We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A wonderfully relaxing break”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
40 reviews | other travellers have booked this property
Farmhouse 2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Sleeps 4 Pets not allowed Save
Traditional architecture with modern facilities, large pool and sun terrace.
Traditional architecture with modern facilities, large pool and sun terrace.
Shady terrace and private garden includes a herb garden and BBQ, views of the pool.
Luxury country house with landscaped gardens, BBQ and immediate access to the pool.
Lower pool terrace with stunning views over the meadows and Alentejo landscape
Double bedroom with en-suite facilities and views over open countryside
Twin bedroom with en-suite facilities and double doors onto a shady terrace.
Dining area for four persons plus high chair.
Quiet corners to relax and enjoy the local wines.
Spacious living area with stone fireplace and arches.
Elevated terrace with dappled shade and a stunning Alenejo backdrop
Upper pool terrace with sun loungers, palm trees and amazing views.
Large well equip kitchen with a breakfast bar. A back doors leads to rear terrace.
Planning something special? we can also provide chocolates and fresh flowers.
Pool terrace and landscaped garden
Spacious cool living area with double doors to the private dining terrace
Welcome hamper with home made treats our farm produce and local wine and cheese
It is the little details that make the difference to your holiday experience.
We have free range poultry, ponies, pigmy goats and pet pigs here.
We have 4.5 hectares of meadows and gardens to explore.
Fields of sun flowers
Everyone enjoys te sun.
Rolling landscapes dotted with historic villages and towns.
amazing wildlife
Castro Verde and its carpets of colour during spring time
Traditional farming
Beautiful walks around local lakes and dams
Explore our stunning unspoilt coastline, within an hour to the west or south
Carriage rides
regional cheeses
Local festivals
Local festivals
Many activities available
Pretty towns and villages
Amazing landscapes
Historical sites to visit
Ancient lands and megalithic sites
Carriage rides to see the sites
Where time stands still
Try the regional food and wines.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SeanPinne...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
A wonderfully relaxing break

We were both looking for a relaxing week and Casa Oliveira certsainly delivered.

The cottage is beautifully equipped with everything you might need. Our host Michaela had lots of ideas for places to visit or local restaurants to dine at, but was never obtrusive.

We loved sitting on the terrace enjoying the views across the Alentejo countryside and having a dip in the pool when it got too hot. The farm was also lovely to wander around and feed the animals.

Castro Verde town is just five minues walk away with all the amenities you need. The basilica is well worth a visit.

We also had a tour of the nearby LPN reserve, where we saw great bustards and my partner enjoyed horseriding in nearby Ourique.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the terrace & pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
October is a perfect climate for outside activities. We are so happy you saw the Great Bustards at the environmental centre and were able to combine a little horse ridding whilst staying here at Monte a Quinta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Peacefulness of the location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapest, Hungary
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Only staying 10 days
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
oxfordshire, uk
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The pool and grounds
Liked least: The local town was a bit quiet but this wasn't a problem
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Thank you once again for staying with us for two weeks. We would love to see you and your family returning to Monte da Quinta and dont forget our loyalty discount applies to you, your family and friends. Enjoy the rest of the summer hols, hope to see you soon. M x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rhoslwyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
A lovely holiday

We had a lovely week at Monte da Quinta.

The "casa" (one-floored house) we rented ("Casa Oliveira") was in excellent condition and well equipped. We shared the pool area with the occupants of the other "casa" at Monte da Quinta - this worked out well.

Our hosts, Michaela and Nigel, were really welcoming and made a big contribution to the enjoyment of our holiday. We picked fresh oranges from the orchard to make orange juice most mornings - a real highlight - and fed our green waste to the pigs and goats. There was a "welcome hamper" waiting for us on our (late night) arrival.

The surrounds of Monte da Quinta are nice - a 10 minute walk to the small town of Castro Verde, which has a supermarket, bakery, etc. - all the essentials.

The region of Alentejo suited us down to the ground - villages and small towns with long histories, quaint restaurants, miles of rolling countryside and almost traffic-free roads. The waves of the west coast of Portugal are also within easy reach.

It was very warm in July (35-40 C), but this was also a pleasant change for us! Sun-cream and mosquito repellent might be handy just in case.

Without doubt this was one of our most enjoyable summer holidays.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Making our own freshly squeezed orange juice from oranges we picked in the orchard
Liked least: Nothing - every reasonable effort was made to make our holiday enjoyable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to celebrated a special birthday during your holiday. Its nice to see a family exploring and discovering the Alentejo and we hope you will remember your first trip to Portugal fondly. M x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mbennett0
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
Great holiday, lovely location, wonderful accomodation

I can wholeheartedly recomend this holiday rental. We went for two weeks at the start of October and we had a superb time and I'm already planning a trip back. The accomodation was pristine, spacious and far better stocked than my house at home! The pool is excellent with a separate childrens area and we were in it nearly everyday (even in October)

This was our first holiday abroad with our 13 month old son and it was perfect - highchair, travel cot & playpen all provided. Every morning we would feed the farm animals - pigs, geese, ducks, chickens, guinea fowl (&of course turkey!) and in the afternoon go and see the goats & ponies. Childrens DVDs, toys and books were in abundance and my son loved his stay.

The location is also fabulous a 5 min walk into Castro Verde a tradional untouristy town which has the essentials - bars, cafe, restaurants, supermarkets and bakery. The accomodation is just on the outskirts so you also have the benefit of it feeling quite secluded & there are fabulous views across the Alentejo countryside from the villa terrace. Local towns such as Mertola, Serpa and Beja are beautiful & definitely worth a visit (if you can drag yourself away from the pool!)

The weather in October was amazing and we were in the pool nearly everyday and BBQs every evening. Michaela and NIgel were wonderful hosts with great recommendations - particularly the local vineyards and restaurants, a visit to Malhaladina vineyard is a must.

We had a lovely holiday, I can't wait to go back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.