We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Alpengruss Motel(Wakefield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel V(Gatineau)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Montcalm(Gatineau)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Ritz(Gatineau)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Adam(Gatineau)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveller rating
619
290
102
41
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
290
102
41
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgehot tubgatineau parkmoulin wakefieldold millmain buildingthe rivercouples massagewine barnew buildingduckbar loungeromantic getawayscallopsheron roomgreat weekendbeautiful scenery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
820 - 825 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our 3rd visit and we decided to try the Discovery Menu(along with wine pairings) for dinner which requires us to trust the chef for a varied group of courses for our meal. This menu requires that all diners at the same table take a leap of faith and trust the choices made by the chef.
Each course was not only a delightful surprise as presented on the plate but a delicious surprise to taste. From scallops with mango sauce to duck tartar to elk with port and chocolate, it was a treat. Each course was accompanied by a different wine that made the food amazing. This is an inn that should be placed on everyone's "bucket list". You will not be disappointed by the creativity of the chef at the Wakefield Inn and spa.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbcc1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we are extremely pleased to hear that you chose our discovery menu and enjoyed it. It is indeed a great offering and a fantastic way to have your own personalized meal be prepared by our chef. We hope to hack you back again and have our chef prepare something entirely different for you. Sincerely, L. Major

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our first get away as a couple. We got the Gatineau Park Waterfalls upgrades. The staff was very friendly. Our room was ready on time. The dinner was delicious, we got to sample some of their other dishes and drinks. The room was beautiful and bright, yes you had to stand on a chair to see outside but it was worth the climb :). The CD player did not play MP3's, that kind of took some of the ambiance away because we did not have our music. The tub had to be wiped out before you used it, other than that the room was clean. The bed was comfortable. We had dinner outside by the water falls. We had breakfast inside the solarium. The waffles and the omlette were delicious and not heavu and all.
Considering I picked this place by fluke of the internet, it turned out great. I tried food that I would never have tried. The sourounding view was great, the back yard was beautiful. the whole ambiance of our trip was great. My boyfriend loved it. It was well worth the drive from Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VnillaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on your recent stay. We are very pleased on your pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards, L. Major

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here for one night in May 2011 however it was my second visit to the Inn and my second time organizing business meetings at this location in the past year.

In Inn has wonderful staff that are happy to work with you to make your meeting/stay successful. They are flexible and understand the nuances of organizing large groups with divergent needs and wants. No request was too much.

The food is fantastic and definitely not your typical "chicken/roast beef" choice...they offer a gastronomic experience ...which is unheard of at your typical business meeting and the price is very reasonable.

Rooms are very nice - clean and well appointed - very quaint. Again, no request or accommodation for special needs is a bother - the staff want everyone to have a great experience.

The meeting rooms are okay - don't expect hi-tech in the main Inn ...but they have everything you need and it is very comfortable - good temperature control, good lighting, screens, flip charts, etc. ...your basics are all there and in good condition. Apparently they have a new section with newer meeting rooms but I can't comment as I haven't used them - I actually prefer the laid back atmosphere of the main Inn rooms - specially the one on the Falls side, there's a balcony that's very nice to go out on during breaks.

Its close to Ottawa and so easy to get to from the airport, train station, etc.

A very nice experience all around both times.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montcalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very much pleased to hear of your relaxing stay with us and glad you enjoyed yourselves. We indeed have a new section of the property called the River Lodge which are modern and contemporary in style, they also have partial solar, geothermal , and hopefully we anticipate to be L.E.E.D certified shortly. The River Lodge section will soon be fully operational for our official opening on September 18, 2011. Please check back on our website for updated news, you can also see information and photos of the recent development. Best regards, L. Major

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were at the Inn in May this year and we had a really nice relaxing one night getaway. The Inn has wonderful rooms, very clean, spacious and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was ready when we arrived and after settling down we decided to go for a walk around the mill. They are adding new accommodations to the Inn which will be on the modern side. They do have a Spa faciltiy but we had decided just to have a nice dinner at the Inn and just enjoy the nature and wonderful weather. If you walk uphill to the Maclaren Cemetery you will see Lester B. Pearson's gravestone (14th Prime Minister of Canada). We also enjoyed walking around Wakefield and visiting all the local artisan shops and had a drink at one of the pubs. It was quite relaxing.

The dinner was excellent and the buffet breakfast (or you could order ä la carte) was also very good. The only complaint we had was that they do not offer a "House Wine".We think this should be available to the guests. Even though we enjoy good wines it is not always necessary to pay $39 and up for a bottle. They also have a cozy bar lounge for a good after dinner liqueur.

We have booked another relaxing getaway at the Inn for the end of September, hopefully will be enjoying the changing of colors of the trees, we are looking forward to it.

I would highly recommend this Inn especially if you want an enjoyable getaway that is not too far from Ottawa (approximately 25 mins drive from Ottawa)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitsyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments. We are very pleased to hear of your recent stay with us. I will pass on the kind words to our staff. Kind regards, L. Major

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked a Gatineau Park package for one night. The package included a waterfall upgrade room, dinner, bkfast and a hot tub. Our card was charged 50% of the total package amount. The hotel guarantees rooms by 4pm of the arrival day. The room we booked was guaranteed to be air conditioned among other things. The day we arrived was the hottest day of the year with the humidex in the high 40s C. When we arrived to the hotel around 6pm, the temperature in the room was 27C while the thermostat was set on 20C. Such heat in the room was not acceptable; we were already exhausted from the heat getting to the hotel. Other areas of the hotel were properly air-conditioned, but our room was not. We looked at the air-conditioning unit, the air was coming out but it was not cold. We called the front desk about the issue. A man from the front desk arrived and saw that the room was not cool, he left saying he was going to check if that could be fixed. We decided to have a drink while this matter was looked after. We went downstairs to the bar, and the man from the front desk was there serving himself drinks apparently unconcerned about doing anything about the air conditioner. When we went back after the bar, the situation was the same (after about 1hr and 20min) - room temperature 27, thermostat set on 20, air conditioner producing warm air. We pointed to the man from the front desk that nothing had changed. He told us that he had fixed it while we were at the bar, then he banged on the unit saying that it was working. We said that yes it was working – in terms of producing warm air, it was not cooling the room, it was not fixed. The man said he was going to see what can be done again and that he would come back in 10 min. We waited for 10 min and went downstairs ourselves just to find the man at the front desk playing Solitaire on the computer. We explained that the temperature like that was not acceptable. The man said there were no other rooms available, and that our room would cool down soon, and should be ok after dinner. The room should’ve been ready for us by 4pm. It was after 7:30pm, and it was obvious that the situation was not going to change any time soon as the air coming out was not cool, and there was very little attempt to remedy the situation. We were concerned about our overnight stay and could not take our chances - we still needed to find a suitable accommodation for the night. So we left at that, without any dinner nor breakfast, obviously.

The most disgusting part of the hotel's handling this whole situation is that they are now not responding to our phone calls and refusing to reimburse the 50% of the package that was charged at the time of booking, as if it was our own fault in what they failed to deliver themselves. This amount is currently being disputed. As far as other observations, the room had dated and boring look, with a so-called "waterfall view" - you need to climb a chair in order to see anything, as the walls are very thick, and windows are small. Funny enough, the room had a plastic tray for winter boots, in the middle of summer! Service was non-existent at best and offensive at worst. From what I read about the food in the restaurant, we did not miss much either. Stay away from this scam. Four stars???? Must be some practical joke.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dougwOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Dear DougwOttawa,

Thank you for your comments and choosing us for your recent stay. Let me sincerely apologize for the problems caused during your stay with the faulty air-conditioning unit. This is not standard practice for us and we strive ourselves on offering superb guest service and a peace of mind stay. I am disappointed to hear on the service you received and I will speak to our Front Desk Manager promptly to resolve this issue. I am sorry that you did not find our room accommodations and our dining room to your satisfaction. I will ensure that someone contacts you promptly. Best regards, L. Major

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews