We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Grange
Ranked #4 of 4 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Used this B&B to accommodate my family during my daughter's wedding in Wakefield. This renovated barn offers 2 large rooms with private bath and 2 rooms with shared bathroom. All were clean and very comfortable. Large common area was great so we could sit around and catch up, or prepare some of the wedding details. Back door gives onto a large back yard with a little sitting area. Adam, the owner is bilingual and friendly, and keeps the place spotless, even asked us to take off our shoes when we walked in. His breakfast was more than I expected, orange juice, large bowl of fruits, 2 pieces of french toast stuffed with bananas, cinnamon and brown sugar served with sliced fruit and maple syrup.YUM! Excellent tea and coffee available all day. We also had use of the large sunny kitchen to reheat food or keep drinks cold in the fridge. We felt right at home!
We would definitely go back, but this time, for a nice quiet weekend.

Room Tip: La Peche, Wakefield and Outaouais rooms are in the back and separated by a door from the common spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Anna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had such an amazing and relaxing weekend at La Grange. Beautiful, rustic and charming building with neat decor. Spacious room and bathroom. Very friendly and helpful owner, very knowledgeable about things to do in the area of which there are plenty regardless of season. Great spot for couples, families or friends. Just a really nice, warm atmosphere in a beautiful location. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Nice and cozy b&b. Owner is nice and friendly. Only thing we did not like is the poor breakfast, there was only one french toast (though delicious) with 2 thinly sliced oranges and pineapple.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, Owner at La Grange, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Sorry that breakfast wasn't satisfactory. It was a rare time when the owner was out of town and therefore not able to make breakfast, and an ex-employee took over the duties. We'll make sure it doesn't happen again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed at La Grange for 2 nights and found it a very relaxing place to be. It is a beautifully converted barn set in it's own grounds and is very spacious. The room and bathroom were large, well furnished and comfortable. There is also a large communal lounge which we had to ourselves one evening. The whole place was spotlessly clean and the owner was very friendly and helpful. The whole process for booking, arriving and leaving was seamless, it is a well run place. The only slight oddity I found was being offered no choice of cooked breakfast, it just arrived. Having said that it was freshly cooked and delicious but was not necessarily what we would have chosen to eat! Overall I recommend this B&B with no hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CordieBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

La Grange is a gorgeous B&B nestled into the mountains just above the cute little village of Wakefield, Quebec, near Gatineau Park. The building is a converted barn, and the facility is very spacious, with stunning open beam ceilings and wide wood floors. The suites are spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts served are delicious. There is a lodge-like open area with couches, fireplace, and seating areas with games and books. My siblings, mom and I met there for a family gathering (that included our 4 year old niece). We had the whole place to ourselves, which was wonderful. Delicious breakfast was served every morning - from creative souffles with berries to a creamy French toast concoction. Luckily I brought my own good coffee, though. If you like good coffee -- bring your own!The Grange also has a yoga studio and is perfect for a restful retreat.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites. There is quite a bit of difference in room quality between the much smaller regu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oteaatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We confidently recommend this B&B for all types of trips with the exception of romantic get a ways. This B&B is located in the bottom floor of an old barn. The upper floors are the residence of the inn keeper’s family. All rooms (4) seem to be above average in size, minimally furnished and casually styled. We stayed in a room with a private bath, both the room and bath were above average in size. Since you are in the basement the room windows are minimal and not much to talk about and the rooms are slightly darker than most places.
The facility contains a very large interior common area with a couch, tables, chairs, bookcase, fireplace and a walkout door leading to a large open grass backyard. The kitchen and eating area are adjacent to the interior common area and are available for guest use during off hours. Breakfast is served at one sitting and at one table and is more along the lines of being impressive than typical fare. The inn keeper is very friendly and accessible and also takes special breakfast requests.
The facility is located on a side street just off the highway and is very easy to find. Though you are close to downtown Wakefield, you are going to want to drive into town as the area is very hilly and the walk back to the inn would be very strenuous. The facility is also very accessible for some handicaps. You can literally park a few meters from the door and there are no stairs at the place.
There are two reasons we do not recommend La Grange for a romantic get a way. First the inn keeper’s family includes small children who live directly above the B&B space. They are not excessively loud nor early risers, but I would imagine the sound of them running around upstairs could be annoying to those looking to sleep in a bit. Secondly, the facility is minimally furnished; if you are looking for great views, impressive antiques, lace curtains and an extravagant bath you should look elsewhere.
For animal lovers, the family’s pet cats, George and Ben, and dog, Chili, are a delightful and sweet bonus. You are not allowed to bring them in, but they come around to socialize most anytime you are outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim_and_Jen_from_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Have stayed here many times. The breakfasts are always yummy, and the rooms are beautiful. If you're looking for something private, make sure to ask if they have a full house. Made the mistake of staying here once while a wedding party was and needless to say, did not sleep very well. Of course, who can blame someone who is excited to be married (but who also wants to pay full price to also be kept awake until 4 am right?).

Otherwise would recommend this hands over.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beezous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, Owner at La Grange, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Sorry about the noise level of the other guests, but thanks for understanding that we have no control over that! Most nights, it's very quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
0.8 mi away
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Alpengruss Motel
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
16.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
15.1 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#6 of 25 in Gatineau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Auberge de Mon Petit Chum B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange

Property: La Grange
Address: 37 Rockhurst Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Grange 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-Star bed & breakfast and yoga studio in the beautiful village of Wakefield, on the edge of Gatineau Park, only 20 minutes from downtown Ottawa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing