We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail..”
Review of De Grote Kievit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Grote Kievit
Ranked #1 of 7 Geel B&B and Inns
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail..”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I had the pleasure to stay with Jan and Marc on a regular basis due to a work assignment in the area. After staying in the usual hotels I discovered De Grot Kevit and never looked back as I discovered perhaps one of the best B&B's I've ever stayed at. The location is peaceful, away from the hustle of a town and is surrounded by fields and woods and the building has been renovated to such a high standard. The rooms are superb, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast is great and attention to detail is applied to everything! The guys take great pride in all aspects from the greeting when you arrive to the farewell when you leave, customer service at the highest level. A home from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc v, Owner at De Grote Kievit, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
A "home from home" and "attention to detail"! Those are the best compliments we can get!!
Thanks for this really nice and positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cesena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Me, my boyfriend and a friend of ours have recently been at De Grote Kievit to join Groezrock festival in Meerhout. The b&b was 20 minutes far from there, surrounded by an outstanding garden and a super relaxing atmosphere. Jan and Marco made us feel like home, nourishing their place as a member of the family itself and preparing us fantastic breakfasts during our 3 days stay. The house is extremely clean and well designed, our king size bed was really big and confy, everything was perfect and if you want to relax and chill out in the middle of nowhere that's the perfect place to go!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc v, Owner at De Grote Kievit, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for the really nice and positive review!!!
And indeed most of our guests visit us to enjoy the scenery, relax, chill, hiking, biking...etc....or as a peacefull haven to make trips to nearby city's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Prepare for a "hello" outside when you arrive. It sets the scene: very warm and supportive hosts will do their utmost to make your stay a good and relaxing one. It is a wonderful, peaceful, clean B&B with the luxury that Relais and Chateaux can match. Excellent breakfast with local products and an egg as wished. Cosy, warm people, and helping out in anything they can: De Grote Kievit is worth a special mentioning in B&B. I recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vesalian00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Degrotekievit, Owner at De Grote Kievit, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you very much for the really nice review! We always try to to make our guests feel at home and make it as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Marc and Jan have a wonderful property here. We have been very well received and they stayed always available to give us all sort of information.
The house and the garden, really huge garden, are beautiful. Marc and Jan have designed all themselves and did an exceptional job.
The house and the rooms are spotlessly clean. We can't remember we have ever stayed in a hotel or room that was so immaculate.
They pay attention to every detail. Even the breakfast, very rich, is an architectural, aestethical pleasure.
There is nothing we can think of that is negative about this place!
They provide the very best for a reasonable price. The room was not only spacious and amazingly clean but even included free wireless internet access. And again, the hosts are not only very welcoming but they are happy to give any advice or help you might need.
Thank you Marc and Jan for a perfect stay!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Apple room, but both rooms are even fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRINX Studios A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Degrotekievit, Owner at De Grote Kievit, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you very much for your beautifull, positive and extensive review! This is why we like to do this job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geel hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Verlooy
Hotel Verlooy
#1 of 2 in Geel
36 reviews
4.2 mi away
Corbie Geel
Corbie Geel
#2 of 2 in Geel
69 reviews
4.0 mi away
B&B Belrose Luxury
B&B Belrose Luxury
#2 of 7 in Geel
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Roosendaelhof
4.1 mi away
Aparthotel Esplanada
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hooglandhoeve
#4 of 7 in Geel
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Grote Kievit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Grote Kievit

Property: De Grote Kievit
Address: Grotekievit 2, Geel 2440, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Geel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Geel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast De Grote Kievit. The Grote Kievit is an early 19th-century farm with a rich history (King Leopold I, Baron Coppens, the First World War…). The professional renovation by the present owners, Marc van den Boorn and Jan Goossens, interior designer and landscaper, gave the buildings and the B&B a very modern feeling respecting the old features. The lovely landscaped garden is very inviting. There are chickens and sheep. You enjoy a copious breakfast with homemade jams, fresh eggs etc....The Grote Kievit is situated in a protected agricultural Kempen area with fields, farms, woods, the Prinsenpark, bogs and wonderful biking and walking routes... Peace, quietness, nature and relaxing...Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your De Grote Kievit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing