakfast was included in the price and we could have a couple of choices free of charge and pay for any extra orders.

The apartment was very clean, the bed and sofas, and other chairs were all comfortable. The balcony had leaning chairs as well as a dining table, which allowed us to have our dinner on the balcony enjoying the moon-lit sky.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and their service was efficient.

There was a great pool that had a bar set-up (small table and steps to sit on at the deep end), which made it possible to have a drink, and a swim at the same time. Pool area also was beautiful with several thatched seating areas.

The restaurant El Toro provided seating inside and outside and also had a good-size menu. We had dinner there only once and the fried fish was tasty. Breakfast was also served there and it was rather tasty.

Things that could improve:

Water situation was rather unpredictable in the hotel. One morning we had good pressure and hot water and the second morning neither. It was not just the top floor because I heard one guy from the luxury bungalows also asking about the low pressure in his shower.

The bed, though had a great mattress, was a bit narrow for 2 people.

The safety box in the room did not function properly.

One of the small mirrors on the wall fell off because it had been glued very poorly.

All in all, however, our stay at hotel Popoyo was very good and it was a break from the very busy, crowded and loud San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
26
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

we passed four nights in hotel popoyo, my husband, my daughter and me. we liked very much the clean environment, the really nice decoration, the very friendly and efficient staff, good meals and a reazonable price performance ration.

nos gusto un monton en su lugar, nos relajamos y tuvimos unas dias de vacaciones bien merecidas y bien aprovechadas.

seguramente regresaremos otra vez.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindosojos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancee stayed in Hotel Popoyo for 11 nights. We took private room for $80 a night. Room was neat and sufficient. It was very pleasant stay. There is a great garden with a pool and good restaurant for chilling after day of surfing. Although we don't speak Spanish we felt positive approach from staff. Restaurant was mostly quiet but it got busy in the weekends. We would rate it more like family hotel. Don't expect big party. Only 2 flaws : the air-condition venting machine placed on the wall outside our window. When people staying in the room this machine lead to switched it on ventilation made horrible noise in the night.
Also hotel is quite far from the main break Popoyo beach. (Although its called hotel popoyo) This can be deceptive. Hotel provides one round transport daily to get you closer to surf spot. If you walk it will take you good 30 min. There is a beach break right in front of the hotel but it wasn't working while smaller swell.

Tip: bring enough cash. Nearest ATM is in Rivas. Not many places accept cards.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank luzasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua Department, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just stayed at Hotel Popoyo this weekend. Have stayed a few times. The staff are always helpful. The rooms always clean. This weekend was very quiet as its low season. Perfect place to hang around the pool. Definitely my favorite place to stay in Popoyo!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed at Hotel Popoyo for six nights in June.Had a fantastic stay there,the owner Maximo was extremely helpful before I arrived and during my stay,the staff are friendly the rooms are great the food is very good,nice pool and the beach is 100 metres away, great for surfing or swimming,lots of good surfing spots within a short distance from the hotel.I had a 4x4 vehicle so was easy to get around but I met lots of people who were travelling on the buses so no problem getting around.Would definately recommend Hotel Popoyo for a stay while in this part of Nicaragua.Steve, Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1958_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We found Popoyo on a map after several days in SJDS and decided we needed to check it out. We didn't have any information on the area or hotels though. It is very remote to get to on dirt roads and several buses but worth the adventure.
After checking all the hotels (only a handful to choice from). We settled on Hotel Popoyo and were not disappointed. This is an amazing value and the nicest hotel in the area. There were 4 of us and we got 2 private rooms that included breakfast, hot water, a/c and wifi. The breakfast was very good.
The staff are all very friendly and some speak english.
It is a 1-2 minute walk to the beach just across the road.
We really enjoyed our 3 nights here and wished we had more time to spend here.
It is a great place to relax and chill.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMonkey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Place could not have been better. The customer service was excellent. From the communication 6 months prior to the arrival of our group of 8 people to the services we received by the entire staff once we were there. They were able to help with everything from arranging surf boards to boat trips. Price is very reasonable and the drinks/food were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
0.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
0.0 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Popoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Popoyo

Property: Hotel Popoyo
Address: Calle del Toro 29 | Playa Guasacate, Tola, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Popoyo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Popoyo is the ideal place to enjoy your surf vacations in Nicaragua, with friends, your loved one, or family. We are a small beach resort, where the guest experience is the most important thing. Enjoy a peaceful vacation while having access to the best waves and sunsets that Nicaragua has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Popoyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Popoyo Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing