We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality enviro sneak-peak on business-budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pangkalan Bun
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staying away from home on business purposes during peak festive holiday travels, put us on limited options. Then opted to stay in closer range to the heart of Pangkalan Bun, yet still giving shade for some enviro trips (to release some turtles, to learn more on orangutans) became unforgettable experience. A night stay extended into two due to considerably yummy breakfasts for hungry tummy, quality bathing and sleeping, plus swift laundry are really sweet memories we would share to our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Affordable non-smoking rooms with pool-view are wider and quite experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikaelsetiawan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

After a series of dodgy budget hotels, and a few nights on the river boat, we booked this place for a bit of a treat.

It is certainly a LOT better than a budget option, and, as my husband kept saying, "We are in Borneo, you know!"

So, given the remote location, we think this was very good. The room was super-clean, had lots of clean towels, hot water, a big comfy bed and even a carpet. The pool was clean, although the seating area was very ropey, and you can't get a beer or any alcohol while you watch the kids play.

There's a 'karoke bar' in the basement, which we tried to visit (as it serves beer, apparently), but just found a damp cellar, all shut up. We were told it opens at 11pm - I think someone else said it was a pick up bar, which could explain things...either way, it's definitely not a nice place for a pint! But, we are in Borneo, you know.

The food wasn't great in the evening; it all comes at different times (of course) and the sandwich was deep fried, which was a surprise. Although in Indonesia, we have come to realise, everything is deep fried. The stir-fried vegetables were a welcome relief for the digestive system. The breakfast was actually very good - a huge selection and some fruit & salad vegetables, and eggs cooked to order. As always in Indonesia, there are people smoking everywhere, which is horrible, but seems to be inescapable.

It's a short taxi ride to the airport, but make sure you agree the price first, we forgot and ended up having a huge row with the driver...and paying way too much.

And remember, although it isn't international standards, the staff are trying their best, and you are in Borneo, you know!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LS6JAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The newest hotel in town, clean room and nice. The service was good. Also the breakfast was very good. The minus thing only we can heard someone next door even the sound of TV, and the hotel location to far from town or airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived looking forward to a pleasant shower; however, the water was cold both in the evening and again in the morning! Extremely poor and simply no excuse for this. The meals were very average and when we asked if there was another restaurant nearby we were told there wasn’t. The next morning air crew staff advised us they eat at a restaurant next door as the food was better there! Alcohol is not available and staff spoke poor English. The rooms were fine; tidy and clean and bedding quite okay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was a functional but perhaps rather drab and concretey hotel, although arguably the best in Pangkalan Bun. It seems to be on the outskirts of town as it’s a fair way from the Borneo Mall which is a new looking shopping centre....though tiny by European and US standards. It looks more like a large hypermarket you.d find in France.

Clean with reasonably spacious rooms. Decent bathroom . Food is reasonable but no alcohol is available in the restaurant. There is a rather bar in the damp smelling basement where you can get alcohol after 8pm. We had a quick look but it didn’t look at all appealing so we didn’t bother. According to some fellow guests (British travel journalists) it all seemed a bit strange and had the air of a pick up joint.

The buffet breakfast is served in tureens which on the day we were there they must have forgot to heat. Our breakfast was cold.

Pangkalan Bun hasn’t got much of interest. It really is just a stop over point for tourists on their way to one of the lodges up river.

It has a small pool with tables and chairs around it. It’s lacking sun beds and ambience. Just a few potted plants.

The Mosque is directly opposite the hotel so you will get an early wake up call, unless you are a particularly heavy sleeper.

Room Tip: Furthest away from the front to try to minimalise noise from the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddyPatrick, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Warmest greeting from Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment, we are gladly that you are sharing your experience at our hotel. We are really grateful that you have enjoyed our rooms. I am concern regarding your comment. We thank you for all the suggestions given we will take each suggestion to mind.
Once again, we thank you for your stay and comment please do let me know if you are visiting us again and we sill prove to you we can do better.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Enjoy ur vacation in pangkalan bun with swiss bell inn pangkalan bun. Fresh wheather, fresh room, one optional to ur vacation. We like this swiss bell inn hotel pangkalan bun. Thanks for mr. Teddy patrick, General Manager and all crew of Swiss bell pangkalan bun.
Regard

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andro07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddyPatrick, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

On behalf of Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun would like to thank you for your sharing your experience in Swiss-belinn Pangkalan Bun. It's always a pleasure to heart that one of our guest have enjoyed their stay.
I would looking to see you personally if you would stay in our again on your next vacation.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very comforable room and well equipped room and friendly staff. Bed comfortable and room very clean and fresh. This was let down by 2 factors. First, the bathroom had mould around the shower and an enormous but dodgy showerhead. Second, no response to repeated phone calls to room service and eventually had to go and find someone. Huge function going on and people smoking in restaurant - was recommended to sit in 'non-smoking area' but this was only 2 tables away from smokers! English skills of staff need to improve.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddyPatrick, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Warmest Greeting from Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun !

Thank you very much for your recent visit here at the Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun and your valuable review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. I am sorry that there was a lack of response from the room service and I will ensure to increase the staffs for room service.
we are glad that you felt the room is comfortable and we thank you for your compliments regarding our staff.

Best Regards,

Teddy Patrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pangkalan Bun hotels
1.8 mi away
Grand Kecubung Hotel
Grand Kecubung Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arsela Hotel
Arsela Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
59 reviews
15.4 mi away
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
#1 of 8 in Pangkalan Bun
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Alibaba Hotel
#4 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
7 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gloria Rooms
Gloria Rooms
#4 of 8 in Pangkalan Bun
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun

Address: Jl. Ahmad Yani Km. 2 | Pangkalan Bun, Pangkalan Bun 74113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > Central Kalimantan > Pangkalan Bun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pangkalan Bun
Price Range: £39 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss Belinn Pangkalan Bun is the first 3-star international hotel in the city of Pangkalan Bun, capital of Kotawaringin Barat Regency in the west of Central Kalimantan Province. Strategically located in the heart of the city, the Hotel only 15 minutes drive from Iskandar Airport, from where there are direct flights to Jakarta as well as other towns and cities in Kalimantan and just 30 minutes from Kumai Harbour. Located in the business complex of Permata Waringin Commercial Estate, this brand new hotel offers exquisite services and facilities for business and leisure travelers to the city. Swiss Belinn Pangkalan Bun offers 93 guestrooms, comprising 1 Presidential Suite, 4 Royal Suites, 6 Executive Suites, 13 Grand Deluxe and 69 Deluxe. Guest facilities include Lobby Lounge and Bar, Coffee Shop, Karaoke, Fitness Centre & Spa and a Swimming Pool. For corporate and private events, the hotel is also equipped with a ballroom and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun Indonesia - Kalimantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing