We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Faehrhaus Sylt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Faehrhaus Sylt
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munkmarsch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

An exllent hotel its near the beach its wonderfull i cant say bad things about this hotel its realy very very nice to stay in very nice dinner i realy suggest to come and take a look its realy nice hotel, Friendly staff also

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Faehrhaus Sylt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

Since 7 years I'm staying each year a few days with my family in this beautiful Hotel. Everything related to food is outstanding, newyears eve party is a must, staff is very well trained and friends.
Ooms and Spa are just perfect.
My next stay starts in January 2013, can't wait for a few days without Kids (Although Kids are very welcome here)

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the sea are really great or choose a suite in the neighbor Building Protthaus a...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeWeb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is truly a 5 Star hotel!
The service is superb, they make everything possible. A great help is the Concierge who knows everything about the island and can help in every way. No request stays unanswered!
The breakfast is outstanding. Dinner (we had the 3 course dinner included) was excellent. One evening the offer did not appeal to us so we asked if we could have "a la carte" at the restaurant. No problem, and the prepaid dinner was deducted towards our dinner bill.
The rooms are newly renovated, towels fluffy and wonderful shower and bath essentials from "Molton Brown" . The TV and music system is B&O.
This is one of the best hotels in Germany.
Since we are golfers we played "Budersand", very difficult! And also Marine Golf Club, not much easier! Both are links courses and in combination with the wind quite a challenge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nota1timetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This hotel was used in Roman Polanski's 2010 film The Ghost, where Sylt stood in for New England, so you can sit at the bar here and imagine you are a movie star.

Far and away the best thing about the place is the food. As many other reviewers have mentioned the breakfast is awesome, there are so many interesting and novel things to try out. The food in the gourmet restaurant is exceptionally good and the wine list is very reasonable for a starred restaurant.

As well as the cosy bar there is a little terrace, which outside of summer, is tented over and becomes a great place to smoke a cigar and is definitely the place to sit and write your book or film script. There are a couple of other nice lounges as well.

The hotel has bikes for hire and a small fleet of hire cars which are either Porsches (the manager explained that most of the guests own a Porsche and like to have the same car when on holiday) or convertible Minis. The hotel is somewhat remote and you will need a taxi, bike or car to explore the island (but being away from it all is the point of Sylt).

We thought the rooms were rather plain and austere but I think that is a cultural difference between British and German sensibilities.

Finally the staff are impeccable and extremely helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel although there are several other top hotels on Sylt that are also first class so it's a question of personal preference which you like best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownbear101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at Fähraus, our first time in Sylt. We usually stay at Relais & Châteux properties, as we really like the concept and we have never been disappointed (just one exception on a sample of 20 or so hotels). The issue with R&C is that in some areas (like in Sylt) there are not many properties to choose from. So we went for an alternative which, according to descriptions and reviews, would get quite close to the best R&C houses. And Fähraus managed to exceed our expectations!

The hotel is in a very quiet zone of Sylt, on the mud flats side (Wattenmeer). The only noise you often hear are the seagulls... Sleep quality is exceptional, helped by a well-insulated room and excellent beds.

We had a deluxe family suite, 56 m2 with two separate sleeping rooms (room 211) - ample space for parents and one kid (but would have probably taken a larger suite if both our teenager kids would have joined the trip). The suite was very modern, functional and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was also large, modern and with daylight coming from a roof window. One of the best suites we ever had, and nicely equipped: 3 TV screens, DVD player and a coffee/tea station. Minibar content was for free, as well as two newspapers every morning.

Breakfast was very rich, in good German tradition. We stayed in halfboard, and we were positively impressed by the quality of the food for the asked price (just EUR 29 per person). One evening we tried the famous 2-star gourmet restaurant (at EUR 140 per person), and although we really liked it in absolute terms, we tought it was just marginally better than the halfboard meals, which says a lot about the amazing value-for-money of the halfboard offering. It seems that a two-starred kitchen can not deliver less than excellence even on a tight budget...

Service: just very friendly, outgoing and nice people, regardless if it was at the front desk, in the restaurant, at the breakfast, concierge or housekeeping. We have not met one single person which was not "on a mission" to make our stay as pleasant as possible, and this is a quite service and people-intensive hotel...! (we have probably interacted with 20 people or so during our stay)

We cannot express our opinion on the SPA (a point of concern of some reviewers), as we never used it - we spent our time outdoor, biking and walking on this fantastic island.

We have tried hard to come up with something that could have been better, or something that went wrong... Nothing! Not even the price, which for Sylt and the experience offered is actually quite competitive

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lupoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have looked at many hotels in Sylt, but this hotel offers everything on a 5-star superieur level. The service, rooms, food, price, ambience. The hotel is located next to a small yacht harbor in a rural area and is a good starting point for all activities on the island. It's a boutique hotel, where modern and comfortable fits together well. The luxury is behind and always where it is estimated. Everything is well maintained and constantly being renovated and new things are ongoing. The team is friendly and helpful. The kitchen with Chef Pape outstanding. A big plus is that always served outside, if this is your wish. The breakfast is unbeatable. The wellness area has just the right size. Minibar is stocked at no cost. Free parking outside the hotel. Overall a hotel with high quality and price value. Director Gerhard Pohl (+family) and team are doing a great job. Congratulations!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed in a Deluxe Room for 3 nights.
The room was awesome! The shower even better!
We had a view of the sea from the balcony.
The walk-in dresser, which lit up, was huge with ample space and hangers for travellers wich lots of luggage.
Upon arrival we received complimentary bubbly and fruit with was replaced daily.
You could raise the top half of the bed, individually, to suit your needs.
The blinds on the windows were controlled electronically.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding with a huge selection of cold and warm dishes. You have a choice of ala carte warm dishes as well.
The staff was extremely helpfull at all times.
The spa was outstanding with a pool/jacuzzi/sauna/steam bath/special showers etc...
This hotel was the highlight of our trip and I can highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madame_XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munkmarsch
2.2 mi away
Severin's Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Landhaus Stricker
Landhaus Stricker
#1 of 4 in Tinnum
166 reviews
7.0 mi away
A-ROSA Sylt
A-ROSA Sylt
#1 of 2 in List
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Stadt Hamburg
Hotel Stadt Hamburg
#1 of 32 in Westerland
129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dorint Strandresort & Spa Sylt-Westerland
11.4 mi away
Budersand Hotel - Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faehrhaus Sylt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faehrhaus Sylt

Address: Bi Heef 1, 25980 Munkmarsch, Sylt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > North Friesian Islands > Sylt > Munkmarsch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munkmarsch
Price Range: £340 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Faehrhaus Sylt 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Faehrhaus Sylt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faehrhaus Sylt Munkmarsch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing