We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Lodge Leisure Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean & beautiful”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Very impressed with our lodge, we stayed in yellowhammer, it was very clean & well equipped. We were pleased to find that all the lodges are right on the edge of the lake & enjoyed evenings sitting on verandah watching the wildlife. The site was well kept and very peaceful & the staff were very friendly & helpful. We will definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesh2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We have an abundance of wildlife here at High Lodge which agree is lovely to sit back and watch whilst relaxing. We are glad you found your lodge to be clean and equipped with everything you needed for your stay. We would love to welcome you back to High Lodge if you decide to visit the area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    27
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at High Lodge, stayed in a Lovely Lodge called Greenfinch complete with hot tub, beautiful setting looking out onto small fishing lake. If you like Golf, Fishing or Clay pigeon shooting this is the place for you. Found it very peaceful and well situated for visiting the local area. Small bar in Clubhouse and nice cafe/restaurant,staff very friendly. Lots of nice walks in the area and several nice pubs within a few miles. The fox inn at Darsham was very good and we had a lovely steak and kidney pudding there ! Southwold,Aldeburgh and Halesworth are not far away, so plenty to do for a short break !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NudgerDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Greenfinch Lodge, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We would love you to consider High Lodge again should you decide to visit Suffolk again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have just returned from a short break at the High Lodge and it was excellent. We stayed in the Greenfinch lodge and it was superb. It was spotless and extremely well equipped. The hot tub is a nice touch. The staff are very nice and nothing is too much trouble. My hubby really enjoyed the clay pigeon shoot - fantastic! We loved it so much that we booked for next year on our way out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for your review of High Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lodge and your shooting, and great that you have booked to come and see us again. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

In a word "brilliant!!"The lodges were very modern and well equipped. Very very clean upon arrival. Towels layed out as in a hotel.
Maintenance staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Really good guy.
Hot tub was stunning and the fishing was literally on the doorstep.
It was five star in my and my sons opinion. We wanted a total, do nothing and chill out holiday. This was bang on the money. If you shop before you arrive you don't need to leave until its time to go home. Thanks a million high lodge. I would recommend you to anyone. Superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at High Lodge, and we are pleased to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. Although our holiday lodges are self catering we like to provide all the special touches that a hotel would indeed provide for you. I hope that you will consider staying with High Lodge again in the future should you visit the Suffolk coast again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at High Lodge. 24th to 30th August. It exceeded all expectations. Our lodge was called Swift and was superb. You could not fault it at all. I have never stayed any where so clean and well equipped. The Hot tub was a real treat! Beautiful rural views all around.
We went primarily for the clay shooting. It was the best shooting ground that we have ever been to. All the facilities were open and working every day we were there. My husband also had 4 shooting lessons. He says they are the best he has ever received, the standard of tuition from Rodger was outstanding.
Belles Beauties salon is also worth a visit for a pamper.
All the staff where helpful friendly and so welcoming it was like we already knew them.
The fact there are only 15 lodges is what also helps to make High lodge special. I knew there weren't evening meals available on site . .fine by me. Just visit one of those lovely shops that do the 'Dine In ' meal deals and take them with you! Easy peasy catering!! There are also some really lovely places to eat in Southwold and local villages.
A beautiful area that we haven't been to before.High Lodge will definitely be seeing us again, we loved everything about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at High Lodge. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in Swift Lodge, and that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. Should you holiday in Suffolk again in the future, please be sure to pay us a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

High Lodge is an ideal holiday destination for those interested in fishing, shooting, golf or just want some "R & R". It is situated just off the A12 between Saxmundham and Lowestoft. An ideal location to discover the Suffolk coast. Southwold, Addleburgh and Halesworth all worth a visit. There is a railway station about 2.5 miles away from lodges.
The lodges are very well equipped with a starter pack of tea, coffee, milk, sugar and cleaning products, including dishwasher tablets, included. The coffee was very much appreciated after an 8 hour journey. There is a visitors pack with things to do in the area and places to visit and also a visitors book to add comments of your stay.
The 2 fishing lakes are well stocked with carp and golden tench. There is a plastic garden chair supplied to sit on whilst fishing. The golf course is fairly flat so ideal for those looking for a gentle game or those not able to hike up hills. There is some noise from the clay pigeon shooting but not enough to be off putting.
It would have been nice if the clubhouse was open after 5pm more than one night a week but there are plenty of eating houses within a 10 mile radius to suit everyone's palettes.
Our lodge had a hot tub with the chemical levels being checked every day by friendly staff.
All in all High Lodge offer a relaxing holiday within peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay here at High Lodge. We are pleased that you found everything you need within your lodge for a pleasant and comfortable stay and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a 5 day stay at High Lodge. I cannot praise this place enough!! The staff were extremely polite and would always help wherever possible. The lodge was immaculately clean and provided us with everything we could possibly need: dishwasher, under floor heating, washing products, ipod docking station...the list is endless! We chose a lodge with a Jacuzzi which was LOVELY and they checked the chemical level daily. They had different activities: a 9-hole golf range (which was well kept and added to the beauty), clay pigeon shooting (we did worry about the noise before our holiday but you could hardly notice it!) and 2 fishing lakes. The only thing I would say is that because the site is only small (15 lodges which adds to how tranquil it is) they only offered dinner on Wednesdays. This wasn't a problem for us as they have such a great range of equipment (probably more than I have!) to use to cook or we found somewhere else to eat. They did however serve breakfast and lunch.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing time here and we would definitely return. We haven't added any photos because the ones the website provide are much better and they are exactly what we saw (sometimes the photos places provide are of the best rooms and you are disappointed when you arrive). This place did not have a trip advisor account before so we worried about coming as there were no reviews, but in the lodge there was a visitor’s book and EVERY message in the book was full of compliments and if you could see it, you wouldn't hesitate to come!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Waters Edge 2 lodge which has 1 bedroom and is called Nightingale but I am almost c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at High Lodge and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled your expectations. We pride ourselves on making our lodges a home from home, and are glad that you found the facilities within the lodges of high standard. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxmundham
14.7 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
332 reviews
2.2 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
654 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
441 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Lodge Leisure Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Lodge Leisure Ltd

Property: High Lodge Leisure Ltd
Address: Haw Wood, Hinton | Darsham, Saxmundham IP17 3QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Saxmundham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst 100 acres of tranquil woodland and Suffolk countryside, our luxury self catering lodges sleeping up to 6 people, offer a scenic and peaceful retreat. All have private balconies and some have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your High Lodge Leisure Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Lodge Leisure Ltd Saxmundham, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing