We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in beautiful playa gigante!”
Review of Machele's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Machele's Place
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place is amazing! AC, hot showers, very clean, great Nica and Western food (try their smoothies!), and beautiful pool - in case you don't feel like taking the walk about 100 yards across the street to the gorgeous beach of Playa Gigante. The staff speak English and the owners are always around and very friendly. They seem to know everyone in the area, and can set you up with anything you're interested in doing! We paddleboarded and took a trip to one of the volcanoes in the area, but they can also set you up with a boat trip to snorkel/fish/drink, ATV-ing, surfing...Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chendow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson S, Owner at Machele's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

I love this review because it highlights the adventures Gigante has to offer! Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience! We hope you will come back! XX Allyson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Machele's place has an excellent vibe with high quality hospitality incorporated. Beautiful pool, rooms are up to date, loaded bar and delicious food!! There are many things to do around Machele's, most importantly, relax. Lastly, affordable. You can't get anything else like this for the service and price combined.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kachine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MachelesPlace, Owner at Machele's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review, Kachine! We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Macheles as much as we enjoyed having you! We can't wait until you come back. XX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My sister has an construction import business in Managua and invited us to tour the Emerald Coast beach properties with her. We were very pleasantly surprised. Playa Gigante is a small fishing, surfing community with a few new boutique hotel choices. We chose Machele's beachside hotel and pool, just opened 3 months, www.machelesplace.com.

Quiet, clean, comfortable and very hospitable establishment. The property is secured with locked gates and a guard. The restaurant/bar offers daily cooked meals and affordable beers, $1.40. We enjoyed our breakfast with many Canadians partaking in the Olympic Men's Hockey win over Sweden.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MachelesPlace, Manager at Machele's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed our sports bar atmosphere with our local beer choices! We hope you will come visit us again in the future. We wish you the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We loved this place! In the middle of what is a rather undeveloped paradise, this hotel is modern and upto western cleanliness standards. Hot showers, which can be hard to find in this part of Mica. They have incredible food, and a wide variety of options (including health food). The poplins great, and just across the street (100ft tops) is one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen. A+++

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson S, Owner at Machele's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We am glad you enjoyed our "hidden gem" of Gigante. There is no better way to describe our beautiful beach! Thank you for coming and we are happy to know you will be coming back to stay with us again in July! XX Allyson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stumbled upon this place, and really loved it despite some opening week hitches. First off, Playa Gigante is one of the nicest beaches I've seen in Nicaragua. The village has just the right amount of development, not overbuilt and occasionally trashy like San Juan del Sur. Machele's has a really nicely designed palapa entry area, nice sized pool and very comfy rooms. Good a/c, cable TV with wall mounted screen, good WiFi. Best of all we were charged only $70. For the quality of the hotel, this is the best bargain I've gotten in a long time. Last point: Machele's sits next to a brackish water lagoon. If you have any interest in bird life, just step outside in the morning and you'll see a wide variety.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tim_Jo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MachelesPlace, Manager at Machele's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate your review. We hope you can visit us next time you are in Nicaragua. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Olaf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
8.5 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
605 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
329 reviews
11.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
9.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Machele's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machele's Place

Address: Playa Gigante, Tola 95959, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tola
Price Range: £64 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Machele's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where new world comfort meets old world tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Machele's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machele's Place Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing