We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Splendid vacation!”
other travellers have booked this property
Large shady terrace, private gardens and BBQ, includes herb garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large shady terrace, private gardens and BBQ, includes herb garden
Private gardens with BBQ and fabulous views over open countryside. Elevated views over stunning landscape
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Large shady terrace, private gardens and BBQ, includes herb garden
Private gardens with BBQ and fabulous views over open countryside.
Elevated views over stunning landscape
A cool and comfortable afternoon retreat.
Large cool double room with en-suite
Large cool twin room with en-suite
Lower pool terrace with dappled shade and tranquil surrounding.
Large double room with en-suite
Dinning area for six persons plus high chair.
Comfortable lounge area with stone fire place and arches
Planning something special? we can also provide chocolates and fresh flowers
Cool and bright living area. Views over the pool terrace.
Large well equip kitchen
We have books, board games, pens and colouring for the children.
Open living space and kitchen with access to the bedrooms
It is the little details that make all the difference to your holiay experience.
Homemade treats and preserves and our farm produce, compliments of the house.
Rustic charm
Alfresco dinning
Traditional regional country house with stunning un-interupted views.
View from your terrace
4.5 hectares of private landscaped grounds and gardens set in an Alentejo backdrop
We have freerange poultry, ponies, pigmy goats and pet pigs
Views of the farm
Pretty gardens
We have poultry, fresh eggs daily
Our pygmy goats
Adult bicycles for our guests
Explore our 4.5 hectares with meadows and gardens.
Castro Verde carpets of colour in spring time.
Stunning rolling countryside dotted with towns and villages throughout the region.
Many activities and discoveries to be made
Traditional farming
We have several superb local vineyards, offering tours, tasting and dinner.
Activities for all the family
Explore the landscape on a quad
A special area for birding
Swallow tailed butterflies in the kitchen gardens
Explore our unspoilt coastline, within an hour to the west or south.
ballooning
Stunning landscapes
Pretty towns and villages
Festivals all year
Historic sites to discover
Where time stands still
Ancient lands and megalithic sites
Explore historical sites by carriage
Fabulous regional dishes and wines
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castro Verde, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tukkerboy
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendid vacation!”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We were three woman staying at this wonderful luxury cottage. The house was very comfortable and spacious, furnished with everything you need.
Spending time outside on the veranda or by the pool surrounded by beautiful landscape was very pleasant. We couldn't of asked for more.
Being walking distance to the lovely town of Castro Verde with its friendly people and good restaurants was a big bonus.
Michaela was so helpful and friendly. We so much want to return again.

Thank you Michaela!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
Carnaxide, Portugal
1 review
“Peaceful place”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent holidays in the country, one week outside the usual touristic circuits but near the nature.
Casa Laranjeira at Quinta do Monte, in the typical region of Portugal, Alentejo, is full of charm and peace.
Everything is perfectly clean and tastefully decorated.
Swimming pool calls for refresh because sun is very burning there.
Owners, Michaela and Nigel, are very nice and provide guests with all to make stay pleasant and relaxing.
There are lot of restaurants at walking distance in Castro Verde and places to visit.
Icing on the cake: pigs, hens, goats, ponies and horses we can visit and feed with food leaving. Children and adults love.
Thank you to Michaela and Nigel for so perfect staying and we are thinking about retur next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for writing us a review. We loved having you, your children and grandchildren here and look forward to welcoming you back next year. Until then, best wishes to you all. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caslad80
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just got back from here and all I can say is that the place is amazing.. great accommodation in a beautiful setting. Michaela made our holiday very smooth and recommended some great places to visit.. loved the terrace with BBQ and the views from the cottage. Some amazing restaurants in Castro Verde too. Definitely returning next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
We look forward to seeing you again next year and glad you enjoyed your stay at Monte da Quinta in Castro Verde so much. best wishes x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
111loulou...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect oasis ! 100% relaxation !”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in August 2015

Great family friendly holiday with stunning views ,pool and farm . Michaela and Nigel have made a perfect oasis to relax in - you will not want to go home ! We hired both cottages as we were a large party but we had everything to hand and we're made to feel very welcome . The accommodation is comfy and the kitchens are well equipped so you could easily stay in if you needed but why would you when Castro Verde offers some great restaurants ! The kids loved feeding the animals and the adults loved the walk into town for some delicious meals and wine . We hope to visit again very soon .

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scox578
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Holiday at Monte De Quinta”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was picturesque, spacious and very welcoming . The spotless bedrooms were all ensuite and had terraces outide every bedroom and a large private terrace outside the front. The cottages overlooked the fabulous pool and very well kept gardens. Sun loungers and shady hammocks helped us to relax and chill. We liked the private feel of the cottages as they are set within the owners farm.

We got plenty of use of the brick built BBQ and sat out on our terrace in the evenings enjoying the warmth and relaxing. Town is a 10 minute walk and we had a great time in the gin bars where there was often very good live music in the evenings.

We also found plenty to do; we went quad biking and went to an amazing Moroccan market in a spectacular hillside town. We also had a lovely meal in a nearby vineyard.

Michaela and Nigel were very welcoming hosts and we felt very well looked after. We have already booked more holidays with them in September 2017 and June 2018.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic location in Castra Verde”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Monte Da Quinta is a converted local farm - with every modern amenity and a smashing couple of hosts. You won't do better. I can fully recommend a stay here you won't be disappointed. Both cottages have two bedrooms and both are en-suite. The pool is very well maintained and a pleasure to use. The surroundings and grounds are in keepinmg with its local situation. Each cottage is very well appointed and has everything most families would want. You must give it a try - we shall be back again next year - old age permitting !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and sun beds - no reason to rush for them
Liked least: Wi Fi a bit intermittent at times
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed with this wonderful location and welcome”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

When you drive through the gates you cannot help but be impressed by this beautiful property and you will not be disappointed. The animals are a delight as were the oranges eggs honey marmalade and vegetables. Nigel and Michelle are excellent hosts who went the extra mile on our behalf. The cottage has everything to make your stay comfortable.A little bit of paradise in Portuagal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All great
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing