We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”

Sibton White Horse Inn
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Saxmundham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Exceptional good quality food served in the oak beamed restaurant. Just won the 'Suffolk Best Pub Food' award for the 2nd year running.
Darsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I have known this Restaurant/pub for some while and whist the opportunity arose recently as my wife and I were on holiday in the area thought we would give it a try. A good decision. We went for a lunchtime meal and pre booked out table. Whilst the restaurant does not open during the lunch time the proprietor allocated a fine tabe in the bar area which was perfect. I had bubble and squeak black pudding cake for a starter and my wife had grilled sardines. This was followed by fish and chips and sauage and mash respectively. No room for a sweet! No need as the food was excellent. The service was very good and the ambience first class. The staff made us feel very welcome and even the locals has a chat with us. The chef James Finch is known to us and came out to have a chat as well. We will be back there is no doubt of that.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    53
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good overall.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Went for a short break in Suffolk and stayed in Peasenhall, a walkable distance from the White Horse. We booked a table on line for 2 different evenings before we went which was really easy to do. The restaurant itself was very clean and cosy, and the staff were polite and friendly.The food was well cooked with decent portions and I would describe it as good rather than very good-trip advisor doesn't let you do that!! The sauces just lacked a depth of flavour and were a bit thin, and presentation was a little basic. However, if we were in the area we would probably return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food in Lovely Surroundings”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We visited the White Horse after completing a circular walk around the village. We were served by the landlady (I would imagine), on arrival, who was very welcoming. We decided to sit in the beer garden before we ordered. The garden is lovely and immaculately kept.

We both ordered the Ploughman's lunch and although it was not the biggest plate of food we've ever had, we had to ask for another couple of slices of bread before we finished, it was vey tasty. We also thought that for what was on the plate / board it was slightly on the pricey side. This is a minor criticism as everything was fresh and locally sourced.

The waiter who served us was also very polite and helpful.

This is a pub we will definitely visit again, I imagine that in the winter with a roaring fire going it would be a great place to find yourself in.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Sunday dinner”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wife & I turned up without booking on Sunday in August. Barman very accommodating. Good choice menu starters & main.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt3565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A family favourite”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

the atmosphere is great. Locals and visitors meld together and the landlord/lady run a really efficient (but always friendly) service. We like the cosy, traditional pub interior that's easy to relax into, the veg plot that feeds the kitchen (with a little help from local growers) and for me, the de-constructed fish pie is hard to wander away from (although liver - when it's on - has been excellent) and the mint and strawberry panna cotta? Not for sharing. Monday is quiz night. Good fun all round.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sibton White Horse Inn also viewed

 
Saxmundham, Suffolk
 

Been to Sibton White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing