We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I recently stayed here with 4 of my friends as a girls get away and loved it! All of us live in San juan del sur and frequently do trips to this area but it was my first time staying at this resort. From the second we walked in, we were treated like royalty and felt like we were on holiday! We only stayed one night but it was so relaxing, I felt like I had been on a week long vacation.

Our villa was spectacular and we all loved the rustic but modern feel of the place.
The staff were incredible and fulfilled our every need! Anything we needed, they were there!

The ocean view, pool and lobby were breathtaking

We ate dinner and breakfast there and it more than surpassed my expectations! The lobster dinner was some of the best I've ever had!

I would highly recommend this place and will be telling everyone in San juan del sur to stay there!

Thank you to all the staff for treating us like princesses!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunniet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    37
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
41
60
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel is in an absolutely amazing little cove that it has all to itself. Truly beautiful! While the architecture of the open air dining room/lobby is spectacular and the cabins charming and well designed, the compliments end there.

We spent three nights at Teonoste - two of which we were the only guests in the entire resort (the third we did see one other couple) - and there was a staff of at least a dozen people that we could see - so you would think that the service would be great. It wasn't. The meal server was unfriendly and not at all attentive. I was nearly impossible to get something simple like a glass of water or a refill of coffee. The wait for food was painfully slow - again pretty shocking considering that we were the only guests there - and the food was un-inventive, meager and wholly overpriced.

Our cabin, while adorable, was not very clean. Lots of dead bugs on top of the mosquito net above the bed, and the mosquito net was pretty tattered so we had to tie knots in it to see that we were safe from pests.

There is no doubt that Teonoste's room rates are the highest in the area, and we probably could have stayed somewhere much better for about half the price. When we told a local where we were staying he said "I'll bet you are the only ones there" as apparently the hotel is almost always barren. It is really very sad because this place has such good 'bones' and is in such an amazing setting that it could be wildly popular if it was just run correctly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank td_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaTeonoste, Propietario at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear td_ed.
Thank you for taking the time to write about our resort.
We are sorry you did not enjoy the quietness of the resort in the lowest occupancy time of the year. For many of our guest, however, this is one of the most appreciated luxuries they find at Punta Teonoste! September and October, in my appreciation, are the most beautiful months in Nicaragua, however, travelers are very few in Central America at this time of the year.
We are sorry to learn the service was not up to our usual standard! We must apologize for this. Our resident manager was not at the resort during your stay (due to off season reasons), and things went out of hands! However, we know there are no excuses for that! Thanks to your comments we have proceeded immediately to take control of the weaknesses you have mentioned. We really appreciate your critics, since they have made us stronger an have made us take the proper corrections and improve our service.
I am sorry if food quality was not up o the standards we have directed. Although we do offer and extensive menu with many options, which includes nicaraguan, american, and other international dishes, we do keep a strong french influence following the general directions our head chef Janine Fiche created in our menu. Our dishes are prepared with only the finest ingredients. A very large number of customers visit us from all over the country just to enjoy our cuisine, which has been acclaimed and recognized as one of the best in the country.
We hope you did enjoy the rest of your stay in Nicaragua!
Best regards
Walter
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our experience at PT was nice. The food was OK and service just fine. The grounds are beautiful! We knew the prices were high but we had higher expectations because of the price. I wont be going back now that I know my money can be better spent elsewhere.

The food was supposed to be European and high quality. It did have a European price but not the quality or selection the menu boasted. From what I hear it never does.

I felt a little over guarded by the guards when in our cabins. some guards always seemed to be staring at us.

I am normally OK with bugs of all kinds but we got bit up very badly every night. We inquired about the purchase of bug spray and found $11 for a small can a bit much!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The ressort is located at a wonderful place, remote and calm.
The architecture is simply wonderful, the decoration simply and cosy at the same time.
The huts are very nice, the outside bath room fantastic.

The only absolutely appalling factor: the horses. The idea to rent horses is good, but the horses are in a dreadful state: the horses are not maintanied at all! They are kept on a "leash" and seldomly really moved. Their hoofs are elongated, and it is painful for them to walk with this changed biomechanics.
They are FULL of ticks. The ticks form kind of strings of pearls on their bodies.
On top I would not call the horses well fed. water supply is also rare.
Even the muchachos agree that the horses are not treated well at all.
This is a scandal for a hotel where a room costs easily 300 to 500 USD per night.

I appeal to the owner to either maintain is horses according to animal rights standards or to stop having horses!

Room Tip: Maybe one where bathroom and bed are on the same floor of the double decker hut. ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Punta teonoste suffers from a very basic need for tourists...THERE IS NO GOOD FOOD HERE!. The kitchen is constantly slow in preparing the meals and served our food cold almost every time.We really struggled with the staff to get the food prepared correctly. I was sad for the waiters who had to hear our complaints since it was obviously not their fault. If the owners are reading this ( walter!) please please put kitchenettes back in play and start a mini super so we can enjoy the beach and the beautiful hotel you built...The lack of good food is making it hard to frequent your hotel and after 5 years its obvious you can't get it right!!!!

Also the pool beds were ripped and worn out which made them difficult to use...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tausa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costwolds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Amazing place - serene, very relaxed and amazingly hot. It was a little quiet when we were there but i quite like that, not sure if my girlfriend did.

Beautiful secluded beach very laid back place and lovely staff. Would love to go and stay here again.

They also do good things for turtles - sadly we didn't see any but we did take a look at the hatchery and had all questions answered by the very nice barmen.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cotswolder74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Wonderful and very accommodating staff. The property itself is beautiful. The food is expensive for Nica but you dont have much of a choice as you are kind of stranded out there. Def not for the traveler who wants to walk into town and explore the community as this is a very secluded spot, so you need to be OK with relaxing and being unplugged. Bring a book! The cabanas were nicely furnished and clean. Right on a great beach break for surfing. We had a lovely time and would def stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ligwa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
10.7 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
10.2 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
19.8 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
21.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
24.7 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Teonoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Teonoste

Property: Hotel Punta Teonoste
Address: Del puente de Salinas 6 km hacia el Astillero, Tola 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa)
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Punta Teonoste 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Punta Teonoste. We created a place in which to reconnect with the pure energy of the elements, in a setting of incredible natural beauty. It's our desire to make you indulge into the luxury of an unspoilt surrounding, to see you enjoy our stylish yet cozy atmosphere, the delicious food and the various activities. At the end of your stay we want you to leave with a relaxed smile on your face and a heart full of unforgettable moments. Nicaragua is a year-around destination. All seasons are great for diving and surfing or exploring land and culture. While the months from December to May are completely dry, the months from June to November can produce the typical tropical rain showers which makes the surroundings lush and green. A setting of rock formations, small bushes and trees as well as the ocean promote the significant life forces of nature's energy and welcome you to enjoy your stay with all senses. Punta Teonoste is intimate and relaxed, offering an emotionally intelligent approach to service that begins with empathy. The responsible and caring attitude of Punta Teonoste is the key to an unobtrusive yet attentive service that makes guests feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Punta Teonoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge And Beach Spa
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Hotel Tola
Hotel Punta Teonoste Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing