We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Valentines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Valentines”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We had a travelzoo coupon which was the only way I'd have stayed at this place, as it is not the cheapest but for good reason. We had very nice room with large bathroom and tub, the location was great with lots of trails and a short walk into Wakefield to bakeries and Coffee shops. The restaurant was amazing, but apparently the chef is leaving so that may change. The spa was also nice, prices quite high but great staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmark091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear bmark091, Thank you for your recent comments concerning your Valentine's stay with us. We are pleased that you found our location (we're biased; it is stunning), our restaurant and spa offerings, your room amenities and the service you received to your great satisfaction. It is true that a change is happening shortly with regard to our head chef. However, we foresee that this change will only lead to great things, as our new executive chef comes with a wealth of award-winning experience and talent. We look forward to welcoming you again, perhaps during a different season so that you might see what the Wakefield area offers when the leaves are full. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    265
    84
    36
    22
See reviews for
75
640
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I never give 5 stars - except to this place.

I love everything about it. It's a magical romantic spot geared to love and nature. My husband surprised me originally here for my birthday a few years back. We loved it so much that we came back for our honeymoon. I love opening the window at night and listening to the rushing water.

There is a lot to do around here too. The pool and hot tub are surrounded by colourful wildflowers right out of an oil painting. The hiking is good here spring, summer and fall. Wakefield is a great town to walk around in full of restaurants, bakeries, and many shops with unique artisans. Nordik Spa is only 20 minutes away which we always enjoy visiting for a day when we stay here.

I can't say enough about the food either. If you are into enjoying a leisurely gourmet meal enhanced by the beauty of gorgeous natural surroundings then this is the romantic spot for you.

I wouldn't come here if I were with kids though. It's more about romance.
They also have good conference facilities here although we have never been here for that reason.

Room Tip: We like staying in the original Mill building rather than the new, modern building by the pool becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Laine S., thank you very much for your kind comments. It is especially pleasing when we receive a review such as yours because of the association you have with us regarding these memorable milestones in your life. Thank you as well for uploading new photos of the food and wine you enjoyed. We indeed have several rooms of various sizes for meeting spaces so that guests can combine work and leisure. Again, you have been a delightful guest of ours, and we look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa,Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I booked a surprise 2 night Romantic Spa Getaway package for my girlfriend to pamper her before the New Year. The package included: Overnight accommodations; 4-course table d'Hôte dinner (we paid the extra $ 30 for the Discovery Menu on the second night) in Muse restaurant; a full country breakfast (the Saturday night stay included the Sunday brunch); 2 spa treatments per person of 60 minutes (we chose a couples massage Saturday and pedicure Sunday; Use of outdoor pool & hot tubs (the pool is closed in the winter). I also used three $100 Costco coupons at a cost of $240.

We stayed in the Heritage Room located in the Old Mill building. The rooms are very comfortable, a bit rustic with a historic feeling. It was equipped with a queen-size bed and full private bathroom with a whirlpool bath. The only thing missing was a small fridge to put the bubbly in (ice is only available at the Heron bar).

The whole package was wonderful! The food was exquisite and the Discovery menu, an 8-course meal with wine pairings, well worth the extra cost. The Spa treatments were very relaxing and well done. Great staff and the complementary hot gluhwein for the outdoor hot tub was a nice touch.

I chalked up a few brownie points with this getaway ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldcrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Oldcrow1. Thank you for your recent comments and for letting us know of the great enjoyment by you and your girlfriend of the many services and offerings that came as either part of your package or as an add-on. We've sent your review along to the staff of the spa because they always enjoy hearing about happy customers.

With a wink back, we suspect you may have to change "old crow" in your review handle, given the brownie points you reported. We like to think that we set the table for our Romantic Getaway guests at Mill. Thank you again for visiting with us, and we hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa canada
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I went here for the Valentines special, but I think you can get this anytime. It was one price for hotel accommodation, 3 course meal, 1 hour spa for each person and breakfast. The Mill is a great place, nice atmosphere, great restaurant and very nice rooms. We had the River view with a king bed, large tub in the room. It was a full moon and we sat in the hot tub for a long time just enjoying the night.
The shower is huge, could fit 4-5 people, but the shower head was a little disappointing, this is the only complaint I had.
The meal was great. Lots of variety, not your run to mill steak and chicken.

We enjoyed it all and plan to go back. You want to put some money in the relationship bank account, this is the place.

Enjoy

Room Tip: The rooms are all different. We went for the bigger room with a nice view of the river, but there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Barry H, Thank you very much for your recent comments. You are correct in assuming that the Valentine's Day special you received is available throughout the year as our Romantic Spa Getaway package. Your description of the crisp winter night that you and your significant other enjoyed in the hot tub under a clear full moon is evocative, and we trust that the quiet of the surrounding forest and waterfall added to the experience. We appreciate hearing that the amenities of your room were comfortable and spacious, and that the unusual variety of our Muse menu was to your liking. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The Wakefield Mill is a lovely inn located in a picturesque setting with easy access to X- Country ski trails, a pretty town nearby and peace and quiet. We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were nice", beds comfortable, and the staff were warm, friendly and gracious. The chef is outstanding-do not miss dinner here! There's a lovely lounge with a stone hearth, TV, and pool table with board games nearby. We had a great stay. I highly recommend this establishment.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReluctantSherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear ReluctantSherpa. While the lovely hills surrounding our establishment might not be Everest, we greatly appreciate that you made the journey to our region and to stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments, that you enjoyed all the services that you sampled and found our staff helpful and friendly. We hope that we'll one day be able to greet you as guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife + I took advantage of the Inn's 3 day package that included room and dinner @ Muse as well as $70 voucher for The Heron Room. We arrived about 1:30 - room was ready. We had a standard room in the heritage section of the Inn. Room was nicely decorated in pine with an upscale rustic look. The staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and very helpful -- front desk, housekeeping, bartender and wait staff. Absolutely no complaints about the staff. The one very disappointing issue was the inoperative hot tub attached to the spa -- we were looking forward to a soak only to discover (after we got in that the jets were not working). Although there is another hot tub a short but cold walk across the parking lot - the one at the Inn is nicely located and picturesque, We were additionally frustrated as the spa staff let us get into the hot tub and only when I then asked then about the jets were we told they hadn't been working for "about a week"! Not the service one expects at an Inn of this calibre + although did not ruin our weekend was a point of continued frustration. Still worth the stay especially if you plan to access the Park.
Both dinners were very good with some unusual entre choices at Muse.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1kramer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear 1kramer2, Thank you very much for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. We are most pleased that you found your room and its furnishings pleasing and comfortable. Our staff are always delighted when our guests tell us that they were delighted, so thank you again for making specific note of their helpful friendliness. We were additionally pleased to hear that you found your meals original and very much to your liking. Our restaurants are a point of pride for us.

With regard to your frustration about the non-functioning jets that oscillate the hot tub near the spa, we regret that you were not informed ahead of time of this fact, and towards that end, we've asked our spa staff to post a notice informing guests of the situation. The reason that the jets are temporarily not working is not due to lack of maintenance. The extreme cold in January froze the pipes that feed the jets, and the fix is a period of warm weather, which we have not had since the situation arose. We continue to monitor it and to problem-solve ways to prevent this from happening in the future.

Again, our sincere appreciation for your comments and your visit, and we hope to one day see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Wakefield Mill is a very nice hotel in a beautiful setting. Employees in the reception area are warm, friendly and extremely efficient. We arrived at 1:00, knowing that our room would not be ready before check -in tme (4:00pm), but we borrowed a pair of snowshoes and went for a delightful hike. We came back and had lunch in the upstairs restaurant; the onion soup was one of the best I have ever had!

At 3:20 pm, the lady from the reception desk came to the restaurant to inform us that our room was ready. Room 601 in the Eco-lodge. A beautiful room, well appointed, spacious, nice cotton sheets, comfortable mattress, beautiful soaker tub, whimsical wall fireplace and a beautiful view of the forest.

Unfortunately, the ventilation system was extremely noisy... We called the reception desk, to have someone look at it because it was so loud that it felt as if it might be broken! After 30 minutes of no one showing up, my husband opened the control panel in the closet and shut down the ventilation system. Ahhh. perfect bliss! Unfortunately, because the heating and the ventilation systems are connected, we had no heat in the room (it was cooold in the morning!) and we could hear the ventilation each time it started up in the next room...

A so-called 4 star establishment should be more attentive to details of this sort because at the end of the day, this negative point is what we remember most of our stay. And I notice that other customers have voiced the same complaint, yet management does not appear to be very efficient in solving this. It is a shame...
.

Room Tip: Room 601 is beautiful and well-appointed, but beware of the noisy ventilation system they have insta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duha159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent comments. We appreciate hearing of how we were able to meet or exceed many of your expectations, especially with regard to our location within the Park close to winter trails, your satisfying meal and the appointments and comforts of your room. As concerns your observation that the ventilation sound was excessively intrusive, your experience was most unfortunate, and we apologize that the situation was not addressed in a timely manner and to your satisfaction. The situation is by no means global (many of our guests report that the quiet of their stay was a welcome respite). That said, your comment, as well as a few others we have received in this regard, are being fully noted and currently reviewed. Again, we wish to thank you for your considered feedback and for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,271 reviews
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
55 reviews
Hotel V
#7 of 26 in Gatineau
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanata
Brookstreet Hotel
Brookstreet Hotel
#18 of 67 in Ottawa
1,101 reviews
Lord Elgin
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Property: Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing