We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Citrusdal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautifull views. Very neat and you realy just relax. Very friendly staff and food is delicious. The tuck shop just needs more stock but overall one of our best holiday places. The pools are a winner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliznacoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Left Cape Town just before 16h00 to beat the traffic.
On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Estelle and her friendly reception staff and drinks.
The check in was quite quick and I was given my chalet's keys and directions to my weekend accommodation. I parked my car (under cover parking) for the whole weekend because my chalet was too cosy to even leave. On entry I was suitably impressed with spacious open plan concept. The dishwasher was to everyone's delight. My cousin decided as I was the host I should have the main bedroom with en suite bathroom. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are bliss. The younger couple chose the loft room which is quite spacious. The second bedroom with twin beds (my cousin and her husband chose this room) is just as nice and also en suite. It rained the weekend and I enjoyed the lovely wood burning fireplace. Usually I explore the surrounding towns but I loved the rainy weekend to just relax for a change. My chalet number 9 has the best views of the valley and the town of Citrusdal and the rising sun (i.e. on the last day of my stay). My family went to the indoor pool on the Sunday and they could not stop raving about the lovely hot water. I enjoyed walking in the lovely gardens (in the rain) and taking photos of the garden and the surrounding fynbos. On Sunday evening we enjoyed drinks in the bar. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the atmosphere appeared very relaxing. There are lots of activities for all ages. Although the N7 road runs quite close to the hotel it is not noisy but pleasant to hear trucks going by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaWilliams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good accommodation but we decided to have Sunday lunch in the restaurant before we left. Placed our order and waited an hour and still had not received our drinks. the restaurant was not even busy. Very disappointed as we have been here before

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Justine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan H, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your valued feedback and support. We strive to always provide excellent service and therefore appreciate your review. This will enable us to ensure that our staff continue to receive training and are made aware of the importance of excellent and friendly service.

Kind regards
Jan Horn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stumbled on this place looking for coffee and a view!! What a great surprise. We started with coffee and then biltong tart, scones with salmon and cream cheese and then a local bottle of Sauvignon blanc from the area. The manager was also kind enough to show us their wedding / function venue and we plaid chess on their big chess board on the grass drinking wine overlooking the stunning valley. We also looked at the rooms and they really look fantastic, modern and cozy. Their wedding package is fully inclusive and very reasonable. I will return one day.

Room Tip: Honeymoon sweet is best and biggest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antoinette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkresort, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for stopping by. We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Warm regards
Estelle & Jan Horn
GM Couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had such a wonderful, relaxing Easter break.We found the rooms to be very modern and spacious, the food very well-priced, and the facilities for children perfect for a weekend away.
The staff were truly very attentive and friendly, and this made it even more memorable.

Room Tip: Room 106 is quiet, very spacious and has great views and easy access to the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkresort, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Piekenierskloof. We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Kind regards
Estelle & Jan Horn
GM Couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Two of us stayed in a three bedroom cottage, so we had lots of space. Thatched cottage had one bedroom upstairs and a large living area downstairs with 7m. high beamed ceiling, plus two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Covered outside sitting area with views across the valley about 400m below and into the distance perhaps 20km. Absolutely stunning.
Very comfortable.
Food in the restaurant was fine, but nothing special.
Staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The three bed cottage was not much more expensive than the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkresort, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Piekenierskloof. We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Kind regards
Estelle & Jan Horn
GM Couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at Piekenierskloof Mountain Lodge from 10 March 2014 to 14 March 2014. The hotel has a beautiful setting, surrounded by lovely mountain scenery. It is a great peaceful place to get away from it all. It is a peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The meals were excellent and the staff are friendly and always willing to assist. Everything is neat, clean and tidy. We enjoyed the pools, table tennis and giant chess game. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindi071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkresort, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Piekenierskloof. We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Kind regards
Estelle & Jan Horn
GM Couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Citrusdal hotels
5.5 mi away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 21 in Citrusdal
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
109 reviews
3.7 mi away
Citrusdal Country Lodge
Citrusdal Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in Citrusdal
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#8 of 21 in Citrusdal
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Die Vlei Citrusdal
Die Vlei Citrusdal
#12 of 21 in Citrusdal
5 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aan d' Oewer
Aan d' Oewer
#2 of 7 in Citrusdal
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort

Address: N 7 National Road | Piekenierskloof Pass, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Citrusdal
Price Range: £55 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the breathtaking Piekenierskloof Mountain Lodge, situated in the Cederberg mountains and a mere two hours' drive from Cape Town. The lodge boasts 22 hotel rooms, 16 self-catering chalets, 2 quality conference rooms, the Kloof restaurant, ladies bar and guest lounge. Wakeup to the state of absolute relaxation, personalised service and elegance. Piekenierskloof Mountain Lodge is the ideal destination for business executive, the weary traveler or a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing