We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait”

The Poachers Pocket
Ranked #21 of 33 Restaurants in Saxmundham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This a real country pub, family run. The service is friendly and the atmosphere welcoming - we do not know where the reviewer below went. The menu is a little limited but the food is freshly prepared from scratch. As a result, some dishes take time. However, it is worth the wait for tasty food in generous helpings.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely proper pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Fish of the day: buy fresh fish, put on menu, grill, put on plate, serve with decent beer and follow with home made pudding. Is anything else needed? OK - great local pub (all the locals talked to us if you care about that sort of thing), very friendly welcome, accommodating and friendly to vegetarians at least, dog friendly (if you care), well kept beer, menu not extensive but proper food. We went three times as it was walking distance from where our caravan was (20-25min from Carlton Park site). Off course they don't have a website, why should they?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DidcotBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super Saturday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent traditional food in a quaint country pub. Great atmosphere, beautiful food, good choice of drinks, nice fire. Outstanding value for money

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruisyard, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a very nice country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Me, my partner and parents have been a few times and the pub never fails our expertations, the staff are very friendly and always eager to help. a lovely peacefull place to visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unwelcome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Walked in the door with my partner and everyone at the bar turned to look at us. We felt rather intimidated. We ordered drinks and looked at a menu but the atmosphere was so bad, we didn't even finish drinks. We left and went elsewhere. Truly get the feeling 'locals' are NOT wanted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Poachers Pocket also viewed

 

Been to The Poachers Pocket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing