We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs serious upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wolfkop Camping Villages
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great location. Kids loved it. However, it was overpriced and the kitchen and toilets were nauseating. We booked and paid for 3 nights but could only cope with 2. Fortunately we came prepared with a large cooler box and frozen water bottles as the "advertised" kitchen with fridges and microwave were in a very dirty and unhygienic condition. Walk next door to the toilets and you can just imagine the condition. At R750 a night for two adults and a child, this is a complete ripoff. Some 4 star hotels are charging those rates. Overall a disappointing experience which can be rectified with minimal effort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derrick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dreamdreamy, Owner at Wolfkop Camping Villages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thanks so much for your review! we are taking the bathrooms very seriously so sorry for that. The next season there will be a cleaner on duty everyday for the bathrooms. Regarding the price for the accommodation we unfortunately can not drop it as the wear and tear on the tents and equipment and set up and break down every week is to labour intensive. Hope to have you with us again soon!

Regards,

Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our first visit to Wolfkop Camping Village and although the scenery is exceptionally beautiful, the place is extremely dirty. Cost per night was R850 for 4 people and for this rate I would expect neat & clean ablution facilities. The fridges were covered with insects on the inside, the microwave filthy and I cannot even begin to explain the state of the shower.
The website advertise cotton percale bedding. We received a white sheet with white pillow cover and one old blanket and one old sleeping bag (all with holes in).
The list goes on and on. Have a look at the photo's and decide for yourself. I would not recommend this place at all. You can find a camping spot at half this rate, with clean kitchen and ablution facilities.

Room Tip: They are completely over-priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ilse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dreamdreamy, Owner at Wolfkop Camping Villages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi Ilse,

Thanks so much for your response. I have been talking with you over emails regarding your experience. Sorry once again we were little bit under staffed during holiday season, but we are putting a person there during the weekends and holiday season to only take control over the bathrooms. All repainting it as we are having it as a wedding venue. As i said we would love it if you would visit us again in the near future so you can see the changes.

Regards,

Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

what an awesome place, I could do this again and again and again. Beautiful space, no disturbance, just off the river.

An relaxing time all round.

The facilities are excellently kept. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: We had a 2 x 3 quarter beds, 1 of them was large enough for myself and my husband.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindyleejacksonmorga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We just stayed for one night on a bike trip though the Cederburg. We normally pack everything we need for camping but on this enduro ride we packed light.

We were amazed with all the accuracy everthing was thought off and neatly packed. Werner really thought of everything.

Very clean tents, beds and the grass is pedantically looked after.

2 thumps up on a job well done!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had an awesome time camping next to the river!! The camp facilities was top notch and we had everything we needed. I liked the bedouin style tents as its gives an unique feel to the whole camping experience. Sadly we only stayed one night as we had to move on to our other destination but would like to come and visit again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank johans956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is surely a hidden gem of the Cederberg, nestled next to the mighty Olifants river, this is a great place to relax and have a good time with family or friends. Tents are well kitted & bathrooms nice & clean. I'd recommend this for anyone who wants a weekend away without packing a thing. Just buy food & rock-up.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nungerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is such a great place especially when its hot and you can just lie on a lilo in the river all day, swim, relax and enjoy spending time with special people. I've been to Wolfkop Camping Villages twice and stayed in one of the caravans, and loved it both times. Such a chilled vibe especially with a group of mates!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Citrusdal
23.3 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
15.6 mi away
Porterville Hotel
Porterville Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porterville
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 21 in Citrusdal
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#6 of 21 in Citrusdal
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Coast Luxury Tents
West Coast Luxury Tents
#2 of 3 in Dwarskersbos
3 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfkop Camping Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfkop Camping Villages

Address: Grootfontein Farm, Keerom Rd, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Citrusdal
Price Range: £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you think that having no tent should stop you from actually going camping, think again. This is longer the case with the arrival of Wolfkop Camping Villages. The hassle and logistics of a camping weekend in the Citrusdal Valley is now a thing of the past. The slogan, "You only bring food and clothes," shakes up any preconceived idea you have about camping - leaking tents, missing poles and pegs.... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing