We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wakefield Mill spa hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wakefield Mill spa hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I attended a wedding at the Mill, the most charming backdrop. the accommodation was tops. The food was delicious, the venue overlooking the water fall flowing throw the greenery that is Canada.

A short wall to the small town, good fun in in the local pub where a fiddler played. the bank opens at 9.30am where I accessed travel card.cash. The cemertery. a short distance up hill from the 'Mill' reveals an interesting history of the area, a drive around the lake displays very pretty scenery. maureen B

Room Tip: my room had a beautiful view with access to private area to enjoy the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Maureen B. How nice to hear from Australia! Welcome to this part of Canada – we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Wakefield area. There are so many little sites and businesses that have their own unique charm. Thank you too for your kind comments about your stay with us: the rooms, the dining, the grounds.

The Mill is a lovely site for weddings throughout every season of the year, very memorable, very intimate, very picturesque. From your review, it sounds like you, your family and friends enjoyed themselves immensely,and it was our pleasure being your hosts. Best wishes..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    249
    75
    33
    20
See reviews for
66
562
18
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent a night at the Moulin Wakefield to celebrate my wife's birthday and must say it was great. We had reserved a package which included dinner, a night at the hotel, and brunch on Sunday. Both meals were wonderful. I had been at the Muse (the name of the hotel's restaurant) before and always appreciated my meals, and this time was no exception. Sunday brunch was wonderful with a wide variety of choices. Everything I tasted (and tasted a lot of things :D) was good and fresh.

Our room was very nice, with 2 windows on the fall side of the building so we could listen to the water flowing from our bed. It was an awesome way to fall asleep. The room we had was quite large and had a rustic charm to it.

The personnel everywhere in the hotel was friendly and it was a pleasure dealing with them all.

Two small comments though. A large section of the restaurant is in a solarium with a view of the falls. This is great except for the fact that the windows are quite dirty (and in some cases fogged up). I appreciate that it cannot be easy to maintain these but it does affect one's overall impression of the restaurant. Our room windows were also quite dirty. The other comment is with regards to the service at the restaurant. As I said before everyone was friendly but service felt amateurish. For the high standard of food served, I expected a bit more formality and decorum in the service.

That said, it was a great stay and we will certainly repeat it in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fall side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLarok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear RLR2201, Thank you very much for leaving this review of your stay with us on the occasion of your wife's birthday. We appreciate you touching upon the aspects of your experience that were memorable – the selection, freshness and abundance of your meals (with a wink); the comfort of your room and the enjoyment of the outdoor ambiance; and the friendliness of our staff.

Thank you too for pointing out areas where you felt there could be improvements. We maintain a strict maintenance schedule, partly because the environment of the park demands it. The nearby waterfall contributes to a lot air movement, which is a good thing in terms of the quality of freshness it brings to the air. But it does create a challenge in keeping the windows continually clear, especially after recent rains. However, your point is well noted.

As for the manner of dining service you received, please know that your observation is being reviewed by the food and beverage management so that a matter such as this can be remedied.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I loved the gorgeous natural setting, wonderful accommodations and fabulous cuisine! An excellent wine list that will tempt anyone for a casual beverage overlooking the rapids. An ideal setting for any occasion. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Rigatony,

It is always nice to receive comments from guests who travel from further afield to stay with us. The Gatineau Park is a beautiful part of Canada, and we are truly fortunate to offer our guests the opportunity to enjoy a few days within it. Thank you for letting us know that your room was comfortable, your meals thoroughly enjoyed, and for complimenting our wine list, of which we are proud. Having you was our treat as well, and we hope that you will have the opportunity to return one day. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went there for a week-end get away and would go again. Our room overlooked the park with the waterfall. It was just beautiful. We didn't get to visit the spa as it was fully booked. You really need to book treatments well in advance. I've already written a review about the Muse restaurant but must mention their Sunday brunch. It was fabulous with many choices and at $16 per person, I found it very reasonable. Our table overlooked the falls and the rushing water. I'll be back for brunch!

Room Tip: I asked for a room overlooking the falls. I had a partial view of them but also had the view and sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear AuroraSky, Thank you for your kind review of your stay at The Mill, and also of letting us know over on Muse, our separate Trip Advisor page for fine-dining. We are sorry that you were unable to get a booking at this time of year at our Spa Eau Vive. As a full service boutique spa, it is limited in the number of clients that can be accommodated at one time, and we appreciate you making note to other readers that booking well ahead is advised. Our Sunday Brunch is a popular weekend treat for many, and we're glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you when you come back to enjoy it again, but please note that the normal price is $30. For whatever reason, you enjoyed a special treat on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A gorgeous renovated old mill along a river with a tumbling waterfall. Peaceful and restorative. Adirondack chairs set up along the little river where you can read or just watch the river roll by. Right at the entrance to Gatineau Park so lots of hiking and walking trails to explore. Outdoor hot tubs and a beautiful pool. Restaurant has a beautiful ambiance and the food is good but overpriced for the quality.

Room Tip: Although the restaurant is good, the charming town of Wakefield is but a short five minute walk away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyFriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Holly Friesen,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed the experience of staying at the Mill. We hope that you were able to enjoy the salt water pool, which is a peaceful little oasis next to the river. From your description, it seems you were able to explore both the grounds and a bit of the nearby parklands. We very much appreciate that you not only stayed with us, but left us your comments. We hope one day to see you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stay at Wakefield mill was one of the most memorable experience I had, the food was great, the SPA was great and the room I stayed in was pretty cozy.

In addition the location of the mill hotel is amazing. I loved the landscape around too.

Overall an awesome experience.

Thanks,

Ravi Sunkaranam

Room Tip: Choose a room which has view towards the river stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ravi S.,

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you for leaving your complimentary review, describing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that you sampled our spa and dining services and found them equally as pleasing. We will be sure to pass along your appreciation of the landscaping to the grounds crew who work tirelessly to maintain a tidy but natural setting in keeping with our location. Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Wakefield mill with privilege to regal service. The hotel is outstanding in every way with a wonderful staff to serve and ensure guest comfort.

A good choice to stay at. i would definitly recommend.

Room Tip: Room on the south and east corner presents the best outdoor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maneer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Maneer K , The privilege is ours in having you as our guest. Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you left feeling well taken care of and treated to a special getaway. We hope one day to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Hotel V
#6 of 25 in Gatineau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Property: Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing