We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic lunch on the patio.”
Review of Le Hibou

Le Hibou
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, International, Gastropub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Discover internationally inspired flavours featuring products from our incredible local farmers! Located in the heart of Wakefield, Quebec on the Gatineau river, we have an amazing view that makes you feel like you are on vacation as soon as you sit down.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch on the patio.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant as it seemed like the busiest patio in town. Wow now we know why. The menu isn't huge but it is hard to decide as it all sounded so good. We had two pints, fish and chips and the local beef hamburger. It was all fantastic and under $50 including tax. Will eat here again for sure! Great value for the $.

Helpful?
Thank Travelling42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    55
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, and affordable”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The house salad has to be the best house salad I have ever had. In fact, the house salad was better than main course salads served in expensive restaurants. The food here was exceptionally tasty, and more affordable that other places in town. Liked this restaurant so much we ate here twice. If you have dietary concerns, Café Hibou staff will be able to make excellent recommendations as they know the menu well. Best of all, the healthier fare is every bit of tasty and indulgent as you could wish for. Would have loved to have eaten here more, but that will have to wait for next trip. The staff is super friendly and provide really good service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This restaurant is very unique in it's style inside of the restaurant. The décor is 50'2 type tables, and antique furniture that is amazing. We ate out on the deck however but it has a beautiful view of the lake that Wakefield surrounds.
Our server and the hostess were very welcoming and friendly and although we were English speaking - that doesn't happen in all places in Quebec.....
The food was filling, nicely presented and at a reasonable cost (meals from $13-$17 CDN per person).
I took some picture but I don't see a place to add them at the moment. Maybe once I submit this review it will give me that option. :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank HotSouthandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice done pub food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Menu is nothing fancy but a bit more interesting than standard pub style/eatery dining in the area. Lovely big deck across from the Gatineau River and spacious dining room indoors. Service is very pleasant and food quite tasty. Wakefield seems to be a bit less pricey for food, though drinks are about the same, then nearby Ottawa/Gatineau which makes it a nice destination after exploring the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FnP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There was 7 of us in our party for mid afternoon meal. We sat on the patio which was nice, but when it came time to order our drinks they did not have a lot of selection (even those on the menu, they were sold out). The local beer I ordered was a blond, it was ok, still would have preferred a Coors, even a Canadian. We also got waters, when they were served there was no ice in the them, and we all had floating things in them. I ordered the pizza with pesto sauce, again it was ok, but I could make something better at home, it came with a salad, the dressing was amazing, but so little I had to ask for more. When we did get our food, it took the waitress almost 5 mins to get our utensils and the cook is the one who ended up bringing out our meals. I split my bill with my mom and it was $15.00 including tip, for food that was just ok, not sure I would go back there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Potatoe_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Hibou also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Le Hibou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing