We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best hotel for business travel in jayapura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Papua
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Jayapura
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best hotel for business travel in jayapura”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in very nice location, warm staff, love the view at the lounge terrace. However they charge for early check-in which is disappointed noting the available flight schedule to jayapura city. Perfect location as it only take 5 minutes walking to find variety of restaurant, food street with excellent taste.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramotmotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    69
    45
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
17
17
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The most valuable hotel as I recommended as far as today is Swiss-Belhotel. Specially for this swiss-bell, their placing this hotel near the port and the sea. Going breakfast and enjoying eggs and foods, looking a side far to the ocean, giving you a peace of worderful morning.

They also have swimming pool end it's ended by 9PM, so you can enjoy night bath on there. On Lobby stair, enjoying coffee and smoking on outside with islands and port viewing, you will get a good night feeling.

Room Tip: Enjoying breakfast with Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isybelharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acting-GM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Papua, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Sir'
Thank you so much for your review which we do appreciate
We always trying hard to serve our guest making them feel at home because when they feel at home they will for sure be back
I am glad that you have enjoyed staying and service here at Swiss-bel Hotal Jayapura
We hope one day will have a change to welcome you back again
I am really sorry for belated response
Cheers
Johannes Makatita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had business in Vanimo, PNG, and due to flight schedules (there are only three flights per week from Port Moresby to Vanimo) decided to stay a couple of nights in Jayapura. It was also much more economical - visas, 4 hour transfer across border (Hotel can organise a car for IDR 400 000 for the Indonesian section), accom and all meals was less than half the price of 1 night in Vanimo.

Maybe, it was coming from PNG but Jayapura was like paradise and the Swiss-Belhotel exceptional. My Papua New Guinean colleagues could not get over the elegance of the hotel nor the service standards they experienced. Very few of the staff speak much English, however they try extremely hard and it wasn't really an issue.

Breakfast and dinner were both excellent - delicious nasi-goreng - and the view from the dining room and lounge bar over the harbour is spectacular. Rooms were downright luxurious - I know this is a long way from Bali or Jakarta but its also a long way from PNG!

Room Tip: Spend the extra few dollars for a harbour view room - Jayapura has a really beautiful location with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekeystotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Hotel is presentable enough, but lacks the services to qualify for 4 stars. Rooms were clean and spacious, but dated and run down, poorly maintained with torn curtains, stained carpets and leaky plumbing. Staff are pleasant, but clearly lack real 4-star standard training.

Somehow they also allow smoking in all the public areas, and the reception area is like a smokehouse.

As I was visiting for business I needed frequent if not continuous access to internet in my room. On check in I was advised that the internet had not been working for a few days, but IT were working to fix it. By late afternoon, it had not been fixed, and the Rooms Division Manager graciously offered me a free 3-day voucher, to connect only in the lounge area. He seemed surprised when I told him that wifi signal in the rooms was inaccessible, though he said guests sometimes complain about this...I suspect this is NOT a new problem.

I had to move to another hotel (Aston) so I could get internet access in my room. On checking out of the Swissbel, I was told the only transport option was the hotel car (Rp 75,000 per hour, minimum 2 hours). The reception staff said they could not call or arrange for other local transport.

In general, this hotel pretends to be a 4-star hotel, but without the services, standards or facilities of a true 4-star. But they deliver their lack of services with graciousness.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meesterrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

stayed here because of recomendation from a friend. Stayed for almost 3 weeks because a job I had to so i jayapura.

checking in was fast, I had a nice ocean view from my room and I could always saw the sunrise from my room

the also served a very nice breakfast, selection from local to International menu. but, the servant sometimes didn't understand our request and slow service

downside of it were the electricity weren't very stable, almost every night I have to switch the emergency light because the room was too dark. The gym was one of the best in town but many of the equipment broken.

when I ask about internet connection, they say they have wi fi in every room but the service wasn't free and the connection was poor.

I got myself a broken towel hanger and the didn't fix it after I complaint for several times (again, I stayed there for almost 3 weeks).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waxawaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a lot of time when i was living in Jayapura. Again i found that the staffs were very nice and warm, like in another swiss-bel property. Breakfast needs improvement due to lack of quantity and variety, didn't expect this from a 4 stars property. Location is in a CBD of Jayapura. Many restaurant nearby. Rooms are cold (which is a good thing) and somehow feeled so resort-ey. Pool is small but i can safely say is the best and cleanest in town. Fitness center again is small for 4 star property but just adequate. I recommend this hotel especially for business traveler. Seafood hawker stall opens at night (try ikan bakar!), just 5 minutes walking from the hotel, and it's the best in town!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

when i visitJayapura, Papua, the eastest Island in indonesia. I booked SwissBel Hotel Papua. The place is clean and nice for east Indonesia level. The poolside restaurant has a nice view, directly show us the city view of jayapura with it's hills decoration (i visited it when christmas)

Room Tip: sea view should be booked days before
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank YusufSuryadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jayapura
0.6 mi away
Aston Jayapura Hotel and Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Hotel Horison Jayapura
Hotel Horison Jayapura
#2 of 16 in Jayapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Abe Hotel Jayapura
Grand Abe Hotel Jayapura
#13 of 16 in Jayapura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Grand Allison HOTEL
Grand Allison HOTEL
#14 of 16 in Jayapura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1809.2 mi away
Swiss-Belexpress Kuta
Swiss-Belexpress Kuta
#116 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.9 mi away
Citihub Hotel @Abepura
Citihub Hotel @Abepura
#5 of 16 in Jayapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Papua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Papua

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Papua
Address: Pusat Bisnis Jayapura | Jl. Pasifik Permai, Jayapura 99112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Papua > Jayapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Jayapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belhotel Papua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Papua is the first four-star international hotel in Jayapura, we are proud to set the standard for luxurious living. Choose from 96 plush guestrooms of different sizes: surely one will suit your needs. Each room comes with a whole range of amenities to make your stay with us the best that it could be, including satellite television, an IDD line, and high-speed Internet access.The Hotel is only 45 minutes from Setani Airport and located in the center of the Jayapura’s thriving business and commercial districts, we are a popular choice amongst travelers to the region of Papua. Come stay with us and enjoy the dazzling views of the city, and the gorgeous Jotefa Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Papua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Papua Jayapura, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing