We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent villa, hosts and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Large shady terrace, private gardens and BBQ, includes herb garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large shady terrace, private gardens and BBQ, includes herb garden
Private gardens with BBQ and fabulous views over open countryside. Elevated views over stunning landscape
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Large shady terrace, private gardens and BBQ, includes herb garden
Private gardens with BBQ and fabulous views over open countryside.
Elevated views over stunning landscape
A cool and comfortable afternoon retreat.
Large cool double room with en-suite
Large cool twin room with en-suite
Lower pool terrace with dappled shade and tranquil surrounding.
Large double room with en-suite
Dinning area for six persons plus high chair.
Comfortable lounge area with stone fire place and arches
Planning something special? we can also provide chocolates and fresh flowers
Cool and bright living area. Views over the pool terrace.
Large well equip kitchen
We have books, board games, pens and colouring for the children.
Open living space and kitchen with access to the bedrooms
It is the little details that make all the difference to your holiay experience.
Homemade treats and preserves and our farm produce, compliments of the house.
Rustic charm
Alfresco dinning
Traditional regional country house with stunning un-interupted views.
View from your terrace
4.5 hectares of private landscaped grounds and gardens set in an Alentejo backdrop
We have freerange poultry, ponies, pigmy goats and pet pigs
Views of the farm
Pretty gardens
We have poultry, fresh eggs daily
Our pygmy goats
Adult bicycles for our guests
Explore our 4.5 hectares with meadows and gardens.
Castro Verde carpets of colour in spring time.
Stunning rolling countryside dotted with towns and villages throughout the region.
Many activities and discoveries to be made
Traditional farming
We have several superb local vineyards, offering tours, tasting and dinner.
Activities for all the family
Explore the landscape on a quad
A special area for birding
Swallow tailed butterflies in the kitchen gardens
Explore our unspoilt coastline, within an hour to the west or south.
ballooning
Stunning landscapes
Pretty towns and villages
Festivals all year
Historic sites to discover
Where time stands still
Ancient lands and megalithic sites
Explore historical sites by carriage
Fabulous regional dishes and wines
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castro Verde, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sam B
1 review
“Excellent villa, hosts and location”
Reviewed 14 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Really nice and well kept villa set in lovely grounds. The pool is perfect for a villa of this size and the local town has several decent restaurant options within walking distance despite being small enough to feel very quiet and relaxed.

Our hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful, would gladly return in future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead L
Co. Kildare
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb again!”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was our 3rd time to stay at Monte da Quinta and we've never returned anywhere else more than once so that says a lot about this special place. The property is great, it's kept really well and the attention to detail is just lovely - the fresh flower petals in the rooms on arrival is just a lovely touch. Wonderful welcome hamper which is enough for your first evening snack or breakfast. The pool and gardens are amazing and even in May we were swimming every day. Michaela & Nigel are wonderful hosts and can't help enough with recommendations of things to do or places to eat or visit. Monte da Quinta is an ideal spot for us as it's in a wonderful rural setting but only walking distance into a lovely town with some great and very reasonable restaurants. I'm sure we'll be back again...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Hey there, thanks for staying with us once again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Always a pleasure to welcome back guests that have the same passion about the place as we do. Best wishes x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordD...
stafford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best self catering we have stayed at, home or abroad.”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Superb views in a quiet rural location but still within 10 mins walk of town and its excellent restaurants. A perfect centre for our birdwatching/visiting historic towns holiday. Little Owl, Azure Magpies, Bee-eaters and many others on site, with great views of Bustards, Harriers, Eagles etc in the local area. Michaela was an excellent host, offering helpful advice and information when asked. The facilities were comprehensive, with an extensive welcome hamper, all cleaning materials, towels etc. If you are looking for the real Portugal, away from the tourist beaches this area is the perfect answer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you and your friends here at Monte da Quinta and to share the beauty of the Alentejo in Spring time with you all.Hope to see you again soon, best regards M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn9966
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was my fourth visit here , the accommodation is of a very high standard, the surroundings are beautiful , it has a lovely pool and sun terrace. It's an easy walk to the local shops and restaurants, the supermarket is also within walking distance , I highly recommend this place , the owners are lovely and make sure you have a comfortable stay, I will most definitely be back .

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_J2
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect surroundings to relax in”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Just the perfect place to relax and forget about the daily stresses of life! Such a warming welcome, everything possible thought of was provided and anything extra that we needed was solved by a trip to the nearby supermarket. Such comfortable accommodation, perfect friendly hosts, the just perfect quiet getaway. Restaurants and bars very cheap, good food, welcoming and friendly. Wouldn’t hesitate to return at anytime to just chill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review. Great to have you stay at our property for a little spring time rest and relaxation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthEngl...
SouthEngland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another awesome, relaxing break at Monte da Quinta”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Another wonderful stay at Monte da Quinta, the quality is as good as ever and the hosts Michaela and Nigel extremely welcoming with every little convenience thought of and provided.
Some great trips to the Algarve and Atlantic coast this time including a visit to a pottery and artisan chocolate maker plus a favourite beach restaurant (Choupana) at Vila Nova de Milfontes.
Looking forward to the next visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G
1 review
“Our 5th stay and we really hope it is not our last”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

September saw our 5th visit to Monte da Quinta and suffice to say we all had another fantastic time. A perfect combination of relaxation, great hospitality and sunshine. We would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a break away from it all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing