We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! Yes! Yes!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Citrusdal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Petersfield Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yes! Yes! Yes!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for a few days at Petersfield in January/February 2014 with friends - and I cannot speak highly enough of this place. If you are looking for peace and tranquility in comfortable surrounds with well appointed facilities .... then do not hessitate to book here.

If memory serves me correctly - there are 4 cottages, each having its own unique style.

The cottage we stayed in, had no electricity. But do 'not' be put off by this fact as you are provided with gas and therefore can still cook, boil water and bath/shower. At night, it was wonderful to burn candles - as this just added to the warmth, ambiance and coziness of it all. (Other cottages on the property, do have electricity).

Additionally, each cottage has its own plunge pool - a welcome relief from the heat of Citrusdal. It was lovely to lie back on the deck chairs provided while catching up on reading, sipping wine and catching up on a much needed tan.

We also went to the dam and took advantage of the canoes available for rowing and general fun.

Friends of ours "regularly" stay at Petersfield and we've been lucky enough to be invited to spend a day with them on such occassions. As a result, we've also been lucky enough to enjoy the comfort of the well appointed Stonehaven cottage - which only caters for couples. This a lovely, newly built and modern cottage that will simply take your breath away. The open air bath is to die for.

Personally, I cannot wait to return. But Petersfield is so popular - you have to book a year in advance to get in. This in itself should tell you that this is the 'place to be'. As such, we return in January 2015.

You might not see the owners on your arrival - but they have a wonderful way of welcoming you, with a note of welcome, fresh flowers in the cottage and welcome glass of sherry. Much appreciated. The beds are good, as is the bed linen. The cottages are spotless and you need not panic about using the shower.

The cottages are spread far apart - giving you 100% privacy. Do not hessitate to book your stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelgaE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
57
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My hubby and I stayed in Die Veespos for 3 nights of unrivaled rest & relaxation - without any interruptions from the outside world.
The cottage is handsome, comfortable and the total lack of electricity makes it all the more endearing.
We took our 2 dogs with us, and they absolutely adored the farm - especially the long walk to Die Dam as they are cocker spaniels and love to swim...no matter how cold the water!
The fireplace at night was thoroughly enjoyed by us poised towards the crackling flames in our wing-back chairs and our hounds in their beds beside us.
The gas fridge, stove and geyser all worked efficiently.
My only disappointment on this particular stay was that I didn't get to try the outside bath as it was too cold and somewhat rainy.
This place will surely become a regular retreat for us and we would love to take friends and family with next time to share our special place with!

Room Tip: As this cottage has a large corner bath, is serviced by a gas water heater/geyser and has a lower wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looney_toon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Die Veepos and the accommodation was very good. More than enough wood to braai or have a nice fire. The rooms was great. The gas stove and fridge works very well. A great bonus is the fantastic fresh mountain water. It tastes absolutely fantastic. The views early in the morning and late afternoon should be experienced. Then there are all the stars!

The only thing to take into consideration is that the road is not really sedan friendly and if it rain then a 2x4 should rather be used.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janloubser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and i recently stayed at the Stonehill cottage on Petersfield farm. It is a dream getaway for a couple. All the cottages are strategicly placed enhancing your privacy. Stonehill is beautifully decorated and has everything you need. There is no tv so perfect for a couple to bond.
The spa bath in the room and the very spacious shower is heavenly. we absolutely loved sitting on the stoep and just admiring the beauty of the mountains and citrusdal at the bottom. Hedley and John are the perfect host.
The splash pool is ideal for a cool down after a morning hike but beware the water can be icy. The road to the cottage is a little steep and gravelly, best to have a 2x4
Loved every minute and will definately be back again.

Room Tip: For couples Stonehill is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Century City, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed in De Kom cottage for the weekend. Very good facilities, stunning location. Loved the fact that there is no electricity or cellphone reception. Spent most of the time in the swimming pool overlooking the beautiful Citrusdal valley and mountains. Hedley and John Ross were gracious hosts, making one feel very welcome. Perfect place for a relaxed, private break away

Room Tip: De Kom cottage has no electricity, so be ready to dine by paraffin lamps and use a gass geyser
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
king's lynn
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

How pleased we were to have persisted with our wish to stay here, even though it meant doubling back west from Montagu on our way east to Wilderness to get a 3 night availability. Stonehaven was like having a second honeymoon. We felt totally in tune with this lovely big all-purpose rooom but the best of all was having a bath at the end of the path around sunset looking down over the valley with a glass of wine in our hands.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank itma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villiersdorp, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was our fourth visit to Petersfield over a period of nine years at various times of the year. It has become so popular that we had to book a year in advance. It was very hot but the pool made it bearable for us humans - unfortunately our dogs were not happy in the heat of the day. The walks in the early morning and evening to the dam made up for it though.De Kom is the place to get away from it all as it has no electricity so no television or good cell phone reception and we spent a wonderful four days reading and relaxing. Next time we will come at a time of year when it is cooler for the dogs sake.My husband enjoys the 4x4 route.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tini H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Citrusdal hotels
4.0 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
6.9 mi away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 21 in Citrusdal
137 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Die Vlei Citrusdal
Die Vlei Citrusdal
#13 of 21 in Citrusdal
5 reviews
14.3 mi away
Wolfkop Camping Villages
Wolfkop Camping Villages
#8 of 21 in Citrusdal
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petersfield Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersfield Farm Cottages

Property: Petersfield Farm Cottages
Address: Box 36, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Citrusdal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing