We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely morning activity”
Review of Eco-Odyssee

Eco-Odyssee
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Wakefield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located near the picturesque village of Wakefield, 30 minutes from Ottawa-Gatineau, you will discover beaver habitat while browsing a water maze (aboard a pedal boat or canoe) spread out over 6 km. We also have walking adventures (maze and walk in the wood).
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely morning activity”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Eco-Odyssey. Myself and my 11 year old son spent 2 hours on the Observer tour in a pedal boat. Beautiful area, thoroughly enjoyed seeing outdoors from this perspective. We both enjoyed finding clues and learning about the many species in the swamp. A little rain, but no problem since the pedalboats have a small roof that raises up to shield from rain or sun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank awayjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good afternoon of outdoor fun”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We enjoyed our afternoon at Eco-odyssey. It was a nice ride in a pedalboat and the equipment provided was all in good condition. The staff were friendly and helpful. My son enjoyed using the compass and following the directions to find our way through the maze. We also enjoyed some time checking out other pathways after completing the maze. The price was reasonable at just under $50 for a family of three for two hours of entertainment. It was a little bit of a drive out there but we enjoyed it. Nice areas for picnic lunches. No food for purchase when we were there. We saw lots of beautiful frogs, ducks, birds and even an otter. Recommended for families. The hike afterwards was fun too but the puzzle was hard to follow!

A nice afternoon and honestly there were no bugs to speak of at all! Enjoy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful little adventure”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were looking for some unusual fun and found it at Eco Odyssee. Not only do you do some (easy) exercise but you learn a lot about many animals you see quite often but have no knowledge as to what they are all about. And then, there are the beavers which go about doing their things while being observed from VERY close. The whole concept is great for children as well as children at heart and we had a wonderful day enjoying all the facilities available. The staff is great and the owner alone is worth doing the trip as he is very knowledgeable and loves to tell you about his beaver "babies". We will be back there soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank louis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Greater than you would think”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My company took us to this and I thought "Great, we'll be paddleboating through a swamp". They also have canoes and it doesn't seem like a swamp, it is more of a maze of water paths between small islands. It smelled like a swamp in one small area, but the rest was fresh outdoors. Everyone had a blast! There was a contest where you had to find items, but that made it too complex for me; I just enjoyed the day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank irchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eco-Odyssee - fun time”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Two hours of fun (with a little exercise thrown in ☺) Customer service was excellent. Knowledgeable and helpful staff. Learned interesting facts while enjoying the scenery.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eco-Odyssee also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Val-des-Monts, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Eco-Odyssee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing