We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for What it Is. Don't Let the Negative Reviews Scare You!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The resort is extremely remote, a 2 hour boat ride from town. The grounds are well kept and the resort truly is beautiful. The rooms--well I think the recent complaints about upkeep are based on expectations. Instead of expecting a 5 star European style resort, instead set your expectations for a 2 star Southeast Asia hotel and you'll know what to expect. The rooms are adequate and clean, beds are comfortable---ac works fine. Think of them as bungalows rather than resort style hotel rooms. We liked them.

I am happy to say that the issues which people were complaining about recently have been addressed. Staff, food, etc. (Note: those complaints almost caused us to cancel this part of the trip because there were so many of them.) The staff was courteous and very friendly. Breakfast was basic but adequate but dinner was definitely improved...with a menu spanning several pages. The items we ordered during our 3 days there were actually better than other hotels we stayed at.

So I say, if you want a remote jungly experience with lots of monkey and orangutans, go for it.

Room Tip: I agree that AC is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank craigarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your report on our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge. Your emphasis on what we are is greatly appreciated. We are not and never will be a 5 star operation. We are exactly what you say. We know that we have to improve and will continue to take heed of what our guests say. We are unashamedly a Conservation company of which one of our main pillars is 100% employment of local people so that the environment becomes their life and they will protect it. By staying withus, you help us in this vital aim.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

In reading the many reviews of the Lodge readers rhapsodize about these magnificent primates .However that doesn't make this lodge a great place to stay.. The grounds are rustic which is quite appropriate. The staff are courteous and willing to help. The food will do and is simple and satisfying although choices are very limited. The rooms are poor with peeling walls,AC which takes a long time to cool down the room and fans that don't do anything..The electricity goes on at 5 pm just about the time you will probably get back from your excursions. Expect a really hot room.There are not many other choices. You can sleep on a boat which can be a great experience but no AC and shower may make it a bit difficult. Would I go back to the area to see the various primate? You bet.. I would definitely want the lodge to do the necessary repairs which would not compromise the Eco in Ecolodges.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with AC even if it doesn't work well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dentdoctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for emphasizing the rustic lodge. Your comments re room are justified in some of the rooms. We have upgraded a number of rooms and most of the lodge and will continue this process. Also we are putting in new more efficient ACs and a solar power facility to give us 24 hours power. This lodge was purchased by us in 2004 in a very run down state; we have slowly rebuilt. It's basic design is a good example of local Dayak architecture and we have no intention of changing it. The original lodge, built in 1989, used iron wood which is dark but should last 100 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from an amazing 10 days in Borneo. Stayed 7 nights at the Rimba lodge, and on day trips had 5 sightings of wild Orang Utans, 60 + at various feeding stations plus numerous Proboscis Monkeys, Macaques, Silver & Maroon Langurs, plus forest pigs, crocodiles, monitor lizards , butterflies birds etc. Lodge was comfortable , food was varied & all of the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Go for the more expensive rooms with aircon (Essential in view of the heat & humidity). Keep an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rowley54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your comments on our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, which are greatly appreciated by our staff there. The sight of one's first wild orangutan is awesome. Thank you for emphasising the primate experience which is so varied in numbers and species.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This wonderful ecolodge in a very remote location is a great base for exploring wildlife including the Orangutan "stars". Comfortable and great friendly service & great guided trips which were meticulously planned.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Many thanks for your report which is greatly appreciated by all the management and staff of our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had great experience seeing Orangoutangs and other wildlife. Nevertheless, it is hard to call it good experience overall. We stayed in ecolodges before in Peru, Equador, Africa. They were maintained very professionally. Rooms at Rimba are adequate, but bathrooms are not. Also they are trying to be green, so there is no electricity during the day, which means no air conditioning, etc. Food is very simple and they really are trying to please. The worst part, though, was not food or accomodations. It was lack of good professional guides. First day we got a guide who did not know anything about fauna or flora of rainforest and was making things up as he was answering our questions. We travelled all the way around the globe to see wildlife and plants, and our experiences with ecolodges before was exactly that - wonderful guides. We were lucky, though. We got really great guide after complaining to the owner. His name is Hakim - and he is one of the best guides, we ever had. We spent 3 days with him on the river and in the rainforest and loved it. He even organized romantic dinner on the river for my husband's Birthday and had a cake made. He also plays chess and plays gitar and sings. So all in all we were lucky to have Hakim - he saved this trip for us! They have to review their ecolodge concept, though!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliyaIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Re your report. Luckily I was present when you made your strident complaints to our Manager regarding Mr Jafar a well known guide on the Sekonyer river. I can thus speak with authority.

Most of the guides do not speak English fluently as it is their third language after their local dialect and Bahasa Indonesia. Thus when confronted by poor English and unnecessary agressiveness, of course they can't serve you. Ucok Hakim was booked by a group of Australians 15 weeks previously and to attempt to improve the situation and to stop your complaints we swapped guides with you so you could have our companys most senior and best guide. Your positive comments re Ucok are acknowledged.

The Australians accepted this situation with no problem and under their courtesy and respect for others got a great deal of information from the rejected guide. Our company promotes employment of local people including guides as a Conservation measure to empower them in their environment and will continue to do so.

Your comments re bathrooms and no power during the hours between 1000 and 1700 need clarification. Guests can have power during this off period when most of our guests are out on tours if they wish to pay extra. The bathrooms are part of the original structure built in 1989 of which we are very proud. You also never mentioned that our kitchen staff went out of their way to make a birthday cake for one of your party.

Alan Wilson, Ecolodges Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were lucky enough to spend 3 nights in the Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would recommend it to everyone.

All the staff were very friendly and booking a package tour with the incredibly talented guide Hakim ensured we made 15 sightings of orangutans in the wild as we floated up and down the river, as well as many birds and monkeys that we certainly wouldn’t have seen by ourselves. Hakim’s talents also included playing the guitar and we had one wonderful night singing with the Indonesian staff of the lodge and our own wonderful singers, what an experience.

Booking the package meant we were met at the airport, despite being delayed by the weather and the volcano by several hours! by friendly helpful staff who at no time made us feel we had inconvenienced them by arriving so late. On our return we were taken to the local markets and a trip around the port so we felt we had a good local experience.

We were so pleased to be in the local ecofriendly accommodation which fitted so well into our philosophy of living simply and doing no damage to the environment. I loved the large comfortable beds with mosquito nets and the hot showers when we returned drenched from a tropical storm, a far better balance to the environment than the 5 star accommodation that some people seem to need.

The restaurant served a variety of local dishes for lunch and dinner and continental breakfast, there was certainly no shortage of food. Drinking water was in the rooms and teas and coffee were available on request.

Talking to and travelling with local guides gave us the perfect opportunity to learn about the wildlife of the National Park.

It was a wonderful experience to be part of the Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, we congratulate the owners on their achievements in combining sustainable tourism and the development of local employment and ecological initiative in such a wonderful friendly and magnificent part of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wow, Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge and surrounds was a truly amazing experience. Arriving in Pangkalan Bun in Borneo we were met and transported to Kumai where we boarded our klotok (river boat) to head up the Sekonyer River to the Lodge. We were a group of 7 staying for 3 days and were warmly welcomed on arrival. Our accommodation was more than we expected - all large clean rooms, kingsize comfortable beds, ensuite, air cond. tea/coffee making facilities. Dining room large and plenty of traditiional Indonesian meals for dinner. Staff very hepful and eager. After a hearty breakfast it was off on the klotok for the day - to Camp Leakey to view the orangutans and what delight to spot many females with babies on the way up the river. A photographer's dream. Also spotted in large numbers were Proboscis monkeys, long tailed macaques and gibbons. Our guide knew all the names of the orangutans and was a great wealth of knowledge. Wonderful lunch cooked for us on board. Many birds were spotted. A visit to the local village was very interesting. Most of the staff are employed locally. If you ever get the chance to visit Rimba - grab it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bews4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We greatly thank you for your report on our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge. Due to a number of negative reviews, we have reviewed our management systems but will not waver from 100% local employment. Thank you
Management of Ecolodges Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pangkalan Bun hotels
15.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
#1 of 2 in Pangkalan Bun
168 reviews
14.8 mi away
Arsela Hotel
Arsela Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
64 reviews
15.7 mi away
Grand Kecubung Hotel
Grand Kecubung Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Gloria Rooms
Gloria Rooms
#4 of 8 in Pangkalan Bun
3 reviews
15.8 mi away
Alibaba Hotel
Alibaba Hotel
#4 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

Address: Sekonyer River | Kumai, Pangkalan Bun, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > Central Kalimantan > Pangkalan Bun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Pangkalan Bun
Price Range: £53 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge Pangkalan Bun, Indonesia - Kalimantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing