We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend break”
Review of The Bell At Sax'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bell At Sax'
Ranked #5 of 22 Saxmundham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked this trip through KGB as a last minute break. The staff made us feel very welcome and we were lucky enough to be booked into the large four poster bed room which was very comfortable. The food was exceptional and the chef, Jonny, met us after the meal so we were able to compliment him personally. All in all a great break with staff who couldn't do enough for us and the best food we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esesbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    64
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
128
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A very warm welcome by all the staff. The room was very clean a spacious with all the characteristics of a old building. The restaurant and bar area friendly and welcoming the new proprietors are more than happy to help. The food is excellent and the chef now he's way around the kitchen it was the best meal we have had.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burnett223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

we stayed for two nights,looked after very well by the new owners.Large room ,large bed, large bath room. the best food we have eaten in a long time.We ate there both nights as you could not have had better meals any where.The food was perfect both nights.great wine list.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derekdraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We were caught unawares by the change in management and our whole party (attending a wedding) had to rebook but thankfully this was all efficiently and pleasantly handled. Phew! Generally a good stay. Nothing to complain about which really is all you need. Everything worked, sufficient toiletries and towels, pleasant decor in room, pillows could have been improved but I might be nit picking. What was a standout GEM though was the absolutely brilliant (included in price) breakfast! I admit it is hard to believe how overexcited I managed to get by the breakfast but my omelette (with everything in it) was sublime - pure deliciousness. As was the full English breakfast. Wish we could have stayed for lunch/dinner!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DLJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

My good heavens. Stopped at The Bell today and had the most spectacular winter stew. Just amazing. My other guests had the pasta which apparently was equally as good. Lovely Natalie & Jonny are the new proprietors and wish them every success.

Do give the place a look, most definitely worth it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxmundham
3.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
6.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell At Sax'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell At Sax'

Property: The Bell At Sax'
Address: 31 High Street, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England (Formerly Bell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Saxmundham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell At Sax' 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell At Sax' is a laid-back welcoming 10 bedroom restaurant-with-rooms, in the heart of Saxmundham, surrounded by the Suffolk Heritage Coast and the stylish destinations of Southwold, Aldeburgh, Framlingham and Woodbridge. Here at The Bell, we are all about good cooking, carefully prepared by owner & head chef Jonathan Nicholson and his team, into hearty elegant dishes, made with fabulous local ingredients from our artisan producer friends around East Suffolk. We welcome weekenders, business travellers, holidaymakers, parties and small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bell At Sax' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Sax' Saxmundham, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing