We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You deserve to be pampered!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You deserve to be pampered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

You know you are special as soon as you arrive. The reception staff are awesome, even though they were busy on the phone, as soon as I entered, they stopped, greeted me, and checked me in. The room on the Eco Park, overlook the river, just across the bridge from the Mill and spa. The rooms view was breathtaking, the room itself was immaculate and the bathroom fitting for such a high end establishment. The bed was soft and complete with down duvet, feather pillows and a great nights sleep was enjoyed by us both.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Eco Park rooms away from the main Inn, quiet and close to the salt water pool and hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCAF831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    231
    72
    33
    20
See reviews for
65
521
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a one night stay at the Wakefield Mill and everything was excellent. We had a perfect room - very big corner room in the old building, huge bed, windows that open so you can hear the waterfall. Massage treatment was perfect too. Loved the hot tub. Very pleasant surroundings and nearby views. Staff very pleasant and helpful.
Had the gourmet dinner as part of the package and the food was very good - quite different - e.g. the surf and turf was pork with octopus and scampi. There is a café/bistro for those wanting more traditional pub food. breakfast had full continental plus choice of many interesting cooked dishes.
Spa does not have a fitness centre or sauna - but various spa treatments. Outdoor hot tub is great. There is also a pool at the annex location - lovely spot.

Room Tip: 209 is an end room with windows on both sides and is huge. Called one of the River rooms. Presume sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Luxury without pretense. This dramatic old mill stands in a rushing waterfall. Rooms are wonderful and quirky, tho a bit small. Restaurant and bar very relaxing on a cool autumn day. Dinner - perfect. It would be nice to have walking trails in the surround forest though. Prices very reasonable - good value. Sleeping next to waterfall sound interesting - takes a bit getting used to. Staff friendly - but not too many around. Guess it's a very small hotel.

Room Tip: river side will be noisy with waterfall - but somewhat comforting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We took advantage of the 'Fantastic 55+' package for the 2nd time. The woodland setting for the inn is lovely, right on the edge of the quaint little vlllage of Wakefield. The building is warmly inviting with lots of natural stone and wood. The rooms are attractively decorated and the beds are very comfortable. After an afternoon skiing on the nearby Gatineau trails, a massage and soak in the hot tub were wonderful. If we weren't totally relaxed by then, we certainly were after sinking into a couple of arm chairs in the lounge, with a fire crackling in the huge stone hearth and a drink and magazine at hand. Later on, our dinner overlooking the falls was delightful. Our waiter was attentive and all that we ate had flavours that blended in an exquisite way. Thankfully, a noisy business group was tactfully kept in another section of the restaurant to maintain the ambience for the rest of the guests. One thing that we noted and appreciated was that ALL staff, whether they were frontline customer service or cleaners and maintenance, all seemed to have a sense of being representative of the place and were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Our stay was short, but oh so sweet!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We just returned from a beautiful one night stay at the Mill. What a beautiful spot to relax. Lots of nature surrounds this rustic, restored century mill. The room in was the main building was tastefully appointed, spacious, clean and comfortable. For We dinner we opted for the tasting menu and we were not disappointed. A satisfying brunch was provided on the Sunday morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacky9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Another success. Always a pleasure to go back to a beautiful place like Wakefield Inn and Spa. Good food, very nice people , good atmosphere. Thanks for everything (Mylene). Nice pool to swim in . Lovely surrounding, flowers. Spa treatments under the tent are fantastic.

Room Tip: River room are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momy1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A friend and I took the "3 night getaway" package that included 2 dinners, all breakfasts, a 25$ spa credit, gratuities on all meals, and access to the hot tubs and pools. It was a great value and we enjoyed our stay. The surrounding area of the Mill is beautiful and scenic with access to hiking paths, lake La Peche, close proximity to horseback riding. There was no lack of options for activities. The service at the Mill is fantastic from the reception desk to housekeeping to the waitstaff in the restaurants. The only issue we had was on our last day on Monday morning the breakfast waitstaff were very forgetful and didn't bring us most of the things we asked for. The weekend staff was phenomenal, completely bilingual and super helpful/courteous.

We had spa treatments (a massage and a body wrap) and the technicians were also great and they offer reasonable prices. There is a lounge area with tea/coffee and snacks to enjoy before and after your session and we thought that this was a great addition.

All hot tubs/pools are very clean and outdoors. The grounds are well kept and we found the backdrop of the waterfall to be very calming. Also there are plenty of lounge chairs on paths around the perimeter of the Mill and some are more tucked away in the trees next to the stream.

An issue we had was the spotty wifi and half of the tv channels not working. Also the "gym" is in a semi-secluded (5min walk from main building - no lights at night) building that looks like a garage (makes it harder to spot). There were about 5 machines total in the building, no bathroom, and it looked a little discarded. I'm not sure if it's still being renovated or if that is the final product.. we opted to not use it as there was no treadmill (we opted for long walks instead). We mentioned these on the comment card as basically the only downside to our entire stay.

Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and this was a great place especially for the cost. I would suggest this to anyone looking to get away.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Heritage room (their most economical option) and it was spacious, clean and had a dre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments. I am very pleased that you were able to take advantage of so many of the region's offerings. I am also pleased that you commented on our new fitness room. You are correct in describing it as small and out-of-the-way. It is in a brand new building, but located approx. 500 feet down the trans Canada trail from the main door of the hotel. The road is unlit and there is no intension to add lighting along that road as it would compromise the views of the guests at the River Lodge. We do not encourage its use at night. The Fitness Room also seconds as a ski waxing room, as we built it in preparation for a new ski entrance to the park. I am pleased to report that that entrance will be finished long before the snow falls....and it is gorgeous! But I digress... The fitness room is a limited service which we now offer to guests who request it. It contains a boflex weight machine, stationary bike, elliptical machine and some free weights. It does not have washroom facilities. It is very clean with pine walls, two windows and you will likely be uninterrupted by too many people using it.

I hope this helps with expectations by those who read this...for our part, we are very pleased to offer this new service.
Robert Milling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Hotel V
#6 of 25 in Gatineau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 66 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Property: Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing