We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not what I expected for our 1st anniversary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely not what I expected for our 1st anniversary!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We figured we'd go all out and get the Waterfalls View Upgrade room. When we checked in, the service was GREAT, then we got up to our room, and were less than impressed. The website clearly states that the Falls View Upgrade room has "more luxurious and spacious suites in which you can enjoy a Jacuzzi, romantic fireplace, and king-sized bed". We had a jacuzzi, a small queen, NO fireplace, and if that room was considered spacious, I'd hate to see how small the others are...oh, and if you wanted to twist your neck enough, you could see the falls! We advised the front desk that the description of the room on the internet was not that of our room. They offered for us to stay in their new eco-river lodge instead...they showed us inside, and the floors were filthy, the fireplace (more like the size of a lantern) and TV were not hooked up yet, there was a small tub (no jacuzzi), no view of the falls and frankly it did not have the rustic feel that we were there for. We decided to stay in the less than impressive first room, and were not offered anything as compensation for the deceiving description on the website. They could possibly market the room as "waterfall sound" as we slept a whole 3 hours due to the noise from the falls that sounded like an industrial fan was in our room! When we checked out the next morning, the staff was different, and very unfriendly. She did not even ask us how our stay was...we barely got a hello, but rather "how much do you still owe?". In the end, I decided to voice my opinion, and was not even offered an apology, but rather, she insisted that the website stated that the waterfalls room upgrade had 1, 2 or 3 or the above amenitites mentioned. You would think that this would result in a price difference, so we still question if room 309 is ACTUALLY a Waterfalls View Upgrade...or just one that could "pass" as one in the event of overbookings. Frustrated, I felt no more need to argue as this was clearly going nowhere...I just want people to know that I copy & pasted the description I posted above, and this is my experience. Definitely not worth $260...and after the negative experience with the front desk on the morning of Aug. 29th, we will never be going back!

Room Tip: Definitely DO NOT spend the extra money to upgrade to a
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Ashley T, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay and experience was not to your expectations. With that said I would like to clarify some comments mentioned. Our Inn offers a range of different accommodations with different amenities. In addition, I find it fairly unlikely that our front desk would not properly greet you and simply ask about a balance own, and to be honest I am not convinced. Commenting on the floors being "Filthy" in the new Eco River Lodge is completely false and somewhat, simply not possible. The rooms have beautiful brand new maple hardwood floors and have only been open a couple of weeks. In addition, the flat screen televisions are installed and have been since the beginning with our DVD players, however we are in the process of installing digital cable television. Once again we thank you for your comments. Best regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    249
    75
    33
    20
See reviews for
66
563
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We are so busy these days the last thing we thought of was ourselves but we heard such great things about this place we booked it on a Thursday evening for a Saturday night stay (it typically costs a little more) The town has some charm! the Mill has old world charm but the rooms sure are dated! The service and food was exceptional and the place was packed. It was so romantic with a wedding taking place. It was then time to retreat to relax after a hike in the near by trails and a wonderful meal. (well 2AM was when the band stopped playing the music and all this splendor changed! I did not sleep until well past 2 AM and was not too impressed. When I was getting ready to leave the cleaning lady asked how my stay was. I told her I wish I just stayed for the meal and left as It was very irritating that the hotel knew of this event but did not inform us of the fact that we would not be able to rest when the PARTY started. They were not to forthcoming and when all other 6 guests that went through that complained there was no empathy just an apology but then then one of the employees gave us the $50 discount for Noise! it is actually a field on their billing system. I always give people another shot and I am staying there this weekend with some great friends lets hope there new facility lives up to the great things I expected from them first time there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Feddie O,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and choose us for your recent anniversary. Firstly, a sincere apology for the disturbance in noise on your recent stay as I indeed was made privy to it and we are truly sorry. This is not at all customary and this was an exceptional case. I will have our Guest Services Manager contact you so we may offer you some compensation for a future visit. Once again, a sincere apology and we look forward to having you return and enjoy a pleasant stay as you anticipated. Kind regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed at the Wakefield Mill for one night, staying in the new (and much nicer) Eco River Lodge. When I woke up in the morning, I had no water. Nothing out of the taps in the sink and nothing out of the shower. I called the front desk right away, and the lady there simply said she would get maintenance on it. There was no apology, and no suggestion of an alternate plan. After waiting 20 minutes for maintenance, I gave up waiting for my water, packed up my things, and used the main public bathroom off reception to wash my face and brush my teeth. On my way in, I complained at reception, suggesting they comp me the two drinks I had had at the bar the night before. They did this, but still offered no apology, nor gave me a key to another room where I might have had a quick shower. I am appalled at their lack of customer service and suggest they look at training their staff appropriately if they are to continue to list themselves as a four star 'luxury' hotel. As well, the meals were lackluster, and I believe my eggs at breakfast were from a mix.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kh821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. We are truly sorry for the lack of water in your room, our brand new pump was temporarily not working but was repaired. I am surprised to hear the lack of apology from our staff as we pride ourselves on great quality customer service. I will bring up your comments to our staff personally and once again apologize for the issues. We truly hope that you will have the opportunity to return in the near future. Pertaining to your meal in our dining room, I would like to mention that we use quality natural products, and no type of "egg" mix was used or served. Kind regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I took my mother here for lunch -- the setting is to pleasant that I thought it might be nice to come back another time with my wife for an overnight stay and spa treatments. I asked if I could view the outside areas but my request was rejected. I got the distinct impression that the two ladies at the front desk were eying us up trying to decide if we were "worthy" visitors. I travel the world on business and have never been treated with such contempt by any hotel.

It would seem that my cash was okay as long as I was spending it on lunch, but thereafter I was treated poorly. My mother is in her eighties and was extremely embarrassed. I will never go back, and neither will friends to whom I have told my story.

This hotel has a rather inflated opinion of itself in my opinion. You never treat people this badly if you're serious about the service industry.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your comments and thank you for joining us for lunch at the mill. We apologize and truly sorry if our front desk staff had given you the wrong impression or perception of the property and our staff, and surely should have been explained to you at your time of inquire. The Mill's policy indeed is to limit individual traffic within the grounds area which encompass the Spa, hot-tub, and forest area. The reason for our policy is that during peak times as in the present summer period and being directly adjacent to the Gatineau Park, the Mill experiences a large amount of inquiries and pedestrian traffic with the hotel grounds. As we value all of our guests whom frequent the Mill to enjoy our property, we wish to respect our in-house guests and have them truly enjoy the privacy and serenity of our Spa and waterfalls area to themselves following a relaxing Spa treatment which I am sure you can understand and appreciate. Should you wish to visit the Mill or plan a overnight stay with us, I simply invite your to contact our Guest Services Manager to schedule a visit of the property. Once again, we thank you for your comments. Best regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This trip was booked to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We had stayed previously and it was great. This time it was disappointing. The wine ordered for the room when we arrived was not what we had ordered and we were charged for a more expensive bottle without being advised. In addition there was no cork screw with the wine. Our dinner reservation made weeks in advance was not ready and we had to wait 40 minutes.The hot tub was not clean and the lady at the front desk was rude. I hope they are able to get back to the service level that we had previously experienced.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMM8499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. I am truly sorry regarding your disappointments during your wedding anniversary with us, and not the nature of comments we are a custom to here at the Mill. It is disappointing to hear and I agree that the staff member should have mentioned prices especially of greater value when the replacement was made. As a good measure of good will and the wrong impression we may have made, we will be crediting your account for the full cost of the wine and cheese ordered. I am sorry to hear that the front desk agent had not greeted you to your liking. Regarding the hot tub, we clean it daily and maintain high cleanliness standards, however I will have it reviewed to see if any improvements are needed. We hope to see you in the near future to give us a second chance and we thank you once again for your comments. Best regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our 3rd visit and we decided to try the Discovery Menu(along with wine pairings) for dinner which requires us to trust the chef for a varied group of courses for our meal. This menu requires that all diners at the same table take a leap of faith and trust the choices made by the chef.
Each course was not only a delightful surprise as presented on the plate but a delicious surprise to taste. From scallops with mango sauce to duck tartar to elk with port and chocolate, it was a treat. Each course was accompanied by a different wine that made the food amazing. This is an inn that should be placed on everyone's "bucket list". You will not be disappointed by the creativity of the chef at the Wakefield Inn and spa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbcc1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we are extremely pleased to hear that you chose our discovery menu and enjoyed it. It is indeed a great offering and a fantastic way to have your own personalized meal be prepared by our chef. We hope to hack you back again and have our chef prepare something entirely different for you. Sincerely, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our first get away as a couple. We got the Gatineau Park Waterfalls upgrades. The staff was very friendly. Our room was ready on time. The dinner was delicious, we got to sample some of their other dishes and drinks. The room was beautiful and bright, yes you had to stand on a chair to see outside but it was worth the climb :). The CD player did not play MP3's, that kind of took some of the ambiance away because we did not have our music. The tub had to be wiped out before you used it, other than that the room was clean. The bed was comfortable. We had dinner outside by the water falls. We had breakfast inside the solarium. The waffles and the omlette were delicious and not heavu and all.
Considering I picked this place by fluke of the internet, it turned out great. I tried food that I would never have tried. The sourounding view was great, the back yard was beautiful. the whole ambiance of our trip was great. My boyfriend loved it. It was well worth the drive from Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VnillaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on your recent stay. We are very pleased on your pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Hotel V
#6 of 25 in Gatineau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Property: Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing