We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairway To Heaven”
Review of Popoyo Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Popoyo Beach Lodge
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Tola
1 review
“Stairway To Heaven”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Get some perspective and book Popoyo Beach Lodge! It was my first time traveling to Nicaragua, and I was recommended this spot from a friend. On arrival you will be blown away by it's unique location. The loge is minutes away from one of the most hollow fun waves in Nica. It's safe and secure and very inspiring place to stay. It's the perfect combination of beach and countryside. Accommodations are secure, quiet and comfortable. Perfect for a group of 4. You can not find a better view in Nicaragua. If you want to experience the most epic sunsets this planet has to offer, look no further. I will definitely coming back!
Don't forget to bring some extra cash for some Tona's!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnantoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I had an awesome stay at the two brothers Popoyo beach lodge. This is seriously the closest place you can stay to the popoyo beach break (one of the more consistent surf spots around). While all the other surf camps are waking up at 4 am to get their groups rounded up to go do spot checks, at the popoyo beach lodge, you just need to roll out of bed, look out the window, and in 5 minutes you could be the first one in the water. Also nice is the fact that this little residential part of the village has it's own security and private gate.

I came here with my two buddies to surf. We had a great time and caught some great waves. If I had to do it over again, I'd probably go down in May or early august, and stay 2 weeks instead of 1.

Robert, the owner, is an amazing host and guide. He lives on a hill in a beautiful home he built by hand (where he also has other accommodations). He has lived in the area for over 11 years and knows the surf spots really well. He's also a very kind family man, naming the two brothers after his two sons. He has lived one of the most interesting lives I've ever seen. Try to get to know him. He's a lot of fun. He'll usually stop by once a day to make sure everything is ok.

A quick disclaimer. The beach lodge is like a hostel, as described on the website. There are private rooms w/ ac and with private bathrooms. The living room and kitchen are the common areas. We basically had the place to ourselves while down there, but I think even if it was full, there is plenty of space and privacy. Everyone in the area is there to surf, so everyone sleeps early to wake up early. It's a quiet little village.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rumpy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Myself and two friends stayed for a week in June, 2011, and absolutely loved the Popoyo Beach Lodge. The rivermouth/beachbreak directly in front of the property is one of the best/least crowded waves in the region. Other restaurants, surf breaks, etc are within walking and or biking distance. The rates are beyond reasonable. This really is THE place to stay on a budget surf vacation. Safe, gated, comfortable. We'll be back, and this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zandermorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Spent a week at Popoyo beach lodge and if i were to go back to Popoyo i wouldn’t
stay anywhere else... the lodge is perfectly located, right in front of probably the best
beach break in Nicaragua, add to that incredible sunsets and great comfort. There is a fully equipped kitchen and a few restaurants only a couple minutes walk away. The rooms are equipped with AC and after long day spent surfing, there is no better feeling then stepping into an air conditioned room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santosha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The place excellent and right on the beach. There is a kitchen, a lounge and a couple of rooms. You can rent boards and Robert the owner is always around, when you need something. The beach and the swell is great and uncrowded. There are also some restaurants around the corner - in walking distance. We will come back!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picasso1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
0.0 mi away
Hotel Popoyo
Hotel Popoyo
#3 of 5 in Tola
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Club Surf Popoyo
Club Surf Popoyo
#2 of 5 in Tola
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Soma Surf Resort
Soma Surf Resort
#1 of 13 in Popoyo
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Iguana
Hacienda Iguana
#4 of 10 in Tola
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popoyo Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popoyo Beach Lodge

Property: Popoyo Beach Lodge
Address: Popoyo Beach, Tola, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Lodge is Popoyo’s newest surf accommodation directly on the beach and the closest hotel you will find to one of the most consistent river mouth beach breaks in Nicaragua. The lodge features comfortable private rooms offering single, double and triple occupancy. Inside the lodge there is a lounge bar and kitchen that serves typical Nicaraguan fare with global influences, smoothies, cold beer and fresh juices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Popoyo Beach Lodge Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing