We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, charming getaway!”
Review of Les Trois Erables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakefield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Trois Erables
Ranked #1 of 4 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic, charming getaway!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

What a beautiful, charming getaway in the heart of Wakefield! Shana and Bruce have spared no expense. Beautiful, detailed rooms, clean with all necessary ammenities. The breakfast was fantastic! More than you could ask for. We felt very welcome and at ease. Would definitely recommend this B&B! Thank you for a great week-end. Chris and Jeanine.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestroiserables, Owner at Les Trois Erables, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! When we decided to renovate each of the bathrooms, we wanted to offer our guests a little unexpected luxury, and it sounds like we have succeeded. :) It was a delight having you and your family stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon for your next family event!

all the best,

Shana & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
92
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I recently went up for our anniversary. We both immediately fell in love with the location and overall charm of the estate. The grounds around the home are spectacular and the home itself is simply amazing!
The owners made the experience so welcoming and enjoyable the entire time we were there, always around to answer any questions and would go out of their way for the smallest request.
Strongly recommend getting away and staying here for a night or weekend, such a great find.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestroiserables, Owner at Les Trois Erables, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
What a lovely review, thank you! We loved having you stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon for that little getaway at your home away from home!

All the best,
Shana & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful old house set in the charming little town of Wakefield in Quebec, in the Gatineau Hills just 30 minutes drive north from Ottawa. The house is huge and beautifully decorated, with a comfortable elegance that makes you feel at home, but leaves you wishing this WAS your home! We stayed in the Stevenson suite on the third floor and we had a lovely room filled with interesting ceiling angles and nooks and crannies. The bed was incredibly comfortable with silky soft linen sheets. Our room had a nice little sitting area at one end, and a lovely window seat at the other, and had a nice writing table set into one corner. Our bathroom was charming, with a big antique tub as well as a spacious shower stall. Down on the ground floor there is a big dining room, a comfortable living room and a nice little coffee room with Tassimo coffee, and even a stocked cookie jar. Shana, the owner, has thought of everything that a person could possibly need to be comfortable, from the huge selection of slippers that greet you at the door, to the "pillow library" from which you can choose a pillow if the ones on your bed are not what you desire. The coffee room has not only the stocked cookie jar (homemade chocolate chip and walnut cookies - I checked!) but also some salty snacks for those late night munchies. Rooms have cosy touches like a shelf of books, and luxurious white bathrobes (his and hers). Best of all is the owner Shana herself, who goes way out of her way to make you feel at home. When we expressed an interest in getting a nice capuccino from a coffee shop, she made us some capuccino herself from her espresso machine - which was very kind of her as our room cost was substantially discounted as breakfast was NOT included due to renovations on the kitchen.
All in all, I highly recommend this B&B as a place for a mini-vacation. We wanted to get away for the weekend, and this was an ideal spot. Wakefield is filled with charming restaurants, fun shops and great nightly music. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Stevenson Suite on the third floor is quaint and cosy, with a lovely window seat that gives you a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A huge thank you to Shana (owner) and her lovely assistant who made our 1 night stay amazing and RELAXING. The B&B is just beautiful, and you can't beat the hospitality, and the scrumptious breakfast.
Wakefield is a beautiful little paradise, and Les Trois Erables is such a warm and inviting place to stay. We highly recommend Les Trois Erables as THE place to go and stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, and tastefully decorated, and very clean. If you are looking for somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

It was my first time to stay over in Wakefield. We had tickets to a show at The Blacksheep, we showed up early Friday evening to check into another place but they had screwed up our reservations and only booked one room for two couples. They could not find a second room for us so they contacted Les Trois Erables and they had two rooms for us! The two rooms were amazing, we ended closer to the show and got a superb breakfast the following morning. It was a great experience, we will go back to the Trois Erables again!
Claude and Gang

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClydeL194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestroiserables, Owner at Les Trois Erables, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy we were able to help out in a pinch, and are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Les Trois Erables. Wakefield is just that kind of place; we all try to help each other when we can. We look forward to having you stay with us again and of course joining us at our breakfast table!

Your hosts,
Shana & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I am a Mother of 2 young children and I travelled to Wakefield this past weekend and stayed at Les Trois Erables. This outing was my first time leaving the kids at home and I just have to say that Shana Hedges, owner of the B&B, was the ultimate host! Not only did she provide a breakfast that surpassed some of the best places found in Montreal but the beauty of her home and the peaceful environment of the Bed and Breakfast brought a sence of serenity to my tired mind and body.

Shana's knowledge of the surrounding businesses provided the resources to be able to enjoy Wakefield without the guess work normally involved when travelling to an unfamilar area. From the nearby restaurants to things to do and wear to shop Shana had all the answers!

I highly recommend staying at Les Trois Erables in Wakefield to anyone! Go for the tourisim, the food, the shopping or just for some quite time. The place is romantic, peaceful and over all just wonderful!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: I highly recommend either the Geggie or the Gatineau Rooms. They are very different depending on wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestroiserables, Owner at Les Trois Erables, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to find the relaxation you needed away from your busy home life. We welcome you to stay with us again the next time you need that little getaway, or even enjoy the excitement the village has to offer. Maybe take in a show at the Blacksheep, or have your friends join you for a Girl's Getaway Weekend! Whatever you choose, we look forward to seeing you again!

Your hosts,
Shana & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

It was my first time in Wakefield, what a beautiful place! This gorgeous B&B is located right by the water. You can't miss it driving up. the host is absolutely wonderful. She has a lot of information about the area. The rooms are all unique and special in their own way. We stayed in a room with a king size bed, fireplace and newly renovated bathroom. It feels like home, while still keeping a chic atmosphere. Some of the rooms compare to a high end hotel feel, and others like a charming cottage up north. The B&B is very clean and modern..extremely charming. The breakfast is amazing, delicious and fresh! Every course is home-cooked with lots of love. Shana is an amazing hot and amazing chef as well! I recommend this B&B with my eyes closed. It is perfect for a romantic getaway, a girls getaway with friends or even a solo stay! I loved Les Trois Erables and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKJ420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
0.5 mi away
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Alpengruss Motel
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#6 of 25 in Gatineau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
16.4 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge de Mon Petit Chum B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Trois Erables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Erables

Property: Les Trois Erables
Address: 801 Chemin Riverside, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be enchanted by the Victorian ambiance, with original stained glass, floors and unusual wood-work details. Different rooms allow you to relax and enjoy your getaway. Unwind on the spacious veranda, stroll through the inviting gardens, read a book or snooze on a garden bench. A three course breakfast at Les Trois Érables is traditionally served for you in the dining room. You will find a variety of restaurants within walking distance. Wakefield and area offer many opportunities to connect with nature, adventure and history. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing