We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Montcalm(Gatineau)
US$76
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Du Chevalier Motel & Suites(Gatineau)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Ritz(Gatineau)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpengruss Motel(Wakefield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel V(Gatineau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveller rating
619
290
102
41
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
290
102
41
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgehot tubgatineau parkmoulin wakefieldold millmain buildingthe rivercouples massagewine barnew buildingduckbar loungeromantic getawayscallopsheron roomgreat weekendbeautiful scenery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Wakefield Mill is a lovely inn located in a picturesque setting with easy access to X- Country ski trails, a pretty town nearby and peace and quiet. We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were nice", beds comfortable, and the staff were warm, friendly and gracious. The chef is outstanding-do not miss dinner here! There's a lovely lounge with a stone hearth, TV, and pool table with board games nearby. We had a great stay. I highly recommend this establishment.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ReluctantSherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear ReluctantSherpa. While the lovely hills surrounding our establishment might not be Everest, we greatly appreciate that you made the journey to our region and to stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments, that you enjoyed all the services that you sampled and found our staff helpful and friendly. We hope that we'll one day be able to greet you as guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife + I took advantage of the Inn's 3 day package that included room and dinner @ Muse as well as $70 voucher for The Heron Room. We arrived about 1:30 - room was ready. We had a standard room in the heritage section of the Inn. Room was nicely decorated in pine with an upscale rustic look. The staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and very helpful -- front desk, housekeeping, bartender and wait staff. Absolutely no complaints about the staff. The one very disappointing issue was the inoperative hot tub attached to the spa -- we were looking forward to a soak only to discover (after we got in that the jets were not working). Although there is another hot tub a short but cold walk across the parking lot - the one at the Inn is nicely located and picturesque, We were additionally frustrated as the spa staff let us get into the hot tub and only when I then asked then about the jets were we told they hadn't been working for "about a week"! Not the service one expects at an Inn of this calibre + although did not ruin our weekend was a point of continued frustration. Still worth the stay especially if you plan to access the Park.
Both dinners were very good with some unusual entre choices at Muse.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1kramer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear 1kramer2, Thank you very much for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. We are most pleased that you found your room and its furnishings pleasing and comfortable. Our staff are always delighted when our guests tell us that they were delighted, so thank you again for making specific note of their helpful friendliness. We were additionally pleased to hear that you found your meals original and very much to your liking. Our restaurants are a point of pride for us.

With regard to your frustration about the non-functioning jets that oscillate the hot tub near the spa, we regret that you were not informed ahead of time of this fact, and towards that end, we've asked our spa staff to post a notice informing guests of the situation. The reason that the jets are temporarily not working is not due to lack of maintenance. The extreme cold in January froze the pipes that feed the jets, and the fix is a period of warm weather, which we have not had since the situation arose. We continue to monitor it and to problem-solve ways to prevent this from happening in the future.

Again, our sincere appreciation for your comments and your visit, and we hope to one day see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Wakefield Mill is a very nice hotel in a beautiful setting. Employees in the reception area are warm, friendly and extremely efficient. We arrived at 1:00, knowing that our room would not be ready before check -in tme (4:00pm), but we borrowed a pair of snowshoes and went for a delightful hike. We came back and had lunch in the upstairs restaurant; the onion soup was one of the best I have ever had!

At 3:20 pm, the lady from the reception desk came to the restaurant to inform us that our room was ready. Room 601 in the Eco-lodge. A beautiful room, well appointed, spacious, nice cotton sheets, comfortable mattress, beautiful soaker tub, whimsical wall fireplace and a beautiful view of the forest.

Unfortunately, the ventilation system was extremely noisy... We called the reception desk, to have someone look at it because it was so loud that it felt as if it might be broken! After 30 minutes of no one showing up, my husband opened the control panel in the closet and shut down the ventilation system. Ahhh. perfect bliss! Unfortunately, because the heating and the ventilation systems are connected, we had no heat in the room (it was cooold in the morning!) and we could hear the ventilation each time it started up in the next room...

A so-called 4 star establishment should be more attentive to details of this sort because at the end of the day, this negative point is what we remember most of our stay. And I notice that other customers have voiced the same complaint, yet management does not appear to be very efficient in solving this. It is a shame...
.

Room Tip: Room 601 is beautiful and well-appointed, but beware of the noisy ventilation system they have installed in the rooms in the Eco-lodge! Unacceptable in a 4-star hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duha159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you very much for your recent comments. We appreciate hearing of how we were able to meet or exceed many of your expectations, especially with regard to our location within the Park close to winter trails, your satisfying meal and the appointments and comforts of your room. As concerns your observation that the ventilation sound was excessively intrusive, your experience was most unfortunate, and we apologize that the situation was not addressed in a timely manner and to your satisfaction. The situation is by no means global (many of our guests report that the quiet of their stay was a welcome respite). That said, your comment, as well as a few others we have received in this regard, are being fully noted and currently reviewed. Again, we wish to thank you for your considered feedback and for being our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived for our Spa appointment at 2:45. We new our room would not be ready until 4pm so we left our baggage in the car.

The spa is excellent! Located in the basement the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed. There is always music playing or soft sounds to add to the effect.

After our spa treatments, my wife and I walked to our rooms which were located in the relatively new building across the road/bridge.

There was an argument taking place in the parking lot, where one Lexus driver blocked a second Lexus driver into their parking space... Furious horn honking ensued some words spoken, and excuses made!

In the end I believe the couple were able to move from their parking space the whole 400 feet to the main building.

Onto the complaints:
The newly designed building is sub-par. There is no place to put your shoes in the hallway, and carrying them to the mat, or bringing the mat to the door made it hard to open.

I could easily hear the people using the bathroom in the room next to me. (Nice flow!)

The bed was softer than I like, but you can't please everyone.

Oh and why on earth is there nowhere to put a bar if soap in the shower? I like to bring own but not having any place to put the soap is just dumb.

Now the positives:

Staff was nice, spa was excellent! I look forward to going back again.

The steak from the restaurant (upstairs) was fabulous, unfortunately it's not on the menu when you are downstairs in the fancier dinning room, but if you ask nice It might work.

Overall I would give the hotel a 3 because the good and bad are almost neutral.

The kitchen would get a rating of 1 Because that is the lowest I could possibly give. The 4 peas dish needs to be thrown out, it's not even edible.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank graciious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your recent comments. We are pleased that your spa experience exceeded your expectations and that you were able to enjoy the relaxed solitude of the environment as well as the warm reception and service by the staff, not only in the spa but throughout your stay with us.

With regard to a boot tray outside of our rooms, we are mindful of safeguarding our guests' belongings, which is why the boot tray for winter footwear is kept just inside the door. Every consideration was given during construction of the Eco River Lodge, where you stayed, to minimize sound bleed between units, especially between the bathroom walls, and we regret that you found an incident where noise intruded. As for the lack of a soap reservoir, this is a feature that we will be remedying in the short term.

We appreciate hearing that you particularly enjoyed your steak dinner. Your comment about the four peas appetizer has been brought to the attention of our chef.

Again, thank you for letting us know about your stay, and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

WE read great reviews about this hotel so went for two nights for my husband's birthday last week. We had expected great things both because of its 'luxury' label, reviews I'd read, and the price! Our first room was quite small and, how can I say this….rustic. Pine furniture, small tv, a few expensive snacks, small double bed, shower, etc in a box attached to shower wall so you could dispense small amounts. Fortunately our TV didn't work so we were moved to another room which was a bit bigger with a slightly larger TV. Unfortunately it was so far away we needed binoculars to see it. We struggled to move it closer on its pine chest of draws then found that the few channels that did work were blurry. That's when I was lucky enough to get the remote control to work.
Room was nice and clean, wi-fi was strong and free but my other major complaint about the room was the heating. It was so noisy it woke us every time it came on - similar sounding, I should imagine, as the Starship Enterprise starting up. Even when ours wasn't firing up we could hear it starting up in other rooms. Fair enough the building is old, but the heating system isn't the original!
The hotel has two places to eat - the restaurant and the bar. We chose the bar (The Heron). The starter (foie gras) was the most delicious thing I have eaten in ages. The fish and chips were a) fries, not chips and b) soggy batter. Wine expensive. My husband's oysters were delicious - but he preferred the free little dish they gave us of curried shrimps…yum. So a bit of a mixed blessing really - we didn't eat there again. We found a fantastic restaurant called Le Hibou (see my review) a 10 minute walk away. Would I stay there again….maybe. If they have a special offer on. And in the summer where we could sample the pool and hot tubs. We will, however, definitely go back to Wakefield - gorgeous little place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opheliabuttocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Ophelia buttocks,

Thank you for your recent comments. I am very pleased that you did enjoy much of your stay and will consider visiting us again. I am also pleased that that you found the rooms clean and enjoyed the amenities (wifi/tv etc.).

I have brought the matter of the heating unit to the attention of our maintenance department and I apologize if it was too loud. In terms of our room styles/size etc. I do recommend that people review our website or speak to our reception team on booking to determine the room size/style/amenities that best suits their needs. As the Main Mill building is comprised of a variety of building types, (stone, brick, stacked silo walls etc.), guests should know that existing conditions largely determined room characteristics --all of which are different.

That also hold true in terms of furniture design which ranges from contemporary (Eco-River Lodge), to heritage Canadian (predominantly distressed pine), as well as mission style (Solid Oak), depending on the Room selection. Your observation that your room contained a "small double bed" however, is inaccurate, as all bedrooms are furnished with either King Size or Queen Size beds.

You are correct that our Fish and chips do not include the British style "chips" you are probably accustomed to in Newcastle Upon Tyne. They are hand cut fries served with two choices of in house seasoned mayonnaise which generally receive quite positive reviews.

Thank you again for your views, and the opportunity to address someone with such a colourful on-line identifier.

Regards,

Bob Milling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews