We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Joy Hotel

Joy Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolonia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kolonia
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Joy Hotel is my first choice when I travel to Pohnpei. It is a relatively small hotel in the middle of town. The rooms are air conditioned, clean with basic amenities and cable TV. They have free wifi access in the rooms and restaurant and will give you the password once you check in. They will also book a rent-a-car for you if you want them to and have shuttle service between the airport and hotel. They are within walking distance to many great little stores, markets, post office, and the telecom, The rates are reasonable and the best thing about the hotel is their restaurant and friendly service. You have to try the Joy Lunch and the "pancake". Amazing!

Room Tip: Some rooms have one large bed and a couch while others have two large beds and no couch. There are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times before. It is very small with only six rooms. There is a great little restaurant on the first floor along with the reception area. The rooms are on the second and third floor. Each room is well-maintained, clean, and has all the basics. There's nothing fancy but when you stay at the joy hotel the pleasant nature of the staff
is certainly appreciated. At the top of the stairs, there is always a bunch of fresh
bananas to snack on.
The restaurant is very popular with local
folks and travelers as well. If you're going for lunch get there around 1130 or you won't get a table. Try the Joy Lunch special for meal you will be happy with!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sspencer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I’ve found Joy Hotel in Kolonia to be a bit of a lackluster place. Service was good, staff was friendly, and while my room was adequate it was also undeniably worn and could use a refurbishing. The A/C in my room struggled to keep it cool as well. At 90$ per night it’s not exactly good value for money. The in-house restaurant is nice. Joy Hotel is located centrally in Kolonia, but then again it’s such a small town that pretty much anywhere is central I guess. I had initially planned for 5 nights on Pohnpei, but ended up only have 2 because of some flight delays resulting in my late arrival. If I had had the originally planned 5 days I think I would have moved to the one major resort on Pohnpei. It’s out of town, more expensive, but from what I have seen much better suited for people on a touristic visit to Pohnpei.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My room was huge but suitable. They have a great restaurant down stairs and not only is it cheap, but a plateful of delicious dishes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLAUDIO I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

The Joy hotel is as good as can be expected for Pohnpei. Having lived and worked in the area for two years I can say that nothing in Pohnpei is worth the cost. The rooms are big enough and clean but are cheaply furnished and meet the very basic needs for a travel stay. The staff is friendly but there is no one at the front desk after 10:00 p.m. so don't expect to get any calls at night. The guard is usually sleeping at the front door if you come in late or drunk on Sakau. Having said this I would still recommend the Joy Hotel over most hotels in Pohnpei. It is centrally located as are all hotel in Pohnpei.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scrutinzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Joy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy Hotel

Property: Joy Hotel
Address: Kolonia, Kolonia, Pohnpei 96941, Federated States of Micronesia
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Pohnpei > Kolonia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kolonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room is equipped with air-condition, telephone, refrigerator, and cable TV. There is also a gift shop, restaurant, and laundry available for use of quests. complimentary transfers from the airport. The hotel is conveniently located in down town Kolonia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing