We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, can't wait to come back!”
Review of The Bell At Sax'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell At Sax'
Ranked #7 of 23 Saxmundham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Went for a leisurely lunch, very full on a Wednesday, so service a little slow, but that suited us.
Starters were very tasty, and to be honest, would made a great lunchtime snack. The homemade smoked mackerel pate was delightful, not salty and just the right amount of smoke flavour. I had the ham hock terrine with a soft poached egg! .....delightful.
The steak was meltingly tender and full of flavour, and the chips crisp and not greasy at all.
I had the sea bass fillets.......wow, that dish is so good, only criticism is that the fennel lacked a bit of flavour, but that's being picky!
Deserts, yes we struggled, were cheses and biscuits, (but where was the butter?), and a spankingly good panacotta.
Staff very pleasant and efficient
We will be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

We went to the bell as a two night stay. The staff there were lovely and friendly. The hotel itself is very homely with a rustic feel to it. The room we stayed in was small and cosy perfect for the little break away we had planned. The breakfast we were served both mornings was delicious the best fry up I've ever Had. Hands down. Thank you too all the staff for making us feel welcome.
Would defiantly love to return and will be recommending this to everyone in Essex.

Room Tip: Ask for room two if you just want a nice little cosy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckymac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Visited as a family of 4 for 2 nights and we all loved this place. The highlights of the stay were the food, which was absolutely delicious (we had dinner and breakfast twice at the bell) and the friendliness of the staff, especially Natalie and Vanessa who went out of their way to make us feel happy and welcome. However, all staff we came across were lovely and always had a smile to offer :)
The bell markets itself as a restaurant with rooms, which is absolutely correct. If you are looking for the ultimate luxurious place to sleep, I am afraid this might not be the place for you. However if you are looking for a quirky, cosy, clean room with fluffy duvets PLUS the best food PLUS the nicest hosts than choose the bell. The building itself is also gorgeous and I spent a lot of time exploring the little quirky items inside.
If we are ever at saxmundham i will definitely stay at the bell!
Thank you so much for looking after us!!!

Andreia+Zenon+Rebecca+Nico.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplesmentealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Bell Hotel in the heart of Saxmundham is beating warmly again now.
The bar is comfortable and welcoming and the restaurant serves really good food at the right price for this town. Just been for a mid-week dinner with a friend. Two excellent courses for a tenner and a very good glass of wine (extra).
Well done to new owners Jonny and Natalie.
Didn't give 5 stars because I didn't stay in the rooms so can't comment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Penzington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed for a two night break, the room was clean, warm and lovely.

We were eating in the restaurant on the first night but the food was so outstanding we ate there on our second night too.

Very friendly owners and staff and we were made to feel very welcome. It's exactly as they promote it, a restaurant with rooms. Would defiantly stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for a 2 night weekend break. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice warm room with a very comfortable bed. The cooked breakfast was really good and very tasty. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was excellent. The locals are very lucky to have such a good restaurant on their doorstep. Would definitely recommend the Bell at Sax for both a short stay and especially for the top class food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RizzoRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

As a family we were looking for a venue for a family and friends get together and chose The Bell. On booking the attitude was very "can do". Room, sandwiches and non alcoholic drinks for over fifty people from 1:30 pm, while they were still serving lunch in the dining room and the busy bar, were first class, as was the service. Jonny, partner and team made our first introduction to "The Bell at Sax" a pleasure. When we are back in Suffolk we will most certainly make a point of eating at "The Bell", Saxmundun has a real gem here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WareKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxmundham
3.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
736 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
760 reviews
6.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell At Sax'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell At Sax'

Address: 31 High Street, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England (Formerly Bell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Saxmundham
Price Range: £89 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell At Sax' 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell At Sax' is a laid-back welcoming 10 bedroom restaurant-with-rooms, in the heart of Saxmundham, surrounded by the Suffolk Heritage Coast and the stylish destinations of Southwold, Aldeburgh, Framlingham and Woodbridge. Here at The Bell, we are all about good cooking, carefully prepared by owner & head chef Jonathan Nicholson and his team, into hearty elegant dishes, made with fabulous local ingredients from our artisan producer friends around East Suffolk. We welcome weekenders, business travellers, holidaymakers, parties and small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bell At Sax' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Sax' Saxmundham, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing