We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Costwolds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Amazing place - serene, very relaxed and amazingly hot. It was a little quiet when we were there but i quite like that, not sure if my girlfriend did.

Beautiful secluded beach very laid back place and lovely staff. Would love to go and stay here again.

They also do good things for turtles - sadly we didn't see any but we did take a look at the hatchery and had all questions answered by the very nice barmen.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cotswolder74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    37
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
41
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Wonderful and very accommodating staff. The property itself is beautiful. The food is expensive for Nica but you dont have much of a choice as you are kind of stranded out there. Def not for the traveler who wants to walk into town and explore the community as this is a very secluded spot, so you need to be OK with relaxing and being unplugged. Bring a book! The cabanas were nicely furnished and clean. Right on a great beach break for surfing. We had a lovely time and would def stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ligwa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The place is amazing, with beautiful landscape, nice ocean front..however the food isn't that good for the price you pay. I think they should prepare the food better, especially because the price is quite high for it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabyhm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moorefield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

excellent meals...friendly service..stunning lodge and beach...great sunset walks,,
rustic but charming (no AC or hot water)...mosquitos were very present in March at dusk...
fantastic massage by Lissette (ask for her especially)...we were practically on our own and were able to spread out in the lodge...live guitar music at dinner...we enjoyed our stay and came away relaxed

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisombra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Three friends (Carl and Mike's reviews are below) and I just returned from the all-inclusive beginners surf trip at Punta Teonoste. If you are interested in adventure, amazing unadulterated beaches and perfect waves than this is the trip for you. The weather in March was 90 degrees F every day, with nice ocean breezes, and blue sky. Everyone at the resort was super friendly and accommodating, including our surf instructor Emir, waitstaff (Johnny, Dennis), the manager Roberto, and Pablo who helped us book and organize the trip via email from the US. The food was great and the Tonas (local beer) were cheap and delicious. For a group of four loud gringos that spoke minimal Spanish, the people at the resort were extremely kind and understanding. The surf trip allowed us to not only spend time on site at the resort (which was awesome; the beach is secluded and the restaurant/pool was out of a Corona commercial) but to explore the many different hidden spots (beaches, restaurants, bars) that we would have no idea about otherwise with our trusted surf instructor Emir leading the way (and driving us around). Each day was truly a new adventure. This place is Costa Rica 20 years ago and once people find out about it and the roads get paved, it is going to blow up commercially. My advice would be to get there soon before it happens.

Room Tip: Cilantro was a 4 bed villa with unobstructed views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I recently returned from a 5 day trip at Punta Teonoste. The staff was very friendly, the location was amazing and the overall experience was a once and a lifetime opportunity. It is a bit of an experience traveling from the airport in Managua (long, dirt roads) and if you are expecting a smooth ride, you will be disappointed. Once we arrived we were amazed at the beauty of the property and the stunning beach. If you are looking for a place to escape from your daily life, this is the place to go. Don't expect many modern amenities in your room but that was part of the charm. The outdoor shower and bathroom was very unique and relaxing. The manager of the resort was very attentive to our every need and the surf instructor, Emir, was extremely helpful and drove us to a variety of local beaches during our stay. Deniz, the bartender was a great host during our stay. If you are looking to get a glimpse into a different world while visiting some of the best beaches on the planet, Punta Teonoste is a great choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just got back after a 5 night, 6 day stay with three childhood friends. The 4 of us had an amazing stay. The key is to book all inclusive. The food can get expensive on an individual basis. The all - in allows you to order to your hearts content. Also know your earth geograpgy when ordering. The steaks are OK, but the ceviche (house speciality) was delicious. The snapper, grilled sea bass and catch of the days grilled or thrown with tomotate and pasta hit the spot. stay fish - chocolate crepes for desert , best thing on menu

For breakfest we started every morning with a fresh fruit salad for the table. we also had fresh fruit smoothies, yum + fantastic way to start your day. I got the omelette most mornings but don't sleep on the cinammon french toast.

The all-in food is key. Also vital is a surf package. we did the beg. And because of this had our very own driver for the entirety of our stay, emir (u da man!). 3 out of 4 had never surfed. And every morning we hit a new, incredible beach. They were private, holes in the wall, free from life itself ! And even if your can't surf which we couldn't, get some lessons, and even if you can't get up, cruise a few waves in on your belly or knee's. You have to enjoy the waves, and the numerous beaches ensure you'll find easy ones to glide on.

The all inclusive includes airport transporatation - u don't want to rent your own vehicle. remeber this is a 3rd world country, why do that to yourself? The drive was great. some of the reviews are negative only because they made the wrong decisions, this isn't a do it yourself type of thing. The drive from Managua to Punta was wonderful. We stopped for an outdoor latrine half way there, and monkee's threw mango's at us. Ah doom! It was fantastic.

The stars, and views from the lobby bar of the gigantic sunset's are worth it in spades. We had a villa, another key when booking. There were three beds upstairs and one queen down. Our pad even had a name, Cilantro. I got so drunk the first night, I left dinner, and got lost, I ended up in the bosses (Roberto :!) bed in his villa. They sent a search party and were wicked nice about it when I was finally discovered. One of my patriots in his bed upstairs encountered some bites the first night and we simply doubled up on the queen and stayed away from that net for the rest of the time. The last night I fell asleep outside on the hammock my alarm clock was the sunrise. It was special.

There is no TV, and the shower water does not get hot, remember your on the equator, just shower when there is still light, it's luke warm, not cold and feels so great. Shower and air dry, the breezes are guranteed. There is also no dance performances or room serivice - this is a trip opposite of the lame cruise crowd.

The horses and fishing trips I'd stay away from unless you are an accomplished rider and have the stomch to go after big snapper in deep, rough waters. Me and my buddy puked our faces off, we were not ready. However the afternoon soon flipped when our man and guide (Dennis, holla!) rallied us to a near by fisherman's bar right up the dirt road. we hit the juke box, mixed with the locals and danced baby! It was if I may say, legendary.

We also hit some more "gringo" spots, we absolutely loved the fact English was rarely spoke at our resort. Americans are easy to find, the driver again is key. The hotel magnifico was perhaps one of the best day drinking spots on earth. it was great to have a schedule, and such a proper place to return to. I can see from the reviews this spot might not be for everyone however we found it to be a one of a kind spot to be return to. Big shout's to Roberto, Denis, Emir - also watching the baby sea turltes hatch and race to the water for the first time was cool - we bet on them made it fun.

throw caution into the wind and have a stay to remember

Carl E Easton aka Charlie Paradise PS: massage was money + go the thermal springs at night :) - hit a local bar and play the juke box

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank carl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
10.7 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
587 reviews
10.2 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
73 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
21.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
21.8 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Teonoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Teonoste

Property: Hotel Punta Teonoste
Address: Del puente de Salinas 6 km hacia el Astillero, Tola 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa)
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Punta Teonoste 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Punta Teonoste. We created a place in which to reconnect with the pure energy of the elements, in a setting of incredible natural beauty. It's our desire to make you indulge into the luxury of an unspoilt surrounding, to see you enjoy our stylish yet cozy atmosphere, the delicious food and the various activities. At the end of your stay we want you to leave with a relaxed smile on your face and a heart full of unforgettable moments. Nicaragua is a year-around destination. All seasons are great for diving and surfing or exploring land and culture. While the months from December to May are completely dry, the months from June to November can produce the typical tropical rain showers which makes the surroundings lush and green. A setting of rock formations, small bushes and trees as well as the ocean promote the significant life forces of nature's energy and welcome you to enjoy your stay with all senses. Punta Teonoste is intimate and relaxed, offering an emotionally intelligent approach to service that begins with empathy. The responsible and caring attitude of Punta Teonoste is the key to an unobtrusive yet attentive service that makes guests feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Punta Teonoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Hotel Tola
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge And Beach Spa
Hotel Punta Teonoste Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing